We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Wonderful place - North Cascade Loop must stop” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Mt Gardner Inn

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Mt Gardner Inn
Ranked #1 of 8 Hotels in Winthrop
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersSilver level
Ottawa, Canada
Level Contributor
22 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“Wonderful place - North Cascade Loop must stop”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 5, 2009

Mt Gardner Inn was great. We stayed in the Pheasant room with 2 kids. The room was clean and decor was nice. Alison was helpful for restaurant and next day hike with the kids. Inn is close to the city (1/2 mile) but not downtown. It was a very quiet and pleasant stay. Visit Wintrop and eat at the Arrowleaf bisto...Lamb burger was amazing. The Rocking Horse Bakery serves fabulous coffee and pastries for breakfast. Winthrop is the perfect stop for a rest before completing the North Cascade Loop.

  • Stayed July 2009, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank ACEinCanada
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

359 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    307
    45
    5
    1
    1
See reviews for
89
177
21
7
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (90)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
seattle WA
2 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 23, 2009

Kudos to the Mt Gardner Inn. We had a fantastic 3 night stay in a spacious, clean, and quiet room. Despite the location on the highway, it's really a 2 lane road, it is very quiet and just across the street from the river. The inn-keepers were friendly, helpful and offered great suggestions for day hikes in the area. They graciously welcomed our dogs too. We will stay here again and highly recommend it!

  • Stayed May 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank sharisewell
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bernardsville, NJ
Level Contributor
115 reviews
65 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 78 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 20, 2008

After driving through North Cascades National Park, we ended up in Winthrop for the night. We had made reservations and hoped that the reviews on Tripadvisor and pictures on the website would be accurate. THEY WERE!

We only had the chance to spend one night, and wished we could have stayed longer. The rooms were decorated in a contemporary style. They were extremely warm and clean. The view from our balcony was of the mountains (see picture of my husband- after a run through Winthrop).

The innkeeper was lovely, and there is a great little cafe two or three houses down that served a great and inexpensive breakfast.

The location of the inn from the main part of town is a 10 minute walk to several restaurants. Be careful- coming back after dark there are no street lights. But it was safe- just dark.

  • Disliked — No running trails...have to run on the road
  • Stayed August 2008, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank JerseyGirlSeesWorld
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
plainview,ny.
Level Contributor
34 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 100 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 28, 2008

This hotel is a gem! The view is beautiful and serene.Rooms are spotless.Our room was facing the road,but noise was not a problem.Beds are extremely comfortable.The rooms are very large with new furnishings.Winthrop is an old western themed town-very nice.Three Fingered Jacks Saloon is the place to eat-about a 2 minute ride from the hotel.The owner is a really nice person who aims to please.I would definately stay here again!

  • Liked — Cleanliness and comfort
  • Disliked — Nothing
  • Stayed October 2008, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
Helpful?
Thank beardman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rotherham
Level Contributor
17 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 16, 2008

We stayed 4 nights in the Grouse Room - an upstairs room with balcony in the West Building. The room was spotlessly clean and well appointed with a lovely view of the hills and many deer who were regular visitors to the garden.

The inn is an easy 5 minute walk from Winthrop's shops and restaurants.

On checking in we were met by Alison who was really friendly and made us feel instantly welcome. She gave us a quick rundown on the area and recommended some of the best places to eat and most scenic areas for day hikes.

The Arrowleaf Bistro came highly recommended and we weren't disappointed. Dinner was superb and the food and service were the best we had during our 3 week stay in the USA.

  • Liked — Spotlessly clean and comfortable
  • Stayed August 2008, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank No1Miller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Port Townsend, Washington
Level Contributor
76 reviews
48 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 56 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 10, 2008

Nice value. Comfy bed. Nice linens. Friendly staff. We had a room that faced the road. Road noise was drowned out by the A/C so it wasn't as much of a problem as I had initially feared. Convenient location but not close enough to Winthrop to easily walk there. The reading lights could have been higher wattage. We'd stay again.

  • Liked — Value, room appointments
  • Disliked — gravel parking, dust, low wattage lights
  • Stayed August 2008
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Check in / front desk
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
Helpful?
1 Thank PTRoadie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Spokane, WA
Level Contributor
11 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 17, 2007

We stayed on the upper level of one of the new units and found it to be comfortable and charming, with a good view of the mountains from the shady balcony. People on the ground level also have a good view from their patio. It is well back from the road and very quiet. The owners have put high quality into the construction and decor of the new building. Last year we had a large room in the original building and were pleased with that, as well. Our rooms both times had refrigerator, microwave and coffee maker. However, the large log chairs in our new room were heavy and hard to move. The Mt. Gardner Inn is within easy walking distance of downtown Winthrop but away from the crowds and bustle of this tourist "frontier" town in the beautiful Methow Valley..

  • Liked — beautiful and comfortable
  • Disliked — no problems
  • Stayed August 2007, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Laura Arksey
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Winthrop hotels
0.3 mi away
Chewuch Inn & Cabins
Chewuch Inn & Cabins
#2 of 8 in Winthrop
5.0 of 5 bubbles 413 reviews
0.5 mi away
Hotel Rio Vista
Hotel Rio Vista
#3 of 8 in Winthrop
4.5 of 5 bubbles 297 reviews
0.4 mi away
AbbyCreek Inn
AbbyCreek Inn
#6 of 8 in Winthrop
4.0 of 5 bubbles 131 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
The Virginian Resort
The Virginian Resort
#7 of 8 in Winthrop
3.5 of 5 bubbles 75 reviews
3.7 mi away
Sun Mountain Lodge
Sun Mountain Lodge
#4 of 8 in Winthrop
4.5 of 5 bubbles 485 reviews
0.3 mi away
Winthrop Inn
Winthrop Inn
#1 of 10 in Winthrop
4.0 of 5 bubbles 124 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Mt Gardner Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mt Gardner Inn

Property: Mt Gardner Inn
Address: 611 Hwy 20, Winthrop, WA 98862
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Washington > Winthrop
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 8 Hotels in Winthrop
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Mt Gardner Inn 2.5*
Number of rooms: 11
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located a half mile from downtown Winthrop Washington. Walk to town in the summer and to the cross country skiing trailhead/ice skating rink in the winter. "Clean rooms and comfortable beds at an affordable rate" -Alaska Airlines Magazine ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Priceline, Travelocity and Agoda so you can book your Mt Gardner Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing