We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“DO NOT STAY HERE”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Auberge de Seattle, French Country Inn
Ranked #7 of 7 Woodinville B&B and Inns
Reviewed December 13, 2013

DO NOT STAY HERE if you are thinking this is anywhere near the wineries and great restaurants of Woodinville. It is no where near them! The rooms are okay but priced much higher than they are worth. We had reserved a room for three, but on the day of our stay, our adult son had the stomach flu so was not able to fly up. The proprietor would not let us change our reservation to two people because we were within 24 hours of our stay. I could understand this if the rooms were all booked. . . . .but we were the only guests this night! I cannot in good conscience recommend that anyone stay here.

Room Tip: Choose a legitimate establishment where they care about their reputation rather than this place.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank sailguy98245
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Proprietress, Owner at Auberge de Seattle, French Country Inn, responded to this reviewResponded December 15, 2013

We are sorry you are disappointed with our cancellation policy. Having the ability to move you to another suite would not have saved you any money...as the suite you were in was the least costly. We did send you a map and directions, I'm sorry you found us difficult to find after visiting the wineries in downtown Woodinville.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (49)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

22 - 28 of 49 reviews

Reviewed September 17, 2013

This review is kind of hard to post.
Did we enjoy ourselves? Yes. But we always enjoy ourselves. We really enjoyed eating our dinner with the other guests. It was great meeting and talking to them all, which was the highlight of this trip. We purchased an Amazon Local coupon and made our reservations. This was our first contact with this establishment and we made our reservations for two nights in the honeymoon sweet and a cooking class. We had to revise our trip schedule for the convenience of the establishment, as they booked something else during the time of our stay. OK, fortunately we could do that, and we agreed. This was to be a French cooking class and we love to cook so did not want to cancel.
Sorry, but we would not do this again, and here are our reasons, just so future guests know what to expect.
Our room - it was clean, spacious, and comfortably appointed. The french doors accessed the rear of the home and a concrete patio that connects the other rooms in the back. The bathroom was very large and nice, with all of our needs met. Privacy was lacking in the bathroom as the shear half height curtains (only covered bottom half of windows) were pretty much see through and made showering a dicey event. Guests were welcome to stroll through the back yard and patio at will.We did not have any problems, just felt insecure.
This trip was all about the " cooking class", the only reason we came here -
The class is held in the homes kitchen. Our class had ten people. The proprietor and a chef explained the proceedings and discussed the menu. When it came time to cook, each menu item was assigned to a different group of guests (no say in what you cook). We were given a recipe and told to go for it, with the chef overseeing. This style of "hands on training" is very restrictive. Each group participated in preparing only the specific dish assigned to them, and never had the opportunity to observe or experience the preparation of any other menu item.
When finished we all enjoyed a great dinner and conversation. That's fine.
Remember..this was about the "cooking class", not the socializing. I enjoyed my trip but would not recommend this as a cooking class, and don't intend to. Besides the limited exposure to the cooking of the foods, the kitchen was poorly prepared as a whole. Numerous menu items were missing, in short supply, or not used. French cooking stresses the need to assemble everything prior to starting. We had to search the drawers, round up bowls, dig for ingredients. Not prepared.
Summary - The room and grounds were fine, but we came for the cooking class, not the room. If the class is important then look into it a bit more. If a nice stay near wonderful wineries is your thing, then by all means and enjoy dinner!

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank jack937
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Proprietress, Owner at Auberge de Seattle, French Country Inn, responded to this reviewResponded September 22, 2013

Bonjour Jack: Yes, I remember that class well! That's the class where we had a new Chef working with us for the first time AND also the class that we lost our oven in. It was a pretty exciting class having to improvise and re-do items that the oven burned. Fortunately; for all, we do have another oven that we used in the Chef Quarters Apartment. I have to admit, we were off of our game, no doubt about it. Thankfully, you are the only one who noticed as everyone else loved the class experience. The Chef was used to teaching serious culinary students...and was using the format that they encourage at his prior accredited culinary school. He did not understand and I have to accept responsibility for him...so I apologize to you as that was not a good example of one of our normal cooking classes. We do go out of our way explain to our students that our Classical Cuisine Cooking Classes are experiential events more like a fun team building event than a serious class room cooking class. For those of our guests who are more interested in a structured class we always suggest that you buy one of our Culinary Basic and Technique Classes. They are concentrated on one subject instead of cooking a three course sit down dinner, where part of the experience is cooking with like minded folks and enjoying their fellowship while you enjoy an elegant sit down dinner with wine. Again, I am sorry for all of the confusion. Merci!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 2, 2013

I sorry to say that the is not a professionally run establishment. I definitely would not recommend it. We have strongly urged our winemaking friends in Woodinville to not recommend this place to anyone. The owner/manager cancelled our confirmed and paid reservation without the courtesy of contacting us. We found out about it later in the evening when it was too late to do anything about it. Needless to say, that left us stranded in Seattle with the only option of a 4 1/2 hour return trip after a day of wine tasting. Not fun. I highly recommend Willows Lodge, should you choose to enjoy some fabulous wine in the area. Willows has a wonderful restaurant as well. If you have the option, go to Willows and not L'Auberge. L'Auberge is a rather pretentious name for a common "inn" that lacks professional courtesy and any real charm.

Stayed: September 2013, traveled as a couple
Thank Shayne T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Proprietress, Front Office Manager at Auberge de Seattle, French Country Inn, responded to this reviewResponded September 5, 2013

It is always disheartening to us when we get someone who is displeased with us. We do admit there was a glitch with our reservation system. We got this reservation at 8:30 am, the morning of the same day of arrival. This client received confirmation from Expedia while we did not have any openings at our Inn. We tried to contact the client repeatedly by phone. No one picked up, nor was the voice mail set up, so we could not leave a message. We then called Expedia, and we were told that they would send an email and would also call. We were then told that they did not get a response either from the client. When we did hear from this client, we explained that we were over booked and that Expedia would help find them another place for the night. We are very sorry this happened and wish we had had a good contact number to reach the client and to help them in making another reservation.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 22, 2013

We purchased a Groupon for a cooking class here, which turned out to be a mistake. The business was difficult to get hold of, and when we did the person making the reservation came across as very arrogant and offered us almost no flexibility on class availability. However, we rearranged our schedule to be there -- only to have the class unexpectedly cancelled at the very last minute. Terrible customer service.

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled with family
    • Service
Thank Wingnuts
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Proprietress, Owner at Auberge de Seattle, French Country Inn, responded to this reviewResponded August 27, 2013

We love teaching French cuisine! So sorry to hear you were disappointed in the class being cancelled. We follow the format suggested by our internet promotional partners. Our policy is that our clients have up to 48 hours to book or cancel their reservation with us and we have 24 hrs. before a class to cancel. We do require a quorum to be met to put on a class. If we do not meet our quorum, we send out cancellation notice, that always comes with the option to re-book for a later time..."with no limitations on the expiration". Our cancellation notice is automatically sent out to all who have signed up on-line by our scheduler program. Again, when we have to cancel a class we are not happy about it either, as we love teaching our clients French cuisine.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 17, 2013

We just stayed at L'Auberge and it was delightful. The grounds are beautiful. We even saw some little bunnies running around. Nancy was the perfect hostess and very gracious. The warm and fresh croissants delivered to your door in the morning will blow you away. We didn't attend the cooking class, but certainly enjoyed the accommodations with all the personal touches in the room. We will definitely recommend this establishment to our friends. It provides a super option for a "get out of town" experience not very far out of town.

Room Tip: Upgrade to the honeymoon suite even if you're not on a honeymoon.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Lin01Seattle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 14, 2013

We visited the inn to celebrate my wife's birthday. We stayed two nights in the Honeymoon Suite. Our stay was wonderful. Our hostess, Nancy, was extremely welcoming and made us feel special. She also is a terrific cook and made an elegant breakfast on our last day. We both participated in the cooking school with a true French chef.

The suite was more than we expected, with comfortable king bed, large bathroom with both jacuzzi tub and two person shower. Our view was over a small patio to a large, well manicured garden lawn where we could pick some of the herbs for the dinner during the cooking school preparation.

We hope to return on another visit to the Seattle area.

Room Tip: Honeymoon Suite is special
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank rlwlawrisk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Proprietress, Owner at Auberge de Seattle, French Country Inn, responded to this reviewResponded January 21, 2014

Thank you so much for sharing your experience with other fellow travelers! We so appreciate your positive feedback! Merci Beaucoup!!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 18, 2013

We are so lucky we were here!! Serendipty...we loved the privacy, your gardens, your gracious hospitality and the special suite. In fact, we were so happy here we hardly left, except to visit the Bellevue Botanical gardens after luncheon with Miss Claire. Then our dinner/cooking class with Chef Philippe Naud was so much fun...and so delicious. What a wonderful group we had, with people from all over. We congradulate you Nancy on creating a most special place in our world.

Thank you for everything, we shall return , but in the interim, we will be certain to spread the word: L'Auberge is a true Getaway/Hideway!! (Who cares what's the weather?)

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Angel P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Proprietress, Owner at Auberge de Seattle, French Country Inn, responded to this reviewResponded April 20, 2013

Thank you, we're so happy you had a good time. We appreciate your review, as we know our customers like reading them...thank you for sharing point of view.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Woodinville
5.2 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Seattle Woodinville WA
9.7 mi away
Woodmark Hotel & Still Spa
6.4 mi away
Hyatt House Seattle/Redmond
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.7 mi away
Willows Lodge
Willows Lodge
#1 of 2 in Woodinville
1,143 reviews
2.1 mi away
Cottage Lake Tree House B&B
Cottage Lake Tree House B&B
#3 of 7 in Woodinville
10 reviews
4.2 mi away
Aunt Louise's Secret BnB Hostel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Auberge de Seattle, French Country Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Auberge de Seattle, French Country Inn

Address: 16400 216th Ave NE, Woodinville, WA 98077-7744
Location: United States > Washington > Woodinville
Amenities:
Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #7 of 7 B&Bs / Inns in Woodinville
Price Range: $240 - $365 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Auberge de Seattle, French Country Inn 3*
Number of rooms: 4
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
SAVOR FRENCH FLAVOR, the "Joie de vivre" When it comes to all things French...this is the place. We've got a French Specialty Cooking School on our property...when it comes to food, we've got a wide variety on our plates. French cuisine is diverse and delicious as you will fine in our cooking school, the result of a vast array of fresh ingredients, cultural influences and imaginative chefs. We have 4 units for rent by day or even long term; all are decorated in the French Provincial Style. We will serve you a French "petite dejeuner" that is delivered to your suite every morning and we can also upon request provide you with a French meal "plat de jour" based on the whim of the Chef. Just let us know ahead of time as we will cooking it just for you! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotwire, Expedia, Hotels.com, Orbitz and Travelocity so you can book your Auberge de Seattle, French Country Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing