We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice campground”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Winthrop / N. Cascades National Park KOA
Reviewed August 28, 2011

Nice place with new bathrooms and showers. Stayed in 2 room cabin this time, and it was nice and clean. I've been staying at this camp for years, but it seems that the prices are getting higher and higher. You can go to a state park and get full hookups for the price of a tent spot here.

  • Stayed: July 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank froney
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (62)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

53 - 59 of 62 reviews

Reviewed August 28, 2011

Tent camping at KOAs has always been an act of desperation. But, on this occasion, all the State parks were full, so we had no choice but to check into the KOA. We were initially thankful that sites were still available at this KOA on a Friday night in August.

The tent sites were what you expect from KOA, postage stamp sized and no privacy from neighbours. At least there was a picnic table. And, they were mostly flat.

The one thing we hope for when camping is a decent nights sleep. Unfortunately, our neighbours decided to party until 4am, keeping many awake in the campsite. The quiet hours were posted everywhere -- 11pm to 7am. But, it seems that no-body inforces this :( For the premium price paid at a KOA you would at least expect that someone would be patrolling to enforce the quiet hour rules.

On the positive, our daughter enjoyed the pool, and she sleeps through everything, so it was only mom and dad who were grumpy the next day.

No more KOAs for us

  • Stayed: August 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank WestCoastDood
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 11, 2011

We stayed an extra day because we were so relaxed. We had a basic tent site next to the river with a fire pit. It was wonderful. The campground and bathrooms were clean, and the staff was very friendly and helpful. I think this may be the best KOA we have experienced. We stayed at several KOA campgrounds when we traveled from DC to Seattle six years ago. I gave the sleep quality four out of five because they have a few loud lawn sprinklers that they run at night. Three for the pool because it is always packed with children.

  • Stayed: August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank notyou2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 31, 2011

The people here taking reservations are VERY accommodating with my large group (6+ cabins plus campsites) every year. The cabins are REALLY clean--I have never, ever seen a spider in one. The mattresses are sturdy and newer and some of the cabins have ceiling fans--ask about those! The new log bathrooms at the end of the campground are especially nice--bathroom suites with shower, toilet and sink all together--the granite countertops and spacious showers are wonderful--worth the wait if there is a line.

At 6 or 7 am most summer mornings you will hear the sound of a hot air balloon firing up and soaring over the campsites--very cool.

The campground has a great spot for exiting the river after a float from the Bid Red Barn in town--a definite "must do" while you are there.

The pool is nice, but kinda small. My kids never mind the crowd, but I wouldn't want to share the small space wtih 40 other swimmers!

The nice grassy areas and playground are great for kids and adults to play. All in all, a great campground in a GREAT town. I love Winthrop!

  • Stayed: July 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank latte
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 15, 2011

Came here with our 2 young kids (under 5) and stayed in a 2 bd Kabin. It was spotless! And a super clean bathroom was 25 feet away with private bathrooms and showers. They pool was great-the staff was lovely. We are planning another trip soon!

  • Stayed: July 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ktmacd
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 19, 2011

Stayed here after a bad stay at Riverbend RV park in Twisp. Loads of things todo with kids. Great pool, playground,bikes to rent,shuttle into Wintrop & wonderful shower rooms.

  • Stayed: July 2010
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank MeganMamaw
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 9, 2011

One of the nicest KOA's I have been in. I especially liked the two satellite bathrooms at the ends of the campground - you didn't have to hike 100 yards to get to a bathroom if you weren't using a full hookup.

Folks running the place were very nice. Allowed us a late check out with no problems. Cost was reasonable. Great location. Would gladly stay there again.

  • Stayed: May 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank PastorAl S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Winthrop hotels
0.1 mi away
AbbyCreek Inn
AbbyCreek Inn
#6 of 8 in Winthrop
164 reviews
0.3 mi away
Mt Gardner Inn
Mt Gardner Inn
#1 of 8 in Winthrop
407 reviews
0.4 mi away
Chewuch Inn & Cabins
Chewuch Inn & Cabins
#2 of 8 in Winthrop
481 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
The Virginian Resort
The Virginian Resort
#7 of 8 in Winthrop
92 reviews
0.8 mi away
Hotel Rio Vista
Hotel Rio Vista
#3 of 8 in Winthrop
330 reviews
0.5 mi away
Methow River Lodge & Cabins
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Winthrop / N. Cascades National Park KOA? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Winthrop / N. Cascades National Park KOA

Address: 1114 State Route 20, Winthrop, WA 98862-9113
Location: United States > Washington > Winthrop
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 12 Specialty Lodging in Winthrop
Number of rooms: 20
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com so you can book your Winthrop / N. Cascades National Park KOA reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Winthrop / n. Cascades National Park Koa Hotel Winthrop

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing