We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Luxury at a great price - MGI”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Mt Gardner Inn

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Mt Gardner Inn
Ranked #1 of 8 Hotels in Winthrop
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersSilver level
Seattle, Washington
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Luxury at a great price - MGI”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 10, 2014

This is the 4th or 5th year I've spent at the Mount Gardner Inn to kick off my Christmas holiday and cross country ski season. I love the luxury of the rooms; they are cozy with high quality linens and furnishings. I ski a lot and need a peaceful, comfortable place to relax when I'm not skiing. MGI is just the place at a great price.

Greg and Alison go out of their way to take care of me. This year, they had a cancellation and called me right way to let me know I could stay an extra day. Additionally, they made a slight mistake on my bill which I didn't catch. After returning to Seattle, I got an email from Alison informing me of the refund. Very few companies would have the ethics, honesty and kindness refund money they didn't have to especially since no one would have found out if they kept it..

This is just one example of the kindness and graciousness Alison and Greg have shown me in the past 5 years staying at MGI.

Finally, I like the new soap and shampoo in the rooms this year!

Thank you Alison and Greg!

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Maria B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

359 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    307
    45
    5
    1
    1
See reviews for
89
177
21
7
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (90)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Poulsbo, Washington
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 9, 2014

Whenever we are in Winthrop, we make a point of staying at the Mt Gardner Inn. The rooms are beautifully decorated, comfortable and clean. Alison and Greg are wonderful hosts, and give recommendations and information about the area freely. It's location is close to everything. We really enjoy staying at the Inn and will return. Kudos to Alison and Greg for creating such a lovely place to stay in the Methow Valley.

The Richard Family

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Nancy R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Seattle, Washington
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 4, 2014

We visit Winthop periodically for skiing and biking and Mt. Gardner Inn is always our choice for accommodations. Alison and Greg are great hosts, the rooms are very clean and comfortable, and the price is affordable. It feels like home away from home. The Inn is walking distance from the ski trails and downtown Winthop is just across the cool suspension footbridge over the Methow River. If you are looking for a cozy, warm and inviting place to stay, look no further the the Mt. Gardner Inn.

Room Tip: All rooms are cozy and comfortable
See more room tips
Green Features: Greg and Alison have a great family and are tuned in to the environment.
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Ed D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tacoma, Washington
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 21, 2013

Mt Gardner Inn is a peaceful place to relax and take in the surroundings of Winthrop. The walk to town over the foot bridge was enjoyable and only took about 5 minutes. The owners are very friendly and make you feel at home. October was a good time to visit Winthrop since there are less people than in the summer. We had nice weather to cross the North Cascades and the whole experiance was a pleasure.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank arriva92
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Seattle
Level Contributor
15 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 15, 2013

Our annual visit to eastern Washington to take in the autumn colors was a disappointment this year – there were no colors. Seems the nights have not been cool enough. We chose the Mt. Gardner Inn in Winthrop primarily because it would be a new experience in the Old Western town. Our arrival was a delight. We were quite early so a member of the staff helped carry our bags to the second floor room. The "Bird" building is obviously nearly new, which at entry appears attractive. Then the irritations made themselves known. If there is a Mt. Gardner, it sure ain't obvious. The WiFi was intermittent (not unusual in Winthrop). The flat screen TV had no Mute control on the Remote. The parking spaces are unmarked, so after dark parking is uncontrolled. One of the guests succeeded in using two spaces, leaving two for the other three guests. There was no electrical outlet for the coffee maker. It ended up in the bathroom. We didn't try the Microwave. And the new refrigerator had no icemaker. Nor was there ice nearby. My insulin must be on ice. Sorry, Mt. Gardner Inn.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank jix
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
InncredibleWinthrop, Owner at Mt Gardner Inn, responded to this review, October 16, 2013
Thank you for giving us 5 stars for cleanliness and service. As for the other items, we do have marked parking stalls. We have good wifi bandwidth and unless you are trying to stream movies in your room, it works great for checking your email and surfing the internet. We have DirecTV and the remotes can be confusing for some people. We are always available to help and answer questions. We have new energy star microwaves and refrigerators but they do not make ice. We offer complimentary bags of ice in the lobby, as stated clearly in the room. Please note: we are a small family run inn with very affordable rates and we work very hard to meet the needs of our guests. So many of the issues this guest had could have been remedied by a quick visit to the lobby.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
13 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 9, 2013

Winthrop may be a bit sleepy in October, but I had a wonderful, restful night at the Mt. Gardner Inn. Beautiful room, very comfortable. All in all: a very pleasant experience. Would definitely stay again!

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank pemat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BRIER
Level Contributor
19 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 8, 2013

Rode our motorcycle over for Labor-Day weekend to get in some end of summer warmth & sunshine. Winthrop/Twisp did not disappoint us there! Mt. Gardner Inn is easy to find just across the bridge outside of town - less noise, no crowds. The driveway is gravel but we were offered a board for the kickstand if we needed it! Parked in front of our room which had a patio table & chairs making relaxing outside wonderful. Comfy bed, room was immaculate, had everything we needed. Absolutely delightful weekend, friendly, accommodating hosts and there is no question that we will be returning guests!! Book it, you'll love it!

Room Tip: Room faced west on back side - very quiet and had afternoon sun for outside enjoyment.
See more room tips
Green Features: Appreciate their taking the extra time/energy to be an environmentally friendly hotel! We have no issues with reusing our towels or sleeping in the same sheets for a few days!!
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank D L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Winthrop hotels
0.2 mi away
Chewuch Inn & Cabins
Chewuch Inn & Cabins
#2 of 8 in Winthrop
5.0 of 5 bubbles 415 reviews
0.5 mi away
Hotel Rio Vista
Hotel Rio Vista
#3 of 8 in Winthrop
4.5 of 5 bubbles 297 reviews
0.4 mi away
AbbyCreek Inn
AbbyCreek Inn
#6 of 8 in Winthrop
4.0 of 5 bubbles 133 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.1 mi away
Methow River Lodge & Cabins
0.1 mi away
The Virginian Resort
The Virginian Resort
#7 of 8 in Winthrop
3.5 of 5 bubbles 75 reviews
3.7 mi away
Sun Mountain Lodge
Sun Mountain Lodge
#4 of 8 in Winthrop
4.5 of 5 bubbles 487 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Mt Gardner Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mt Gardner Inn

Property: Mt Gardner Inn
Address: 611 Hwy 20, Winthrop, WA 98862
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Washington > Winthrop
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 8 Hotels in Winthrop
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Mt Gardner Inn 2.5*
Number of rooms: 11
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located a half mile from downtown Winthrop Washington. Walk to town in the summer and to the cross country skiing trailhead/ice skating rink in the winter. "Clean rooms and comfortable beds at an affordable rate" -Alaska Airlines Magazine ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Priceline and Orbitz so you can book your Mt Gardner Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing