We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great RV camping location”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Winthrop
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Winthrop / N. Cascades National Park KOA
Lake Stevens, Washington
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Great RV camping location”
Reviewed August 30, 2011

We have been camping in Winthrop for over 20 years now, and much of that time has been spent at the Winthrop KOA. We typically use one of the full hook-up RV spots, and like the fact that there is plenty of room around each RV. The sites are well maintained and we like the addition of the new bathrooms and showers, which are nice. The park has added several new cozy cabins, but we have never had a need to use one. You could walk to town, but it takes awhile, so driving is much more convenient and safer. The pool is nice as is the small park store. There is also a Red Apple grocery store within a short walking distance of the park. The only thing I would like the park to update is the children's play area, as it is older and overcrowded when the park is full.

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank cesmail
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

58 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    45
    11
    1
    1
    0
See reviews for
32
11
Solo
0
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (6)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Bellingham
Level 5 Contributor
76 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
Reviewed August 28, 2011

Nice place with new bathrooms and showers. Stayed in 2 room cabin this time, and it was nice and clean. I've been staying at this camp for years, but it seems that the prices are getting higher and higher. You can go to a state park and get full hookups for the price of a tent spot here.

  • Stayed July 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank froney
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Victoria, Canada
Level 2 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed August 28, 2011

Tent camping at KOAs has always been an act of desperation. But, on this occasion, all the State parks were full, so we had no choice but to check into the KOA. We were initially thankful that sites were still available at this KOA on a Friday night in August.

The tent sites were what you expect from KOA, postage stamp sized and no privacy from neighbours. At least there was a picnic table. And, they were mostly flat.

The one thing we hope for when camping is a decent nights sleep. Unfortunately, our neighbours decided to party until 4am, keeping many awake in the campsite. The quiet hours were posted everywhere -- 11pm to 7am. But, it seems that no-body inforces this :( For the premium price paid at a KOA you would at least expect that someone would be patrolling to enforce the quiet hour rules.

On the positive, our daughter enjoyed the pool, and she sleeps through everything, so it was only mom and dad who were grumpy the next day.

No more KOAs for us

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank WestCoastDood
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
seattle
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed August 11, 2011

We stayed an extra day because we were so relaxed. We had a basic tent site next to the river with a fire pit. It was wonderful. The campground and bathrooms were clean, and the staff was very friendly and helpful. I think this may be the best KOA we have experienced. We stayed at several KOA campgrounds when we traveled from DC to Seattle six years ago. I gave the sleep quality four out of five because they have a few loud lawn sprinklers that they run at night. Three for the pool because it is always packed with children.

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank notyou2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Redmond, Washington
Level 4 Contributor
36 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
Reviewed July 31, 2011

The people here taking reservations are VERY accommodating with my large group (6+ cabins plus campsites) every year. The cabins are REALLY clean--I have never, ever seen a spider in one. The mattresses are sturdy and newer and some of the cabins have ceiling fans--ask about those! The new log bathrooms at the end of the campground are especially nice--bathroom suites with shower, toilet and sink all together--the granite countertops and spacious showers are wonderful--worth the wait if there is a line.

At 6 or 7 am most summer mornings you will hear the sound of a hot air balloon firing up and soaring over the campsites--very cool.

The campground has a great spot for exiting the river after a float from the Bid Red Barn in town--a definite "must do" while you are there.

The pool is nice, but kinda small. My kids never mind the crowd, but I wouldn't want to share the small space wtih 40 other swimmers!

The nice grassy areas and playground are great for kids and adults to play. All in all, a great campground in a GREAT town. I love Winthrop!

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank latte
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Seattle, Washington
1 review
Reviewed July 15, 2011

Came here with our 2 young kids (under 5) and stayed in a 2 bd Kabin. It was spotless! And a super clean bathroom was 25 feet away with private bathrooms and showers. They pool was great-the staff was lovely. We are planning another trip soon!

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ktmacd
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed June 19, 2011

Stayed here after a bad stay at Riverbend RV park in Twisp. Loads of things todo with kids. Great pool, playground,bikes to rent,shuttle into Wintrop & wonderful shower rooms.

  • Stayed July 2010
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MeganMamaw
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Winthrop hotels
0.8 mi away
Chewuch Inn & Cabins
Chewuch Inn & Cabins
#2 of 8 in Winthrop
437 reviews
0.6 mi away
Mt Gardner Inn
Mt Gardner Inn
#1 of 8 in Winthrop
381 reviews
0.2 mi away
AbbyCreek Inn
AbbyCreek Inn
#6 of 8 in Winthrop
145 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
The Virginian Resort
The Virginian Resort
#7 of 8 in Winthrop
81 reviews
1.1 mi away
Hotel Rio Vista
Hotel Rio Vista
#3 of 8 in Winthrop
312 reviews
0.0 mi away
Methow River Lodge & Cabins
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Winthrop / N. Cascades National Park KOA? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Winthrop / N. Cascades National Park KOA

Property: Winthrop / N. Cascades National Park KOA
Address: 1114 State Route 20, Winthrop, WA 98862-9113
Location: United States > Washington > Winthrop
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 12 Specialty Lodging in Winthrop
Number of rooms: 20
Also Known As:
Winthrop / n. Cascades National Park Koa Hotel Winthrop

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing