We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Clean, comfortable, GREAT value”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Mt Gardner Inn

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Mt Gardner Inn
Ranked #1 of 8 Hotels in Winthrop
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersSilver level
Sunnyvale, California
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Clean, comfortable, GREAT value”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 12, 2010

We stayed at the Mt. Gardner Inn for one night. The room was great. extremely clean, in great shape. It is clear that the owners have invested in making the rooms cozy.

  • Stayed August 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank E_Z_10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

359 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    307
    45
    5
    1
    1
See reviews for
89
177
21
7
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (90)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Surrey, Canada
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 3, 2010

We booked online for 2 nights stay in room 3 for July 30 & 31 and enjoyed the stay so we asked if we could book another night and we moved into one of the deluxe rooms with a nice deck for watching the sunset. We were treated to Deer 20 feet from us, Osprey soaring overhead and Vultures in a tree down the road. Both rooms we stayed in were very clean and comfortable. We met the owners at check in. Alison was very accommodating with ideas and sites for us to tour around on our Harley. We walked into town for dinner in 10 minutes.The river is across the street with people on tubes drifting by. Just a beautiful little spot that we will be sure to return too. Thank you Alison, Greg and little Keller.

  • Stayed August 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Ocular
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Haslemere, Surrey
Level Contributor
19 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 2, 2010

Stayed for one night in July on an anti-clockwise loop of the North Cascades. I booked directly online via email and found the contact to be prompt and friendly. The price was good at £70. The directions to the Inn were good.

Check in was brief; polite and friendly, but brief, which surprised me after reading many reviews on here about the owner's hospitality - perhaps we weren't served by the owner.

We stayed in room 2 - a standard room and the only one available for our party at the time of booking - which is at the front on the left hand side. You park your car in front of the room and then it's pretty much straight on to the road - may be 25 feet between the window and the passing cars. The room was good - two double beds, small table and two chairs, TV, bathroom with external sink, microwave and coffee maker. Very tastefully decorated - neutral yet attractive. My only slight moan was there was only one small rubbish bin in the bathroom.

My biggest problem was sleeping - the bed was comfortable but maybe I got the bad side of the bed - next to the AC unit and window - I found the blinds didn't quiet keep enough light out for me and the noise of traffic - which seemed to be fairly busy quiet late (particularly the Harleys!) - so close kept me awake. Perhaps some heavy curtains needed to block the light and noise?

The main photo on the website is of the newer block of rooms - the deluxe ones - which are situated well behind the block we stayed in, some distance from the road. My tip - get one of those rooms!

Tripadvisor ratings go from Average (3 dots) to Very Good (4 dots); my stay was better than Average, but not Very Good.

  • Stayed July 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank MaiseyDaisey
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
InncredibleWinthrop, Owner at Mt Gardner Inn, responded to this review, August 10, 2010
This guest stayed in a room that is close to a rural route hwy in a 25 mph speed zone. Only 2 of our 9 rooms- Room 1 & Room 2 are in this location. Most of our guests that stay in these rooms tell us that they slept well as the road is normally very quiet at night (Please see Sweet Inn Close to Town review.) There are some busy July & August weekend nights (as this guest experienced) with heavier traffic, including some Harley Davidsons. The building is well built with extra insulation. These rooms are incredibly well appointed, comfortable and clean for one of the lowest prices in Winthrop ($69 - $99.) They are intended for travelers who want a lovely room for a great value within a 1/2 mile to the quaint downtown. In actuality about 50% of the rooms within Winthrop town limits are within 50 ft of the hwy as this is a very small town. Therefore some traffic noise is to be expected at most of the hotels. We hope future travelers give these rooms a try as they are booked a combined 350 nights a year and this is our first noise complaint. For sensitive guests please try Standard rooms 3 & 4 or any of the deluxe rooms as they are far removed from any road noise. We look forward to your visit! Greg & Alison - Innkeepers
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Richland, Washington
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 23, 2010

This is my Favorite place to stay of anywhere we have been. Gary and I came to town for the Blues Festival. When Gary called for reservations we were remembered. It was so nice. Allison is so sweet, you can see her touches though out the beautiful rooms! This was our 3rd time staying with Allison and Greg but no where near our last. I look SOOOOO forward to next year (if I can wait that long). I Love sitting out on the decks watching the deer come down in the morning and then sometimes even in the evening. I have even seen Wild Tom Turkeys come down behind the hotel to munch on the neighbors apples that drop from the trees. If I ever get a chance to "run away" from home, this is where my family should look for me. So peaceful and Welcoming!!!

  • Stayed July 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Lady01Harley
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WA
Level Contributor
91 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 13, 2010

Was pleasantly surprised with this property. We had tried to book a couple other places, but they had a two-night minimum over the weekend, so we ended up here, even though it was a little more than I wanted to spend. This property is about a half-mile out of town, and almost in a residential area. Still, the view was nice, and it was very quiet.

There are only 8 rooms - four standard rooms in the main building, and four upgraded rooms in a seperate building. The standard rooms allow dogs, which I am very allergic to, so we stayed in an upgraded room. It was very nice. Had a small balcony, efficient air conditioning, a microwave, fridge, coffeemaker, a nice tv and comfy bedding. Room was very clean and well maintained.

The only weird thing is that the next morning when we needed somthing from the front desk. We went down at 8ish, but the sign said they were closed until 9, so we waited until after 9. When we went down around 10, they were still closed, but now had a sign on the door that they went to brunch and to just leave the key in the room upon check out. They did have a phone number we could have called, but it didn't seem worth it for what we needed, so we just left.

Still, it was a comfortable property, and we liked it.

  • Stayed June 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank WA147
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brier, WA
1 review
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 18, 2010

We arrived Friday night and left Saturday morning to go biking with kids and a spa for the wife. The inn is beautifully kept and the owners are very friendly. You can walk to downtown if you don't mind walking on the highway for about a 1/4 mile. We really liked the deli cafe a block away because the great selection and reasonable price ( compared to downtown's overpriced restaurants). There is also pizza, groceries, and a BBQ restaurant within a few blocks the other direction. I assume they are also more reasonable priced than downtown. All things considered: great reviews, reasonable price, cleanliness, and location, i'd come back anytime. We wanted to stay another night, but had many miles to go.

  • Stayed May 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank GrabDavid
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Victoria
Level Contributor
102 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 8, 2010

We had the last room on the main floor with the patio facing the countryside of Winthrop! It was a very pleasant suite for our first night for our weekend getaway in the Cascade Mountains. Great open lay out and decor! Made me feel right at home. My boyfriend found this gem for us and we are going back in July 2010 for the Blues Music Festival!

It was one of the few B&B that didn't have a 2 nights minimum requirement. It was a great impression of Winthrop and its hospitality! Our stay in Winthrop made it a memorable weekend of us!

  • Stayed August 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank TamTamVictoria
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Winthrop hotels
0.2 mi away
Chewuch Inn & Cabins
Chewuch Inn & Cabins
#2 of 8 in Winthrop
5.0 of 5 bubbles 415 reviews
0.5 mi away
Hotel Rio Vista
Hotel Rio Vista
#3 of 8 in Winthrop
4.5 of 5 bubbles 297 reviews
0.4 mi away
AbbyCreek Inn
AbbyCreek Inn
#6 of 8 in Winthrop
4.0 of 5 bubbles 133 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.1 mi away
Methow River Lodge & Cabins
0.1 mi away
The Virginian Resort
The Virginian Resort
#7 of 8 in Winthrop
3.5 of 5 bubbles 75 reviews
3.7 mi away
Sun Mountain Lodge
Sun Mountain Lodge
#4 of 8 in Winthrop
4.5 of 5 bubbles 487 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Mt Gardner Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mt Gardner Inn

Property: Mt Gardner Inn
Address: 611 Hwy 20, Winthrop, WA 98862
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Washington > Winthrop
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 8 Hotels in Winthrop
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Mt Gardner Inn 2.5*
Number of rooms: 11
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located a half mile from downtown Winthrop Washington. Walk to town in the summer and to the cross country skiing trailhead/ice skating rink in the winter. "Clean rooms and comfortable beds at an affordable rate" -Alaska Airlines Magazine ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Priceline and Travelocity so you can book your Mt Gardner Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing