We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wonderful winter retreat!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
River's Edge Resort
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed March 3, 2012

We rented the 2-bedroom cabin for a 4-day cross country ski trip. It was spacious and cozy--right on the river with eagles perched in nearby trees. We loved the gas fireplace. Overall, well worth the money. The kitchen is well-stocked--including a spice rack and good coffee. Wonderful, clean hot tub on deck. Walking distance to shopping, restaurants and pubs. There's a beautiful nature trail just a block from the resort. Winthrop is outstanding for cross country trails. The best in the US. This is the place to stay!

  • Stayed: February 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Carol W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (224)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

171 - 177 of 224 reviews

Reviewed February 17, 2012

I did a lot of research into the perfect cabin to rent for our 4 day visit to the Methow Valley. I really liked this place from what I could see on the internet, but the Cozy Cabins were full during the dates we wanted to go. Only the 3 bedroom chalet was available and I thought it would be too much. But then I saw the special deals for weeknight winter stays - if you stay four nights, that last night is free! That made it cheaper than other places I had looked at that did not seem as inviting. We were not disappointed at all on arrival. The view from the large picture window out back is fabulous. Sitting in our private hot tub on the deck overlooking the river, we saw deer several times. The cabin has absolutely everything you need - we never even had to go out to eat. It was wonderful to come back from a day of playing hard in the snow, to relaxing in the hot tub, then enjoying a nice dinner in lounging wear. We will DEFINITELY be back to this place.

  • Stayed: February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank JuneBug1964
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MrsRER, Owner at River's Edge Resort, responded to this reviewResponded February 18, 2012

Thank you for taking the time to provide a review after your stay with us. We truly built our Cozy Cabins and Riverside Chalets with you in mind. The kitchens are well- appointed allowing our guests the choice to cook for their dietary needs and not have to leave the comforts of their cabin.

We are so glad you were able to view the deer while you enjoyed the riverside hot tub, this truly is a favorite of our guests. Our local deer can be seen year round throughout the resort and the eagles are best viewed from the Riverside Chalet decks/hot tubs.

We do post Internet Specials periodically on our website, so keep checking back and glad you were able to enjoy the Stay Three Nights and the Fourth Night is Free! Thank you for staying with us!

Regards,
Dennis & Heidi

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 9, 2012

We recently stayed at this resort for 3 nights while on a cross country ski getaway. The cabins are wonderful for 2. Clean, neat, and next to all the uptown action. A terrific value and great for relaxing. The private deck with wonderfully warm and inviting 2 person hot tub plus TV/DVD/CD stereo, "wood" gas stove, kitchen, etc. Warm and friendly staff and just a first class place to relax after a long day of skiing! Highly recommend it!

Room Tip: Mid week with a 20% discount makes an excellent value. Only the first cabin is without a hot tub an...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank MFP3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MrsRER, Owner at River's Edge Resort, responded to this reviewResponded February 18, 2012

Thank for choosing to stay with us during your Cross Country Ski GetAway! The snow and MVSTA Trail system has been amazing this year!

We are so very pleased you enjoyed a Cozy Cabin with a deck hot tub. This is a great treat after a day of skiing along with the "wood" propane stove in the living room. Thank you for appreciating the cabin amenities and the care our housekeeping staff provides.

We are always pleased when our Guests can enjoy something special and find our 20% Off Weeknight Specials an "Excellent Value." We do post our Specials on the resort website.

Thank you so very much for choosing to stay with us,
Dennis & Heidi

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 29, 2011

We love staying at Rivers Edge. This was our 4th stay and we are looking forward to coming back. The cabins are clean, comfortable and affordable. A great get away from the hectic pace of everyday life. The hot tub is always a bonus!

Room Tip: A one or two bedroom cabin is great for a couple. The hot tubs are full size as opposed to the two...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank billsgirl1952
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 6, 2011

This is our home away from home. We have been coming here for years. Great little town and the resort owners and staff are wonderful people. A perfect place to relax that is right on the river.

  • Stayed: May 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank MillieColville
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 3, 2011

Last year this was a find. Winthrop is part of our annual colors trip and we've stayed at many of the nicer places in the vicinity, including up on the mountain. So when we discovered River's Edge in 2010, we knew we'd hit a good one. But this year was different. At midnight the power company was gonna turn off all electricity to Winthrop for at least five hours. No electric heat and no candles. Management supplied a battery operated lantern so we could find our way to the bathroom or wherever. I'm a night-owl, my wife is not. Wed intentionally reserved a two bedroom unit so's I could watch the late night shows. Not tonight. At midnight the lights, TV, heat, and everything else vanished. Using the lantern I got to the bathroom and left it there for the next user. Fumbled my way to the bedroom, to discover that last year's queen bed had been replaced by a king. Not just an ordinary king, but one with a pillow-top concrete-slab mattress. I couldn't sleep till I fumbled my way back to the TV couch and curled up. When the sun came up the power was back on and we made coffee. My wife had slept comfortably on the old queen in her room. Until I hit that not so good new bed, I was satisfied we'd found it again. Now I'm not sure.

  • Stayed: October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank jix
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 21, 2011

We weren't planning on staying here so arrived just before 6pm on a Sunday. Surprisingly there were only two rooms left and one didn't have a working hot tub. We ended up staying in the 3 room chalet which was not cozy for 2 people; next time we need to book in advance now that we know about this place. Loved the tub on the deck; the weather was perfect for sitting out at night and we also sat outside in the morning in the tub. Very relaxing with the sound of the river. No extra pillows and the ones there weren't that comfortable; I guess I am one of few who prefers harder mattresses as well. Also I enjoy using the toiletries provided but this place only had shampoo and soap - no conditioner or lotions.

  • Stayed: October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank TTeerrii
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Winthrop hotels
0.6 mi away
Chewuch Inn & Cabins
Chewuch Inn & Cabins
#2 of 8 in Winthrop
481 reviews
0.6 mi away
Methow River Lodge & Cabins
0.3 mi away
Hotel Rio Vista
Hotel Rio Vista
#3 of 8 in Winthrop
331 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 mi away
Mt Gardner Inn
Mt Gardner Inn
#1 of 8 in Winthrop
412 reviews
1 mi away
The Virginian Resort
The Virginian Resort
#7 of 8 in Winthrop
92 reviews
3.2 mi away
Sun Mountain Lodge
Sun Mountain Lodge
#4 of 8 in Winthrop
549 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to River's Edge Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about River's Edge Resort

Address: 115 Riverside Ave, Winthrop, WA 98862-9806
Location: United States > Washington > Winthrop
Amenities:
Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 12 Specialty Lodging in Winthrop
Price Range: $111 - $203 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — River's Edge Resort 3*
Number of rooms: 15
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to River's Edge Resort, a unique lodging experience, located Downtown in the Old Western town of Winthrop, Washington.Tucked in along the Chewuch River, our One, Two and Three-Bedroom Riverside Chalets feature private, deck hot tubs with river views, well-appointed kitchens, laundry, dining and spacious living rooms with 42" flat-screen televisions.On the same property, but not along the river we offer, One-Bedroom Cozy Cabins featuring private, outdoor hot tubs, kitchenettes, dining and comfortable living rooms with 37" flat-screen televisions.We have been Welcoming guests since 1996 and have made many, many wonderful friends. Whether you are traveling for business or pleasure, River's Edge Resort hopes to be your first lodging choice when visiting Winthrop, Washington.River's Edge Resort is a 2015 TripAdvisor, "Certificate of Excellence" award recipient ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotwire, Agoda and Priceline so you can book your River's Edge Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
River`s Edge Hotel Winthrop

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing