We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“I love this place!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Chewuch Inn & Cabins
Ranked #2 of 8 Hotels in Winthrop
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersGold level
Reviewed May 24, 2013

This is the second time I have stayed at this place, and it won't be the last! The rooms are well appointed and the bed is super comfortable. Great breakfast with homemade items. One complaint--the spacious hot tub outside lacks working jets to move the water vigorously. A minor thing in light of the room and breakfast. Thumbs up for this place!

  • Stayed: May 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank mythumb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (481)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

347 - 353 of 481 reviews

Reviewed May 21, 2013

This was our second visit to The Chewuch Inn....and we were only more impressed. The attention to detail was beyond measure. From the rustic beauty of the room. The fact that they truly recycle, to the simple beautiful touches in the room that make it homey and beautiful. The breakfast was all home made....beautiful egg dish, homemade granola and scones and cinnamon pull-aparts that were beyond measure.
The best was when we came in our room, there was a bottle of wine with glasses for us to celebrate our 1st anniversary. I am now in love with Winthrop....and will always stay at the Chewuch. Thank you Dan and Sally.....you made us feel like we came home.

Room Tip: We had the King Suite
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank babygirl40
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 21, 2013

We have stayed at the Chewuch Inn and Cabins for several years now. There are so many features to this B&B which make it a top choice it's hard to know where to start but here are some of the high points:
It's off the highway and out of town, so it's quieter than many in the area. In the summertime Winthrop can get busy. However, it is an easy walk to town and if you have e a bicycle you're there in less than five minutes via quiet smooth trails and a scenic walking bridge over the Methow River.
The breakfasts. An absolute delight and almost worth the trip themselves. High quality, nutritious and balanced, expertly cooked and served in a great social atmosphere.
Dan and Sally, the innkeepers, are very knowledgeable about the Methow Valley area and can provide great advice on it's many and varied outdoor activities. They also have a congenial and friendly touch and go out of their way to make guests comfortable.
Lots of wildlife - deer bed down ten feet from the cabins.
Cabin accommodations are a good combination of rustic and comfortable. In our view the mattress in any B&B is all-important and the Chewuch Inn's are very good. We always stay in the cabins, which are designed for couples. Family accommodations are available in the larger buildings in the Inn. There's something for everyone.

Room Tip: If you're a couple, opt for the cabins.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Philip S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 20, 2013

The Chewuch Inn was the perfect place to spend three days . It offered well- decorated and very clean rooms. Breakfast was wonderful and offered choices for all diets. Each of the three days started with a different warm breakfast entre, along with delicious baked good, as well as fruit and other delectable goodies. The owners and staff were very helpful and knowledgeable about the area, and offered us good advice on hiking trails and bike routes. The lounge was very relaxing and comfortable. Warm days were comfortably spent in the lounge chairs on the inn's shaded lawn. The Chewuch Inn is well located, and one can easily walk or bike to town. Above all. the owners take pride in their inn, and that added greatly to the overall experience.

  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank ingo w
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 16, 2013

We are still talking about our marvelous experience at the Chewuch Inn - 3 days/nights in one of their rustic, upscale, roomy, self contained cabins. When we opened the cabin door
we immediately felt at home and knew that the owners cared about the comfort and experience of their guests. This was only amplified by the outgoing nature and helpfulness of owners Dan and Sally and their staff. Each morning we eagerly walked a short distance to the roomy, rustic dining hall to savor their breakfasts including quiche "to die for", just out of the oven scones, granola - all home made, fruit and much more. To say that we enjoyed ourselves is an understatement. We hope to make a return visit in the future. Thanks Sally and Dan for making our stay and outstanding experience. HG and RL W.

  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Henk W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 13, 2013

We had a great time at the Chewuch Inn this past weekend. The owners were so accomodating of our schedule - we participated in the Sunflower Marathon and needed to eat earlier than they usually provide breakfast. They had a wonderful "runner's breakfast" available at 6:30 am so we could all make it to the start line on time. There were also yummy scones & cookies available when we arrived in the evening. The scenery was incredible, the rooms were clean & quiet and the beds were comfortable. We couldn't have asked for anything better.

  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank 166ScottT
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 6, 2013

The Chewuch Inn offered us a perfectly relaxing, quiet evening after an all-day scenic drive with frequent stops along the North Cascades Hwy to take in the snowy peaks under picture-perfect blue skies.
The dining room's pleasant rustic decor and nice breakfast was what I best remembered from our first trip when we enjoyed one of ther cabins. This time we stayed in one of the spacious guest room where we appreciated their selection of free movies to watch on the large screen TV. We very much enjoyed sitting on the balcony, taking in the frequent visits to the feeder of a rufus hummingbird and looking out onto their garden (another great spot to sit and enjoy the evening). We didn't have enough time to enjoy their hot tub this time around but we certainly did on our first trip. We're sure to stop there again when we plan our next scenic North Cascades drive. The only things I missed in the guestroom was a microwave and a small fridge. Maybe next time they'll have those installed as well.

  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank IngridBA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Winthrop hotels
0.2 mi away
Methow River Lodge & Cabins
0.2 mi away
Mt Gardner Inn
Mt Gardner Inn
#1 of 8 in Winthrop
412 reviews
0.4 mi away
Hotel Rio Vista
Hotel Rio Vista
#3 of 8 in Winthrop
331 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
AbbyCreek Inn
AbbyCreek Inn
#6 of 8 in Winthrop
165 reviews
0.4 mi away
The Virginian Resort
The Virginian Resort
#7 of 8 in Winthrop
92 reviews
3.4 mi away
Sun Mountain Lodge
Sun Mountain Lodge
#4 of 8 in Winthrop
549 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Chewuch Inn & Cabins? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Chewuch Inn & Cabins

Address: 223 White Ave, Winthrop, WA 98862-9774
Location: United States > Washington > Winthrop
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 8 Hotels in Winthrop
Price Range: $105 - $186 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 20
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Chewuch Inn & Cabins lies in the beautiful Methow Valley in the town of Winthrop Washington on the East slope of the North Cascades Mountains. We offer unique accommodations with a hearty breakfast in a lodge atmosphere. Restaurants and shops an easy walk with Alpine and Cross Country skiing, ice skating, snowshoeing, snowmobiling, mountain biking, hiking, river rafting, horse back riding and plenty of scenic drives. A small mountain town setting with big adventure around every turn! ... more   less 

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing