We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (57)
Filter reviews
57 results
Traveler rating
55
2
0
0
0
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
55
2
0
0
0
See what travelers are saying:
Filter
Updating list...
21 - 26 of 57 reviews
Reviewed December 5, 2015

Words cannot adequately describe this Bed and Breakfast. As others have said, this was more like a visit with old friends. Kevin and Susie are so much fun to talk to and our conversation flowed so easily. They went out of their way to make sure we had what we needed to complete a report for work as we combined work with vacation. The setting is spectacular and the grounds, although not in full bloom in November, showed that they must be gorgeous in warmer weather. Breakfast the two days we were there was gourmet and fantastic! Our room was cozy and so very comfortable, with many special touches like coffee, water, and chocolates. In fact, there were so many special touches during our stay that you don't get in a typical bed and breakfast--we really felt pampered. We will always have fond memories of our visit.

Stayed: November 2015, traveled as a couple
Thank westddd
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 18, 2015

We have stayed at many a bed & breakfast before, but this was a new experience for us. From the moment we arrived, we were treated not only like special guests by our hosts Kevin and Susie, but like old friends.
We traveled with another couple, and chose the upstairs Garden Room, our friends chose the Rose Room. Both lovely and very comfortable and private, fine lighting, with good sized, well stocked bathrooms. Nice touches in the room include bottled water, glassware, chocolates, wifi, nice TV, restaurant recommendations, house info.
Breakfasts were excellent, our three mornings included egg casseroles, omelettes, sausage, and delicious yogurt with fruit and nuts. And, of course, coffee! Bring a warm cup out to the back deck and watch the mist roll over the houses across the lake.
We loved the house so much, we had dinner there two of our three nights. The first night, we picked up wine on the way in and ordered pizza. The second, we picked up more wine, cheese, bread, salad and more from a grocery store (Haggan’s or Safeway) and enjoyed a light dinner.
Do take Susie up on a tour of her garden and woods… lovely!
Other recommendations in the area: Visit Columbia Winery, loved the tasting room, great wines, buy a bottle, sit out on the patio and have flatbread pizza, wonderful! Dine at the Barking Frog at Willows Lodge, we had excellent dinner, the salmon was delicious. Canoe on Cottage Lake, we took Canoeing 101 with Kevin, and we were off! Visit downtown Seattle from here, the drive in was easy on a Thursday mid-morning, loved seeing the Chihuly Garden and Glass.
Thanks again to Susie and Kevin, our new old friends, for a lovely stay in their home.

  • Stayed: October 2015, traveled as a couple
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank BullCityGirl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
cottagelake, Owner at Cottage Lake Gardens Bed and Breakfast, responded to this reviewResponded October 19, 2015

Thank you so much for your wonderful review! We had so much fun with you all too! We feel like you are like long-time friends as well! I do hope you can return again sometime, maybe when the trilliums are blooming in the spring!

Susie & Kevin

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 12, 2015

What a delightful experience!! From driving up to the "cottage on the lake", to our first views of Cottage Lake off the back deck, everything was perfect. Susie and Kevin welcome you into their home and you feel like you're vacationing with old friends. The house sits in a wonderland of Susie's gardens. She and Kevin have created pathways amid towering trees, indigenous ferns and wildflowers. Susie is a master gardener and has over 1000 trilliums planted (all 50 species) throughout the gardens that surround the cottage. I can't imagine what it must be like in the spring. (Guess we'll have to come back). Kevin and Susie share the duties of breakfast, which they prepare with care. We had a full breakfast each morning, with their homemade delights. There was always a full pot of coffee to start your day. You could take it to the deck and stare out over the lake, in total calm and peace.
We took canoes out onto the lake and got beautiful shots of the B&B. We loved it so much, we brought food back a couple nights and just hung out.
I can't say enough about this experience. Susie and Kevin made us feel so very welcome. The house is decorated with photos, art and collectibles. There are only 2 rooms at this B&B, so plan ahead. Once I get photos done, I will add them. It's just gorgeous!!!

Room Tip: only 2 rooms.....one downstairs and one upstairs (BOTH are great)
  • Stayed: October 2015, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank evanscaribbean
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 22, 2015

We loved staying with Susie and Kevin! Delightful people with so many interests - from the wine and cheese, gourmet breakfast and garden tour - we had a very special overnight stay. Our room was private and quiet. If you are even remotely interested in gardening you will be blown away by how they have transformed their lake property (mostly sweat equity) and Susie's ongoing trilium enterprise. A highlight of our 10 day trip.

Stayed: September 2015, traveled as a couple
Thank elizhoop
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 20, 2015

I can't say enough about this place! It was perfect for a quick getaway from Seattle while visiting the local wineries . . . and even though we didn't use it . . Uber's out there too! The house is just beautiful, our room was delightful, the view fantastic, the breakfast delicious, and the owners lovely and interesting people! If you're at all into gardening make sure to talk to Susie about her gardens, and if you're lucky maybe she'll even take you for a tour -- her gardens are amazing! She is the WORLD expert on the Trillium flower. We will definitely be back and are recommending it to all our friends. . . just hope we'll be able to get in as it gets discovered!

Room Tip: We stayed in the Rose room which was downstairs and we loved it! However, the Garden room upstairs may offer a little bit more privacy
  • Stayed: September 2015, traveled as a couple
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Traveler8669
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews