We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice clean campground next to the Methow River”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Winthrop / N. Cascades National Park KOA
Reviewed August 11, 2011

We stayed an extra day because we were so relaxed. We had a basic tent site next to the river with a fire pit. It was wonderful. The campground and bathrooms were clean, and the staff was very friendly and helpful. I think this may be the best KOA we have experienced. We stayed at several KOA campgrounds when we traveled from DC to Seattle six years ago. I gave the sleep quality four out of five because they have a few loud lawn sprinklers that they run at night. Three for the pool because it is always packed with children.

  • Stayed: August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank notyou2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (60)
There are newer reviews for Winthrop / N. Cascades National Park KOA
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

53 - 59 of 60 reviews

Reviewed July 31, 2011

The people here taking reservations are VERY accommodating with my large group (6+ cabins plus campsites) every year. The cabins are REALLY clean--I have never, ever seen a spider in one. The mattresses are sturdy and newer and some of the cabins have ceiling fans--ask about those! The new log bathrooms at the end of the campground are especially nice--bathroom suites with shower, toilet and sink all together--the granite countertops and spacious showers are wonderful--worth the wait if there is a line.

At 6 or 7 am most summer mornings you will hear the sound of a hot air balloon firing up and soaring over the campsites--very cool.

The campground has a great spot for exiting the river after a float from the Bid Red Barn in town--a definite "must do" while you are there.

The pool is nice, but kinda small. My kids never mind the crowd, but I wouldn't want to share the small space wtih 40 other swimmers!

The nice grassy areas and playground are great for kids and adults to play. All in all, a great campground in a GREAT town. I love Winthrop!

  • Stayed: July 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank latte
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 15, 2011

Came here with our 2 young kids (under 5) and stayed in a 2 bd Kabin. It was spotless! And a super clean bathroom was 25 feet away with private bathrooms and showers. They pool was great-the staff was lovely. We are planning another trip soon!

  • Stayed: July 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ktmacd
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 19, 2011

Stayed here after a bad stay at Riverbend RV park in Twisp. Loads of things todo with kids. Great pool, playground,bikes to rent,shuttle into Wintrop & wonderful shower rooms.

  • Stayed: July 2010
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank MeganMamaw
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 9, 2011

One of the nicest KOA's I have been in. I especially liked the two satellite bathrooms at the ends of the campground - you didn't have to hike 100 yards to get to a bathroom if you weren't using a full hookup.

Folks running the place were very nice. Allowed us a late check out with no problems. Cost was reasonable. Great location. Would gladly stay there again.

  • Stayed: May 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank PastorAl S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 20, 2010

We tented here for 3 nights. Our site was close by the Methow River, which was awesome for tubing down the river. Nice green grassy sites. We had great weather, and enjoyed day trips to town (got to get the homemade icecream!!), and to Pearygin Lake nearby. The river is very cold, so it was nice to have the lake nearby for swimming, as well as the swimming pool. The facilities were great. Showers were clean, and good, as were the toilets. Too bad the new toilet facility wasn't ready yet, as we had to use the closer porta-can as our bathroom at night time (unless you were keen for the long walk in the dark). They are busy building a new bathroom facility on our end of the campground - great! Hopefully it will be ready for next time, because we'll definitely love to come back next summer!

  • Stayed: July 2010, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank nelle023
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 17, 2009

We stayed in Winthrop one night on our way to the North Cascades National Park Service Complex. This was the first campground experience we’d had in 9 years of traveling. We chose to stay at the KOA and get a two bedroom cabin because the other places in Winthrop that were within our budget had TripAdvisor reviews saying they were worn, dirty, and a lot of other negatives. We were very happy with this KOA and the “kabin” was clean. Both the men’s and women’s bathrooms were also clean and well-kept. Our cabin was the closest one to the main building so we could get wireless. The KOA was quiet and had a great family atmosphere. We will definitely stay here again if we return to Winthrop.

  • Stayed: July 2009, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank CrazyHiker
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Winthrop hotels
0.3 mi away
Mt Gardner Inn
Mt Gardner Inn
#1 of 8 in Winthrop
394 reviews
0.1 mi away
AbbyCreek Inn
AbbyCreek Inn
#6 of 8 in Winthrop
161 reviews
0.4 mi away
Chewuch Inn & Cabins
Chewuch Inn & Cabins
#2 of 8 in Winthrop
472 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
The Virginian Resort
The Virginian Resort
#7 of 8 in Winthrop
90 reviews
0.8 mi away
Hotel Rio Vista
Hotel Rio Vista
#3 of 8 in Winthrop
321 reviews
3.8 mi away
Sun Mountain Lodge
Sun Mountain Lodge
#4 of 8 in Winthrop
528 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Winthrop / N. Cascades National Park KOA? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Winthrop / N. Cascades National Park KOA

Address: 1114 State Route 20, Winthrop, WA 98862-9113
Location: United States > Washington > Winthrop
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 12 Specialty Lodging in Winthrop
Price Range: $70 - $81 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 20
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com so you can book your Winthrop / N. Cascades National Park KOA reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Winthrop / n. Cascades National Park Koa Hotel Winthrop

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing