We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Room smelled like diapers, curious fire safety policy”
Review of Rodeway Inn

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Rodeway Inn
Ranked #3 of 3 Hotels in Woodland
Renton
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Room smelled like diapers, curious fire safety policy”
Reviewed August 30, 2009

This is a cheap sleep. The room smelled like diapers and you could feel the springs on the mattress as you slept. The fire alarm went off in the morning and the Fire Dept never came. Instead the hotel mgr went room to room opening doors (without knocking). I saw him catch a few people by surprise.

Next time we will sleep at the Hawthorne Inn in Vacouver (20 min down the road).

Stayed August 2009, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank TikiBob
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

66 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    12
    8
    16
    9
    21
See reviews for
23
19
8
7
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (18)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Norwegian first
  • Any
English first
Southwestern USA
Level Contributor
15 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed July 21, 2009

We stayed for one night on a Saturday in July 2009 and found the staff to be friendly, and the room to be clean. The sheets on one bed had holes in them and the location of the hotel right next to the interstate makes it fairly noisy (we stayed in one of the rooms farthest away from the interstate). The breakfast was among the worst that I've ever had at a budget hotel. There are only three or four tables in the breakfast area and nobody seemed to be in charge of restocking breakfast items. They had two waffle makers (not the hotel kind but the kind you buy for $15 at Walmart) that were pretty much completely gunked up with waffle dough. The other breakfast items were grocery store donughts and cereal. The plastic knives were so thin and flexible that it was hard to cut the waffles with them. Anyway, aside from the breakfast and holes in the sheets, it was an acceptable stay, mayby a bit overpriced (we paid $80 per night incl. taxes)

  • Stayed July 2009, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank monemmer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed July 20, 2009

Towels are so thin and rough it was like sandpaper. Carpets dirty and stained. The matresses so thing you can see the springs! Cobwebs in corners. The owner, Mr. Yoo is sooo rude. He does not know anything about customer service and tries to rip you off and make you pay extra fees. The free breakfast was horrible. Cheap cereal and no cream for the coffee. Stale cheap donuts. The traffic from I-5 is very loud. We were put in a room just below a group of monthly renting construction workers who used very foul language and woke us up several times in the night. My teenage daughters were whistled at and the men made lewd comments toward them. There were no other rooms available so we wanted to go to another hotel. The girl at the front desk told us that would be no problem and to come back later and the owner would refund our money. When we came back later he said it was too late and would not refund our money for the second night. He was very rude and would not listen to us. He yelled and laughed at us! Do not stay at this hotel!! I do not recommend it for anyone! Not worth the 85 dollars a night!! Other hotels in Woodland charge the same and are much nicer!!

  • Stayed July 2009, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Roadtrip66Washington
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
pampire
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed December 17, 2008

My boyfriend and I stayed at the Cedars Inn on an impromptu vacation. The rooms were clean and the staff friendly. The free make your own waffle bar for breakfast was a nice treat. Our only complaint was that the hot tub was just warm and the pool was freezing, but we were there well into the fall so I was actually surprised they were still open.

  • Liked — good location, unique free breakfast
  • Disliked — not that hot hot tub
  • Stayed September 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank pampire
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
port moody
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed December 8, 2008

Friendly front desk, clean rooms, CHEAP price.

  • Liked — everything
  • Disliked — nothing
  • Stayed December 2008, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
4 Thank hwsy0811
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
san diego ca
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed September 18, 2008

We had to travel to woodland wa. for my father in laws funeral. we were there for three nights and four days. the problems all started with our stay the morning after we checked in. after an 1100 mile road trip, my 10year old daughter had an upset stomach, and used a little more toilet paper than usual during her 8 am trip to the bathroom. the toilet overflowed and she accidentally lock the door behind her. we couldn't get into the bathroom to turn the water off. we called the front desk right away to let them know about the emergency. we waited for an hour all the while the room was flooding, and we were unloading the room of our belongings. the owner/ maintenance person finally showed up cursing at us in what i think may have been korean. he was very rude! he had to take off the door knob just to get in because it was a very old lock and could not be popped open from the outside, then he tried to tell us we were going have to pay to have all carpet replaced. we were not going to do that, after much arguing with the owner, we finally got a new room. we would have gone to another hotel but we had our dog with us and there were no other pet friendly rooms available in town. we really did not need this aggravation when we were attending a funeral later that day. we also had issues with the pool and hot tub...they were both green! and the front desk said that was normal. no it's not! and then the owner tried to accuse us of not paying the pet fee when we did and he himself the owner was the one who checked us in the day before. all around terrible experience. i recommend that nobody stay at this hotel. the owner is in the wrong business. he should not be dealing with people. he has a bad anger problem. stay at your own risk. as i read some of the other reviews i realized that the problem the other person had with a water leak was probably due to our problem(aug23) and it still wasn't taken care of on the 27th, that is unacceptable and they should have gotten a professional to take care of it.

  • Liked — nothing
  • Disliked — everything
  • Stayed August 2008, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank blackfam972
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ca
1 review
Reviewed August 27, 2008

The two front desk girls we dealt with were very friendly, they understand customer service. The owner, however, was very rude. We had a water leak in our room for two days that never got fixed. The owner is also their maintenance person. He finally came to our room with a dirty mop and a wet vac. We asked to have our room changed before he started cleaning. He began to yell at us, with our kids present, saying "NO". This went on for about 10-15 minutes before we finally realized we were not going to get anywhere with him. We packed our bags and went next door to the Best Western. I must also mention that we saw the owner cleaning two other rooms that had water leaks. He informed us that the room two doors down had a toilet overflow. How can you explain him coming into our room with kids trying to mop up with probably the same mop. I read the bad reviews on this hotel and ignored them do to the new posting saying that it is under new ownership and was recently remodeled. I will say that everything mentioned in past reviews is still accurate. Spa water was dirty, not sure if pool water should be green but is, carpet is dirty, towels and sheets are very thin. I can go on and on but......why? If you book this room, check the sheets and under the bed to see what you find.

  • Liked — Nothing
  • Disliked — The owner
  • Stayed August 2008, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank tomvic5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Woodland
0.1 mi away
Best Western Woodland Inn
14.1 mi away
Quality Inn and Suites
Quality Inn and Suites
#17 of 29 in Vancouver
4.0 of 5 bubbles 137 reviews
14.0 mi away
La Quinta Inn & Suites Vancouver
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
12.9 mi away
Best Western Plus Battle Ground Inn & Suites
19.2 mi away
Heathman Lodge
Heathman Lodge
#2 of 29 in Vancouver
4.5 of 5 bubbles 844 reviews
19.7 mi away
Comfort Inn & Suites Vancouver
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Rodeway Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Rodeway Inn

Property: Rodeway Inn
Address: 1500 Atlantic Ave, Woodland, WA 98674-9487 (Formerly Motel 6 Woodland)
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Washington > Woodland
Amenities:
Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 3 Hotels in Woodland
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Rodeway Inn 2*
Number of rooms: 59
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Rodeway Inn Woodland is conveniently located off I-5 at exit 21 and SR 503, entrance to Mt.Saint Helens. Area restaurants are within walking distance and shops are nearby. Washington's beaches are within 6 miles. Enjoy our complimentary breakfast with delicious waffles, fitness room, seasonal indoor pool, and free Wi-Fi. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline, Booking.com, Orbitz, Travelocity, Expedia, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Choice Hotels, Motel-6 and Ctrip TA so you can book your Rodeway Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Motel 6 Woodland Hotel Woodland
Cedars Hotel Woodland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing