We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Winthrop Inn” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Winthrop Inn

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Winthrop Inn
Ranked #1 of 10 Winthrop B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Bothell, Washington
Level Contributor
37 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Winthrop Inn”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 4, 2012

Nice little place, friendly staff, clean room.
Very welcoming with our dog. Lots of place to run for a "well-behaved" pup. He loved being able to splash around in the river.

They were prepared for our arrival, handled well and excellent information.
We walked into town (about 1 mile) for dinner. Food, market and gas very close by. Fridge and microwave in room, VCR, DVD as well and Wifi

Just wish some of the other guests were as polite as the innkeepers.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Keith G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

124 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    42
    48
    26
    8
    0
See reviews for
23
61
7
4
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (23)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Yakima, Washington
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 5, 2012

I have been staying at this motel 3-4 nights a month for over 10 years. The reason I keep coming back is the friendly owners and staff (almost like family). The rooms are always clean. The hot tub and pool are always clean. GREAT PLACE TO STAY!!

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank mike s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
smokey point
1 review
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 17, 2011

winthrop Inn is a nice place to stay...but just beware that it is VERY NOISY at night. the walls are paper thin and I could hear evey time some one turned on water, or got ice out of the machine. maybe get a room on the 2nd floor, as the kid above us opened and shut the slideing glass door all night and 1st thing in the morning. And for 100.+ a night they could have better muffins

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank deni v
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bellingham, Washington
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 14, 2011

As I lay here in this hotel pondering if we should look for another place to stay tomorrow night, my 2 year old found an earwig on the bedside lamp...ew! Add it to the list: the cable dosen't work and the room is dinky with the "bathroom" at the foot of the bed. The lady who works at the front desk was rude when I made my reservation over the phone and again when we checked in. Our room happens to be under the stairs sounds like someone is pounding on our walls/ceiling everytime someone goes up or down. I've never taken the time to write a review (good or bad) but this is so bad I had to do it. My advice to you is spend a little more and stay somewhere else! Side note: the pool is great and the husband of the front desk lady is really nice!

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank 3jonesfamily
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Yigo, Mariana Islands
Level Contributor
43 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 3, 2011

The Wintrhop Inn is not internet saavy. We had to call to get the reservation, I was writing down the information as I was getting it read to me over the phone as they confirmed we had two rooms reserved. They gave me a confirmation number. When we got there, someone had scratched off one of fhe rooms. Thus, they had one room for our party of six and were fully booked. The refrigerator didn't work. They cater to bikers who makes lots of noise late and early with plenty of foul language. This would be place for a family to avoid.

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank LowMaintFam
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
methow, Owner at Winthrop Inn, responded to this review, August 11, 2011
A great place to Stay and Play. We are a family operated business and have been in business for over 30 years. We view our guest as business partners, without them we would not be in business. We try our utmost at the Winthrop Inn to provide a quiet relaxed comfortable stay. Our office is available 24 hours a day. If for some reason a guest is unhappy we would like to know immediately so we can mitigate the problem. We have a very high percentage of return guests. Ninety percent of our business is over the internet or over the phone. 99% plus are handled in a very satisfactory manner. We are not perfect even though we would like to be. That being said I think we do a very good job. We were just inspected by the AAA inspector. His comment was,"Wow, this is where I would like my mother to stay." Our refrigerators are left off to conserve electricity and our guests are informed they need to turn them on if they need to use them. We do not cater to bikers, but many bikers stay with us as well as car clubs, bicyclers, birdwatchers, photographers as well as travelers of all kinds. They all enjoy our well kept pool and hot tub. They enjoy our picnic and BBQ area. They relax in our lawn furniture which is spaced out over our 2 acres of groomed lawns. They and all our guest enjoy taking a quiet walk to our river seating to relax or picnic. Having watched the tourist for many years the men and women who are our guests that ride motorcycles are by in large doctors, lawyers, business men and family men and women. They are quiet, polite, very respectful and helpful to us and other guests. Rarely have I heard foul or inappropriate language. On the contrary we are a great place for families and many families know it because of the number of family reunions that take place at The Winthrop Inn. We have a basketball court, a volleyball court, swimming pool, hot tub, spacious lawns for frisbee, boccie ball, croquet, or just grass to run in or lay on. We also have 2 acres for dogs to run and exercise, away from the hotel. People with families love it here. We have a large secured parking area away from the highway for little kids to ride trikes and bikes or skateboards. They can even watch a hot air balloon launch off our back lot. Many guest just enjoy the groomed grounds and flowers. We are continually upgrading the Winthrop Inn to make it an even more enjoyable place to Stay and Play.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Anchorage, Alaska
Level Contributor
10 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 22, 2011

Stayed here 2 nights with family (three rooms), close to town and friendly staff. They loaned us towels and hose to wash our motorcycle. The facility needs some updating and repairs - screen doors have large holes we covered with tape, carpet needs updating - but the rooms were clean. Nice area to walk down by the river and can watch hot air balloons take off.

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank RedBullRiders
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Seattle, WA
Level Contributor
16 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 16, 2011

Stayed here in Dec 2010 with a friend. It is fine and clean, however the cheap carpet ruined it all. It looked clean. Our breakfast was a high sugared muffin that was freshly microwaved. But of course I didn't expect for a sumptous breakfast.

Just like any less $100/night hotel, you hear the people on the other room. Walking distance to the grocery and gas station but you need a car to get to Downtown. The river is just on your backyard where we end up snowshoeing at night. Otherwise, it's a decent place to stay for the night. Next time, we'll stay in a cabin, out in the wilderness for the true Methow Valley experience.

  • Stayed December 2010, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Rowenn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Winthrop hotels
0.1 mi away
AbbyCreek Inn
AbbyCreek Inn
#6 of 8 in Winthrop
4.0 of 5 bubbles 131 reviews
0.3 mi away
Mt Gardner Inn
Mt Gardner Inn
#1 of 8 in Winthrop
5.0 of 5 bubbles 359 reviews
0.5 mi away
Chewuch Inn & Cabins
Chewuch Inn & Cabins
#2 of 8 in Winthrop
5.0 of 5 bubbles 413 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
The Virginian Resort
The Virginian Resort
#7 of 8 in Winthrop
3.5 of 5 bubbles 75 reviews
0.9 mi away
Hotel Rio Vista
Hotel Rio Vista
#3 of 8 in Winthrop
4.5 of 5 bubbles 297 reviews
3.9 mi away
Sun Mountain Lodge
Sun Mountain Lodge
#4 of 8 in Winthrop
4.5 of 5 bubbles 485 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Winthrop Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Winthrop Inn

Property: Winthrop Inn
Address: 960 Hwy 20, Winthrop, WA 98862
Location: United States > Washington > Winthrop
Amenities:
Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 10 B&Bs / Inns in Winthrop
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Winthrop Inn 2*
Number of rooms: 30
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Orbitz, Priceline and Travelocity so you can book your Winthrop Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Winthrop Hotel Winthrop

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing