We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Place”
Review of Mt Gardner Inn

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Mt Gardner Inn
Ranked #1 of 8 Hotels in Winthrop
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersSilver level
Reviewed October 28, 2008

This hotel is a gem! The view is beautiful and serene.Rooms are spotless.Our room was facing the road,but noise was not a problem.Beds are extremely comfortable.The rooms are very large with new furnishings.Winthrop is an old western themed town-very nice.Three Fingered Jacks Saloon is the place to eat-about a 2 minute ride from the hotel.The owner is a really nice person who aims to please.I would definately stay here again!

  • Stayed: October 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
Thank beardman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (407)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

397 - 403 of 407 reviews

Reviewed September 16, 2008

We stayed 4 nights in the Grouse Room - an upstairs room with balcony in the West Building. The room was spotlessly clean and well appointed with a lovely view of the hills and many deer who were regular visitors to the garden.

The inn is an easy 5 minute walk from Winthrop's shops and restaurants.

On checking in we were met by Alison who was really friendly and made us feel instantly welcome. She gave us a quick rundown on the area and recommended some of the best places to eat and most scenic areas for day hikes.

The Arrowleaf Bistro came highly recommended and we weren't disappointed. Dinner was superb and the food and service were the best we had during our 3 week stay in the USA.

  • Stayed: August 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
1  Thank No1Miller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 10, 2008

Nice value. Comfy bed. Nice linens. Friendly staff. We had a room that faced the road. Road noise was drowned out by the A/C so it wasn't as much of a problem as I had initially feared. Convenient location but not close enough to Winthrop to easily walk there. The reading lights could have been higher wattage. We'd stay again.

  • Stayed: August 2008
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
1  Thank PTRoadie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 17, 2007

We stayed on the upper level of one of the new units and found it to be comfortable and charming, with a good view of the mountains from the shady balcony. People on the ground level also have a good view from their patio. It is well back from the road and very quiet. The owners have put high quality into the construction and decor of the new building. Last year we had a large room in the original building and were pleased with that, as well. Our rooms both times had refrigerator, microwave and coffee maker. However, the large log chairs in our new room were heavy and hard to move. The Mt. Gardner Inn is within easy walking distance of downtown Winthrop but away from the crowds and bustle of this tourist "frontier" town in the beautiful Methow Valley..

  • Stayed: August 2007, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Laura Arksey
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 25, 2006

Arriving at this hotel, just on the edge of Winthrop, after a long first day, it was wonderful to find a note welcoming us to the US attached to the door of our room. Our room in the wooden building was very large and clean. The choice of bedspreads and cushions made it seem really warm and welcoming and it was great to have a sofa as well as table and chairs. A note was left to apologise for any disturbance whilst they are building some new rooms (we stayed here in Sept 2006) but in fact we weren't disturbed at all, it was wonderfully quiet. The free wireless internet was a great bonus. The owner was very friendly and we'd definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed: September 2006
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
1  Thank akhmc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
Port Ludlow, WA
22
Reviewed October 4, 2004

Mt. Gardner Inn is cozy, clean, and very reasonable. Its location is convenient, on the main road within walking distance of town, and parking was right at our door. It's basic, simple, and a nice place in which to stay.

Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 7, 2016
Google Translation

  • Stayed: September 2016, traveled with family
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank PuertoRicoNavas
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Winthrop hotels
0.2 mi away
Chewuch Inn & Cabins
Chewuch Inn & Cabins
#2 of 8 in Winthrop
480 reviews
0.5 mi away
Hotel Rio Vista
Hotel Rio Vista
#3 of 8 in Winthrop
328 reviews
0.4 mi away
AbbyCreek Inn
AbbyCreek Inn
#6 of 8 in Winthrop
164 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Methow River Lodge & Cabins
0.2 mi away
The Virginian Resort
The Virginian Resort
#7 of 8 in Winthrop
92 reviews
3.7 mi away
Sun Mountain Lodge
Sun Mountain Lodge
#4 of 8 in Winthrop
540 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Mt Gardner Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mt Gardner Inn

Address: 611 State Route 20, Winthrop, WA 98862-9004
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Washington > Winthrop
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 8 Hotels in Winthrop
Price Range: $113 - $223 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Mt Gardner Inn 2.5*
Number of rooms: 11
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located a half mile from downtown Winthrop Washington. Walk to town in the summer and to the cross country skiing trailhead/ice skating rink in the winter. "Clean rooms and comfortable beds at an affordable rate" -Alaska Airlines Magazine ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Priceline, Orbitz, Booking.com and Agoda so you can book your Mt Gardner Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing