We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Absolutely beautiful and private”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
River's Edge Resort
Certificate of Excellence
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Absolutely beautiful and private”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 18, 2012

My husband and I stayed here for our 28th anniversary and where impressed with the cabins private feel. The attention to detail and cleanliness was over and beyond our expectations. Heidi was warm and efficient at check in. The area is so close to town but you felt you could be in a private valley along your own creek. In the early am on the rock cliff above us was a buck looking down on us amazing! Thanks for the experience Heidi.

  • Stayed November 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank janiedee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

213 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    176
    26
    6
    0
    5
See reviews for
49
111
2
3
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (64)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Kingston, Washington
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 17, 2012

Winthrop was an overnight stop from a day drive over the North Cascades, prior to the highway closing for the winter season. This was our first time renting accommodations in Winthrop, and this lodging exceeded my expectations. The price was very reasonable for the value we received. The individual cabins are situated to provide privacy. I was impressed with the cleanliness and organization of the interior furnishings. The kitchen was well-stocked with utensils and quality items I would choose for my own kitchen. Full refrigerator, a canister of aromatic coffee grounds, dishwasher. The area with washer and dryer included laundry soap. The private hot tub was non-chemical with good jets, tucked under a large roof overhang. The deck railing with spot free plexiglass, overlooks the river. I look forward to our next opportunity to stay here. Bring a few friends and stay awhile.

Room Tip: Well worth the price to choose the riverside cabins, rather than the creekside ones. We enjoyed the...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Marusa_Bikergirl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Woodinville, Washington
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 5, 2012

This was our first time staying in Winthrop. Decided to drive the North Cascades Loop over a weekend and take in the beautiful Fall colors. We loved our private cozy cabin. It was clean, well stocked and very comfortable. We especially loved the 2 person hot tub on the back deck. The deck railing and trees provided just enough privacy. We look forward to visiting again in the summer and enjoying more of the surrounding area.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
Helpful?
Thank BotBots
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nashville, Tennessee
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 2, 2012

We had been on the road traveling from Nashville, TN to Meridan, MS, then to Dallas, Colorado Springs, Dubois, Yellowstone, Missoula, Waterton, Banff-Calgary, Anchorage,Seward, Talketna and Fairbanks then back to Calgary, Prince George, Lake Williams, Whistler, Vancouver and Seattle before arriving at Winthrop, a return trip to that western town. This was my first visit to River's Edge Resort. We spent a couple of days before going on to San Francisco/Monteray, Salt Lake, Gracie, Miles City, Bismark and Minneapolis/St. Paul, Madison Effingham and Paducah. River's Edge Resort was a high point as well as a relaxation destination, then. We never forgot the experience. Not even the hugh cinnamon roll at the corner establishment in Winthrop, the private deck with hot tub, clean/home style rooms or the Methow Valley. While traveling into Seattle/Vancouver/Chilliwack and Harrison Hot Springs a number of times that first visit at River's Edge, we wanted to return. While on a buisness trip from Victoria to Harrison to Wenatachee I was able to do so. Again, the experiance was great and I highly recommend River's Edge to any traveler looking for premier accomodations at a very reasonable cost. Winthrop is a worthwhile stop.

Room Tip: All rooms seem to be equally good.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank R L Humphrey H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Portland, Oregon, United States
Level Contributor
51 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 26, 2012

Nice place and very clean. Did not care for the listing and inventory of towels, kitchen items, etc and then the outrageous prices they charge if something goes missing or breaks. It felt kind of pretentious on the owners part that we may 'borrow or misuse' something. I am sure there have been people who have done that and maybe that is what preempted all these signs around the chalet, but we were rather put off on the fact. Took away from the 'homey' feeling they were trying to embody with the rest of the nice features.
Also, they come through your chalet to check on the hot tub everyday. While I didn't mind them checking on the hot tub, I felt they shouldn't have to come through or private area to do so. Basically, there are no 'sorry, do not disturb' signs here. They do not offer daily housekeeping, so I felt they shouldn't be coming thru.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank SpicyRunner
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Penticton, Canada
Level Contributor
38 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 8, 2012

My finace and I stayed at the rivers edge cozy cabins & thats exactly what they are. We arrived to a beautful cabin that had everything in it to enjoy a wonderful night away, even spices to cook with. The owners must have traveled alot before opening this up and really put thought into these cabins, they contain everything, a lovely bedroom with large log bed, a full bathroom, a partial kitchen, stove top, microwave, small fridge, every thing to cook with, pots&pans, utensils,anything you need to enjoy a wonderful dinner, even yes all the spices u can ever need. we then stepped outside on the deck to be happy to see a private hot tub, chairs and even a bbq. the hot tubs are very clean and wonderful to relax in as they are closed in enough that clothes are optional.wink! the owner sharon at the front desk was more than helpful on places to eat and have a bevy. The town is cute and a great place to see. But the trip was more than complete staying at thses cabins. We will be back.Thank you so very much for everything. Cant say enough about this lit gem in winthrip. Thanks Michael & Miranda, would be a great place to enjoy our honeymoon next sept? never know!

Room Tip: the cozy cabins are amazing, thanks
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank miketoner
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Seattle
Level Contributor
18 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 8, 2012

We stayed for two nights Oct 5th and 6th for the first time. We booked one of the cozy cabins which was perfect for us. We loved our private hot tub on the deck. The cozy cabins were built to allow alot of privacy from the cabins next door and also the cabins on the river. We had deer visit each morning which really added to the experience! Staff was very friendly. Resort is right at the end of town and easy walk down the street for shops and restaurants. We did not notice much road noise even though the bedroom was on the road side of the cabin. We will definitely come back.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank cdreysse
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Winthrop hotels
0.6 mi away
Chewuch Inn & Cabins
Chewuch Inn & Cabins
#2 of 8 in Winthrop
5.0 of 5 bubbles 415 reviews
0.3 mi away
Hotel Rio Vista
Hotel Rio Vista
#3 of 8 in Winthrop
4.5 of 5 bubbles 297 reviews
0.8 mi away
Mt Gardner Inn
Mt Gardner Inn
#1 of 8 in Winthrop
5.0 of 5 bubbles 359 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.6 mi away
Methow River Lodge & Cabins
1.1 mi away
AbbyCreek Inn
AbbyCreek Inn
#6 of 8 in Winthrop
4.0 of 5 bubbles 133 reviews
0.9 mi away
The Virginian Resort
The Virginian Resort
#7 of 8 in Winthrop
3.5 of 5 bubbles 75 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to River's Edge Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about River's Edge Resort

Property: River's Edge Resort
Address: 115 Riverside Ave, Winthrop, WA 98862-9806
Location: United States > Washington > Winthrop
Amenities:
Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 12 Specialty Lodging in Winthrop
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — River's Edge Resort 3*
Number of rooms: 15
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to River's Edge Resort, a unique lodging experience, located Downtown in the Old Western town of Winthrop, Washington.Tucked in along the Chewuch River, our One, Two and Three-Bedroom Riverside Chalets feature private, deck hot tubs with river views, well-appointed kitchens, laundry, dining and spacious living rooms with 42" flat-screen televisions.On the same property, but not along the river we offer, One-Bedroom Cozy Cabins featuring private, outdoor hot tubs, kitchenettes, dining and comfortable living rooms with 37" flat-screen televisions.We have been Welcoming guests since 1996 and have made many, many wonderful friends. Whether you are traveling for business or pleasure, River's Edge Resort hopes to be your first lodging choice when visiting Winthrop, Washington.River's Edge Resort is a 2015 TripAdvisor, "Certificate of Excellence" award recipient ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotwire, Priceline and Agoda so you can book your River's Edge Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
River`s Edge Hotel Winthrop

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing