We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Go for the outdoors, stay for the breakfast.”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Chewuch Inn & Cabins
Ranked #1 of 7 Hotels in Winthrop
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersGold level
Gig Harbor, Washington
Level Contributor
125 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 105 helpful votes
“Go for the outdoors, stay for the breakfast.”
Reviewed February 17, 2014

Our first stay here, second stay in Winthrop. Would definitely come back. We stayed in #18 which is called a Romantic King room. I think that every room here is different, not cookie cutter. There are full descriptions on their website, so be sure to check that out to know what you are getting into. I am sure that reviews of this place will depend on the room you choose. We had a gas fireplace that was very nice in winter. Excellent bed with nice comforter. Our stay was quiet enough. Spacious room and bath with a double glass door that allowed a nice view of the grounds. The bath looked newly installed with nice tile, and double shower heads. A quirky design feature is the glass block wall containing the bath, probably why the room is named "Romantic". Widescreen TV was not HD, but there was a large selection of movies to borrow in the office. Our room also had a small fridge, and microwave.
Of course, as has been mentioned, the highlight of this property is the included breakfast. A different hot quiche like entree every morning along with assorted scones, muffins, breads, I think all homemade. There was a Belgian waffle maker for you to make your own, along with the usual bagels, english muffins, and dry cereals. We enjoyed the coffee by local Lariat Coffee Roasters. The breakfast is well attended and staffed.
It is difficult to get an appreciation of the grounds when it is covered in snow, but location is good for activities in Methow Valley. It is not by the river as some other properties are. However this is a well run place and we enjoyed it.

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank TanMD
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

417 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    348
    57
    11
    0
    1
See reviews for
71
272
11
5
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (121)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
kamloops, b.c.
Level Contributor
47 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
Reviewed February 9, 2014 via mobile

We came with a group of 4 couples to fat bike. The staff is warm, welcoming and very helpful. We stayed in room #5 which was spacious, very comfy bed and had plenty of fluffy towels. The hot tub is clean and easy to access.
The whole Inn is beautifully decorated in a western theme, as is the entire town. It is also very quiet and a quick pedal into town!
The breakfasts are fresh, varied, homemade and fabulous!
We will be back!

Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank coupleobikers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Independence, Oregon
Level Contributor
259 reviews
38 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 93 helpful votes
Reviewed January 11, 2014

Quiet, simple, and peaceful. Excellent breakfasts, perfect location. Dan the innkeeper and Betty the night clerk were helpful and friendly. We stayed in #17 enjoyed the sunrises and evening snowfall. It is about 200 meters from the trailhead for skiing, running and biking. The ice rink is there too. It is a short walk in to town and the grocery store is about a five minute walk away.
We will be back.
Thank you for a relaxing stay.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank waterboy1368
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kaleden, Canada
2 reviews
Reviewed January 6, 2014

We really were wonderfully surprised at the way this place was layed out for there guests. We stayed in a cabin which was called the Bailey cabin, just so happens this is our dogs name, kinda cool! We asked to have champagne ready in our room & there it was nicely displayed with 2 glasses & chocolate & a very nice Christmas card from Sally & Dan, nice personal touch. Every thing was real pretty & in it's place. Now the only thing I would suggest though, is that this cabin has no fireplace just a big heater that blows enough heat but to loud & to hot for sleeping so you shut it off & we became a wee chilly but were not wanting to hear the noise. So my recommendation would be to replace that heater for a more comfy sleep in the winter, summer no problem there. The food was outa this world, and it just kept on coming never running low, very nice Atmosphere, candles burning, Christmas trees so pretty, very well done folks, keep up the good work, we will defiantly stay with you the next time out your way.
Happy New Year

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank kim v
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wenatchee, Washington
Level Contributor
14 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed December 18, 2013

Very nice B&B. We stayed in one of the Inn rooms, which was roomy and nicely decorated. As the other reviewers mentioned, the breakfast spread was excellent. Scones, bread budding, vegetarian quiche, fruit, oatmeal, yogurt, and good local coffee. We hope to come back again some day. Only complaint was the wifi was pretty slow. But at least there was wifi.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank gadget1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Careywood, Idaho
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed December 11, 2013

We spent 3 nights in one of Chewuch's romantic cabins, celebrating our anniversary. It was clean, well-equipped, and well maintained. We were pleasantly surprised by the kitchen, the gas fireplace, the log-framed bed, BBQ on the back deck, and hot tub at the lodge. Lots of special touches. Service was top-notch yet unobtrusive. Breakfasts in the lodge were as good as any we've ever had in a B&B before. 2-minute drive or 10-minute walk to town. We will definitely stay here again. - Bob and Sabrina from North Idaho.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Bob L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oxnard, California
Level Contributor
156 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
Reviewed November 15, 2013

We had originally booked one of the queen rooms but when we weren't able to get wifi reception, the manager moved us to one of the cabins where reception was better. The queen room was somewhat small but since we were only there for one night, it would have been fine. The cabin was a lot nicer and we really enjoyed the extra space. Everything was very clean and breakfast was very nice. The inn is located in a very nice area of town and the staff was very friendly.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Sea_Squared
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Winthrop hotels
0.4 mi away
Hotel Rio Vista
Hotel Rio Vista
#2 of 7 in Winthrop
4.5 of 5 bubbles 297 reviews
0.5 mi away
AbbyCreek Inn
AbbyCreek Inn
#5 of 7 in Winthrop
4.0 of 5 bubbles 133 reviews
1.0 mi away
Methow River Lodge & Cabins
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
The Virginian Resort
The Virginian Resort
#6 of 7 in Winthrop
3.5 of 5 bubbles 77 reviews
0.2 mi away
Mt Gardner Inn
Mt Gardner Inn
#1 of 11 in Winthrop
5.0 of 5 bubbles 361 reviews
3.4 mi away
Sun Mountain Lodge
Sun Mountain Lodge
#3 of 7 in Winthrop
4.5 of 5 bubbles 492 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Chewuch Inn & Cabins? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Chewuch Inn & Cabins

Property: Chewuch Inn & Cabins
Address: 223 White Ave, Winthrop, WA 98862-9774
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Washington > Winthrop
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 7 Hotels in Winthrop
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 18
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Chewuch Inn & Cabins lies in the beautiful Methow Valley in the town of Winthrop Washington on the East slope of the North Cascades Mountains. We offer unique accommodations with a hearty breakfast in a lodge atmosphere. Restaurants and shops an easy walk with Alpine and Cross Country skiing, ice skating, snowshoeing, snowmobiling, mountain biking, hiking, river rafting, horse back riding and plenty of scenic drives. A small mountain town setting with big adventure around every turn! ... more   less 

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing