We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“We love the River's Edge Resort”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
River's Edge Resort
Certificate of Excellence
Hansville, WA
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“We love the River's Edge Resort”
Reviewed April 25, 2012

Great place! We just got back from our second trip there (April 2012). We were there last October and couldn't wait to get back. The rooms (ours was a two-bedroom suite) are big and very clean and have everything you need including a full kitchen with real coffee and a real coffee maker, nice dishes, full set of cookware, etc etc... even herbs and spices. The bed is very comfortable, and the deck with hot tub is just superb. Very private, with a nice view of the river. There are several nice restaurants within easy walking distance. Sharon and the staff are great. Thanks ya'll!

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Dan K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Heidi K, Owner at River's Edge Resort, responded to this review, May 2, 2012
Welcome Back!
Thank you for the wonderful endorsement for River's Edge Resort. We are so glad you were able to enjoy a Riverside Chalet for a second time. Sounds like you enjoyed the deck with a hot tub that offers a wonderful view of the Chewuch River.

Our Housekeeping Staff, takes pride in providing Guests with a clean and comfortable environment. Thank you for your comments. And we agree, "Sharon and the staff are great."

Sincerely,
Dennis & Heidi
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

218 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    182
    25
    6
    0
    5
See reviews for
51
111
2
4
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (66)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Tacoma, WA
Level 5 Contributor
56 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
Reviewed April 12, 2012

There are a lot of great places to stay in the Methow Valley, but this one offers a great combination: a private, quiet riverside location plus easy walkable access to town.
We were able to snag a mid-week, off-season special during the first week of April, so our two-bedroom cabin was quite affordable. The town was partially deserted at this time of year (and the Schoolhouse brewpub closed), but we were able to find some decent snow up past Mazama. Spent most of the time relaxing in our cabin and on the deck and spa. Clean and well-decorated space. Friendly, but unobtrusive staff. Added bonus: a marmot couple scampering up and down the cliff across the river (and a bald eagle watching them as a possible snack). I'd be happy to pay full price for this during the peak season.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank JohnHTacoma_WA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Okanogan, Washington
Level 4 Contributor
22 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed April 1, 2012

Our family was looking for a place not too far away to get away for a night and relax....and this was just what we wanted!! Sharon at the office was so pleasant and accomodating. We stayed in the 3 bedroom chalet that was right on the river, which was very spacious, spotless and well appointed. It had a cozy loft, spacious master bedroom, two full size bathrooms, washer and dryer, and full kitchen with everything we needed. The private hot tub on the deck overlooking the river was wonderful, and the cozy propane stove in the family room made us wish we had came a day earlier to enjoy more time there. What's even better is, the resort is in downtown Winthrop and within walking distance of shopping and restaurants, but from the deck out back all you can see is the river and trees, so you get the feeling that you're out in the country away from it all. My son asked if we could just live there....I wish!! The kids loved it as much as we did, It was wonderful and we definitely will be back.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank llou325
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Heidi K, Owner at River's Edge Resort, responded to this review, April 6, 2012
Thank you so much for taking the time to submit this review. We are glad to know you enjoyed your stay at River's Edge Resort.

Our goal is to provide you with the "Comforts of Home" and to provide the Best customer care. It's pleasing to know you enjoyed working with Sharon and "loved everything" about the resort.

Thank you for staying with us and see you again.
Happy Trails, Dennis & Heidi
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cle Elum, Washington
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed March 12, 2012

very clean, very comfortable, and very well equipped. Nice hot tub, close to town and helpful staff.....worth every nickel!

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank jack3006
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MrsRER, Owner at River's Edge Resort, responded to this review, March 12, 2012
Thank you for the nice review.

We are pleased to know you enjoyed a clean, comfortable and well equipped cabin.
We appreciate your business and look foward to seeing you again.

Safe Travels,
Dennis & Heidi
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Westphalia, Michigan
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed March 6, 2012

I don't even know where to start when reviewing River's Edge and the entire town of Winthrop besides saying I wish I could move there to be around such wonderful people all the time!! The cabin we stayed in was even nicer than we had anticipated, everything was spotless and are fully stocked with everything you need right down to aluminum foil. There were Deer and Bald Eagles out our back door right at the river all the time and with the water flowing over the rocks sitting on the deck for hours just relaxing was what I needed the most. I also got to talk to the lady working the desk a fair amount and she was super nice, we will be back next year for the balloon roundup and will be staying at River's Edge. Now to say something about the town of Winthrop, this was our first time there and we fell in love with everyone we met. The locals are very friendly and the other visitors to the town were great too, it was very obvious that this area draws those that just want to relax and have fun. All the pilots we met at the roundup were very nice and we will be bragging about the event to all of our ballooning friends from here in Michigan and the Midwest. Thank you River's Edge, the town of Winthrop, and everyone involved in the Balloon Roundup for making our trip across the country to see this even better than we could have hoped for!

Room Tip: Not sure about the other cabins but we stayed in #13 and it had a King size bed in 1 room and a quee...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Brian F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leavenworth, Washington, United States
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed March 4, 2012

Just got home from our group's 3rd year staying at the resort. We come each year to participate in one of MVSTA's great events, the Winter Triathlon. It is usually (always?) held on the same weekend as the Balloon Festival. What a great time to be in the Methow Valley! We rent one of the big cabins, and we have always had a stellar stay! The management is so friendly, and accomodating. The cabins are always squeaky clean, and the hot tub is PERFECT after racing! The cabins are cozy, but we had extra friends over for dinner one night of our stay, expanding our number to 10, and there was plenty of room! The resort is located right in town, and you can walk to everything. Sitting and watching deer wonder by, and Bald Eagles soar, and perch in the trees along the river. We just love it, and will be back!!!

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Erika E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MrsRER, Owner at River's Edge Resort, responded to this review, March 5, 2012
Welcome back!
Thank you for taking the time to share your latest experience at River's Edge Resort. You did come during one of the best weekends in March ... MVSTA's Winter Triathlon and the Winthrop Balloon Festival. MVSTA will be grooming trails through March 11th and then switching to a spring schedule ... still awesome skiing to be had!

So glad to hear we met the mark again with friendliness, accommodating and "squeaky clean" cabins. Our office and housekeeping staff does an amazing job and they are here to make you happy.

Yes, the hot tubs are "PERFECT" after a day of skiing!

Thank you so very much for sharing. See you next year,
Dennis & Heidi
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Seattle, Washington
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed March 4, 2012

This is my second time staying at this delightful community of extremely comfortable well appointed and maintained "cabins." I almost hate to use that word because you'll be so comfortable at your home away from home with full size washer/dryer, large screen HD TV, wi-fi, and large lovingly maintained hot tubs on back private patios overlooking the river for the three bedroom cottages with well appointed kitchens with all you'll need. These are still perfect for a couple, family or group of friends and offer a feel of remote privacy due to being nestled above the river with a tall rock face riverbank wall beyond. We saw an eagle perched atop this as well as deer scurrying along it's top edge from the main room which has large light allowing windows.

Room Tip: Two bedroom plus loft cottages on the river are units 15-20 (20 is the end cottage). Cottages 11-14...
See more room tips
Stayed February 2012, traveled with friends
Helpful?
2 Thank MatthewLove
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MrsRER, Owner at River's Edge Resort, responded to this review, March 5, 2012
Thank you for staying with us again!

We did build our Riverside Chalets and Cozy Cabins with you in mind. Our goal is to provide our guests with the "Comforts of Home." We listen closley and adapt to our guests needs.

You say it the best, "remote privacy." It's true, our Riverside Chalets set within 25 feet of the Chewuch River and on the other side of the bank is a tall rock wall. It's complete serenity with all that nature has to offer.

We sure to appreciate your words,
Dennis & Heidi
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Winthrop hotels
0.6 mi away
Chewuch Inn & Cabins
Chewuch Inn & Cabins
#2 of 8 in Winthrop
441 reviews
0.8 mi away
Mt Gardner Inn
Mt Gardner Inn
#1 of 8 in Winthrop
381 reviews
0.3 mi away
Hotel Rio Vista
Hotel Rio Vista
#3 of 8 in Winthrop
312 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
Methow River Lodge & Cabins
1.1 mi away
AbbyCreek Inn
AbbyCreek Inn
#6 of 8 in Winthrop
147 reviews
1.0 mi away
The Virginian Resort
The Virginian Resort
#7 of 8 in Winthrop
81 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to River's Edge Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about River's Edge Resort

Property: River's Edge Resort
Address: 115 Riverside Ave, Winthrop, WA 98862-9806
Location: United States > Washington > Winthrop
Amenities:
Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 12 Specialty Lodging in Winthrop
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — River's Edge Resort 3*
Number of rooms: 15
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to River's Edge Resort, a unique lodging experience, located Downtown in the Old Western town of Winthrop, Washington.Tucked in along the Chewuch River, our One, Two and Three-Bedroom Riverside Chalets feature private, deck hot tubs with river views, well-appointed kitchens, laundry, dining and spacious living rooms with 42" flat-screen televisions.On the same property, but not along the river we offer, One-Bedroom Cozy Cabins featuring private, outdoor hot tubs, kitchenettes, dining and comfortable living rooms with 37" flat-screen televisions.We have been Welcoming guests since 1996 and have made many, many wonderful friends. Whether you are traveling for business or pleasure, River's Edge Resort hopes to be your first lodging choice when visiting Winthrop, Washington.River's Edge Resort is a 2015 TripAdvisor, "Certificate of Excellence" award recipient ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotwire, Priceline and Agoda so you can book your River's Edge Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
River`s Edge Hotel Winthrop

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing