We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Our 4th stay and it won't be the last!” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of River's Edge Resort

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
River's Edge Resort
Certificate of Excellence
Lake Stevens, Washington
Level Contributor
77 reviews
60 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 130 helpful votes
“Our 4th stay and it won't be the last!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 12, 2011

Obviously we must like River's Edge Resort because we keep coming back and have never been disappointed. The cabins and chalets are spotless and cozy, the staff is welcoming and helpful.

We LOVE the hot tubs on the private decks, the fully equiped kitchens and the couch is comfortable enough to sleep on. Just a nice, quiet get-away with a rustic feel and a little luxury thrown in. Wish I could bring home one of those hot tubs!

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Cruising-along
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

213 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    176
    26
    6
    0
    5
See reviews for
49
111
2
3
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (64)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Halifax, Canada
Level Contributor
68 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 106 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 7, 2011

2 couples stayed here in late July, just for a night. The 2 bedroom suite was really roomy, lots of space to move around in. The upstairs loft was great. The cabin was airy and clean. It had a fantastic hot tub on a huge, private deck overlooking the river, literally steps from the deck. Neighborhood deer were frequent visitors and one slept right outside our door all night and then lazed around all morning. Cute.
The cabin was fully equipped with everything we needed and it was just steps from the charming western themed town. I wanted a horse to ride through the town so we did the next best thing and did a trailride not far from our place. It awakens the inner cowboy in all of us:) There were plenty of towels and the comfy beds were a welcome pleasure.
I recommend!

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Michelle G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Puyallup, Washington
Level Contributor
50 reviews
37 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 54 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 4, 2011

We just returned from riding (motorcycle) the beautiful Cascade Loop with a group of friends.

We stayed two nights in Winthrop at the Rivers Edge Resort cabins during our road trip . This was our second stay here and in my opinion it is the best location to stay while visiting Winthrop. It's just a short walk away to everything in town.

The resort has larger cabins on the river and smaller cabins that sit behind them. Our group occupied cabins 11, 12 and 13 on the river and 2 of the cozy cabins behind.

My husband and another couple shared cabin 11. It had two small bedrooms with king beds,1 bath, a laundry room with washer & dryer and another sink and mirror, a large common area with living room, dining room and a full kitchen with a counter/bar and more seating. It has a deck the full width of the cabin with a hot tub, BBQ and sitting area.
11 sits on the end of the row and closest to town and the deck is screened on the sides for privacy.

Having viewed several different cabins there, I can say that they are all very nicely furnished with a log/ woodsy theme. The furnishings and decor are all high end and very comfortable with wood floors, leather furniture, wood blinds, flat screen TV, cd player.

Our kitchen had a microwave,dishwasher,gas stove,full frig and coffee pot. It was very well stocked with salt, pepper, sugar, creamer, coffee, filters, paper towels,dish detergent,dishes,pots and pans,dish towel, flatware and other utensils including BBQ utensils. But if you don't want to cook several good restaurants are all very close by.

The cozy cabins that sit behind are cute and cozy. They have many of the same amenities as the larger cabins (except laundry) and on a smaller scale but perfect for one or two people.
We looked at a 3 bedroom cabin before we left. They are also very nice. They have one bedroom on the main floor and two bedrooms and a 2nd bath in the loft area. You can also reserve two 3 bedroom cabins that have a connecting deck for larger groups which is a nice option for traveling with a larger group of friends or family.

All the employees we encountered during our stay were very nice and the check in was easy.

None of the lodgings in town are very inexpensive but we all were very pleased with these cabins and really felt that we got our money's worth here. Our stay was very enjoyable.

Winthop is full of deer and we saw several next to our cabin and walking through the grounds and in town. It's a fun little town to visit. Try it!

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Harleytravelerx2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lynden, Washington
Level Contributor
3 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 27, 2011

Very clean, great location, perfect service, amazing private cabins, A+ + + +! I will definitely be back!

  • Stayed July 2011
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank KenzieCook
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bainbridge Island, Washington, USA
Level Contributor
14 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 22, 2011

Our family all agreed this is the BEST place we have ever stayed! The people were all very nice and helpful - the deer families that greeted us outside our door each day were adorable - and the hot tub next to the river was SO relaxing! The room (which was more like an entire house!) was very clean and comfortable with all of the finest! They certainly thought of everything to make our stay carefree - we are already planning a trip back...maybe this winter!?!?!

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank twinners
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Port Moody, Canada
Level Contributor
51 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 27, 2011

What a great place to chill with the family and friends. Fantastic cabins that are located right on the rivers edge as the name implies. Our cabin which was full stocked was fresh and clean. Hot tub on the deck over looking the river. These units are also very close walking distance to the rest of the town but offer complete quiet.

Room Tip: Go for a river front cabin
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2011, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Sara_and_Daniel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MrsRER, Owner at River's Edge Resort, responded to this review, July 22, 2011
We are happy to know you enjoyed your visit at the resort and enjoyed the Riverside Chalet. The Riverside Chalets do offer "The Comforts of Home" and we do our best to keep this promise.
As yourself, our guests truly find the hot tubs to be welcoming. The setting is simply gorgeous, quite and tucked away that you do not feel like you are in town, but in a cozy little cove.

Thank you for sharing your comments, photos and we look forward to seeing you again,
Dennis & Heidi K.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 25, 2011

Overall, great location and units right on river within walking distance to Winthrop. We rented a 3 bedroom riverside chalet, which was more space than we needed, but rented the larger unit so that we could enjoy a hot tub by the river. Upon check-in at 5:30pm we were disappointed to find that the "hot" tub was at 80 degrees. When I notified reception, I was told that the hot tub had been cleaned and drained that day, but that the temperature would come up quickly at a rate of 10 degrees per hour and would be ready in two hours. Although an inconvenience, we didn't make an issue of this and decided to venture into town for dinner. I verified the setting on the tub was at 103 and off we went...We returned at 8:30pm and found the tub to be still only 92 degrees. It took until almost 10pm for the tub to reach 101, which was ironically the time that the resort rules state that hot tub use must be discontinued. Obviously disappointing from a service standpoint, marring what otherwise could have been an excellent stay. Service and value rating both compromised based on the experience.

  • Stayed June 2011
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Superfly7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MrsRER, Owner at River's Edge Resort, responded to this review, July 22, 2011
Thank you for contacting us. We let you down and are sorry. We too are disappointed to learn the hot tub was slow to heat and come to the temperature you were expecting at an earlier time.

In our daily maintenance activities, the hot tubs are our focus, so we can provide our guests with sanitized and comfortable hot tubs. We have had this routine for 15 years and it has worked very well; although, it can not always be perfect when certain situations arise. We did learn from your visit that our two newest hot tubs are larger than the other tweleve (12) and do take longer to heat.

We have now made an adjustment to our daily routine and sercive those hot tubs first.

We rely on our guests to keep us informed and, by writing to us, you've given us the chance to improve -- thank you. Please do not be discouraged from traveling with us again soon. We are eager to restore your confidence and we will do our best not to disappoint you again.

Sincerely,
Dennis & Heidi K.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Winthrop hotels
0.6 mi away
Chewuch Inn & Cabins
Chewuch Inn & Cabins
#2 of 8 in Winthrop
5.0 of 5 bubbles 413 reviews
0.8 mi away
Mt Gardner Inn
Mt Gardner Inn
#1 of 8 in Winthrop
5.0 of 5 bubbles 359 reviews
0.3 mi away
Hotel Rio Vista
Hotel Rio Vista
#3 of 8 in Winthrop
4.5 of 5 bubbles 297 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.2 mi away
AbbyCreek Inn
AbbyCreek Inn
#6 of 8 in Winthrop
4.0 of 5 bubbles 131 reviews
0.9 mi away
The Virginian Resort
The Virginian Resort
#7 of 8 in Winthrop
3.5 of 5 bubbles 75 reviews
3.2 mi away
Sun Mountain Lodge
Sun Mountain Lodge
#4 of 8 in Winthrop
4.5 of 5 bubbles 485 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to River's Edge Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about River's Edge Resort

Property: River's Edge Resort
Address: 115 Riverside Ave, Winthrop, WA 98862-9806
Location: United States > Washington > Winthrop
Amenities:
Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 12 Specialty Lodging in Winthrop
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — River's Edge Resort 3*
Number of rooms: 15
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to River's Edge Resort, a unique lodging experience, located Downtown in the Old Western town of Winthrop, Washington.Tucked in along the Chewuch River, our One, Two and Three-Bedroom Riverside Chalets feature private, deck hot tubs with river views, well-appointed kitchens, laundry, dining and spacious living rooms with 42" flat-screen televisions.On the same property, but not along the river we offer, One-Bedroom Cozy Cabins featuring private, outdoor hot tubs, kitchenettes, dining and comfortable living rooms with 37" flat-screen televisions.We have been Welcoming guests since 1996 and have made many, many wonderful friends. Whether you are traveling for business or pleasure, River's Edge Resort hopes to be your first lodging choice when visiting Winthrop, Washington.River's Edge Resort is a 2015 TripAdvisor, "Certificate of Excellence" award recipient ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Agoda and Priceline so you can book your River's Edge Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
River`s Edge Hotel Winthrop

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing