We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Inn, comfortable, clean and charming.”
Review of Mt Gardner Inn

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Mt Gardner Inn
Ranked #1 of 8 Hotels in Winthrop
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersSilver level
Edmonds, Washington
Level 4 Contributor
42 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“Great Inn, comfortable, clean and charming.”
Reviewed November 4, 2012

We had our first stay in Winthrop and really enjoyed our night in room 2 of this wonderful little inn. If you like to fish, the office doubles as a fly fishing shop. The owner was very nice and gave great suggestions for dinner and an evening out. Our room although next to the highway as we had our pug with us was comfortable, not at all doggy. It was fairly quietly and nicely decorated. Beds were comfy too. I would have given it "excellent" if a smidge closer to town.

Room Tip: Request a room away from the highway.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank CLMac694
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

388 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    335
    46
    5
    1
    1
See reviews for
98
190
24
8
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (99)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Simi Valley, California
Level 6 Contributor
285 reviews
68 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 180 helpful votes
Reviewed October 15, 2012

I read alot of reviews here on Trip Advisor on places to stay in Winthrup and the Mt Gardner Inn seemed to be our choice. When we arrived in the afternoon we checked into the Quail Room and we were pleasantly surprised at how big and nicely decorated the room was. The bathroom was nice and our bed was quite comfy. We had a front door and a back door with a small sitting area to watch the deer on their neighbors property. ( I have never seen so many deer anywhere in our travels as I did in the Winthrup/Twisp area ). We spent two nights in Winthrup and really enjoyed our stay at the Mt Gardner Inn. There is no breakfast included in your stay so going into town in the morning was just a short drive. We did not walk into town at all as we never found the time to, but we could see the new bridge that crossed over the river to get into town.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank JstLv2Crz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Canada
Level 4 Contributor
31 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed October 8, 2012

Gardners Inn was absolutely fine for what one needs on a short term stay - one or two nights.
It was a smallish room, but it very much had everything one needed in terms of peace, quiet, location, cleanliness and personal essentials.
No complaints, but not a "rave" either.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Deb M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Europe
Level 4 Contributor
29 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed October 7, 2012 via mobile

We stayed for three nights, two in the Grouse room in the rear annex and one in the Ptarmigan room at the back of the main building. All the rooms were beautifully decorated but not st the expense of comfort. The beds were amazingly comfortable! We really appreciated the little touches - make-up remover towels, a lovely cuddly bear our son hugged to sleep, seats on the balcony and the shared space on the lawn, all lovely. The wifi was a bit hit and miss but, well, who comes to Winthrop to use the internet?

The only thing I could suggest as an improvement would be to have some basic cutlery and crockery to go with the microwave and fridge.

Overall it was a lovely stay - thanks to Alison and her team.

Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
Helpful?
1 Thank Claireincognito
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Redmond, WA
Level 6 Contributor
141 reviews
38 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 62 helpful votes
Reviewed September 15, 2012

Almost don't want to write about this place because it is such an excellent find. Great view, spacious room, clean and unbelievably comfortable bed. What really sets this place apart is their pet friendly policy and such reasonable prices. Although our therapy dog was not with us, it is nice to have the open option.

They could and probably should raise their prices. Truly, they deserve it. No restaurant on site but a 2 minute walk led us to a great pizza spot across the street. Room was equipped with a good size mini fridge and microwave.

We checked in late on a Friday, worrying about the hour, but our welcome was very nice. Reading the room's guest book was another testament to this remarkable spot.

Definitely coming back and staying here again.

Room Tip: Loved #4 with parking right next to the room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank rootsandshoots
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sammamish
Level 5 Contributor
57 reviews
39 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
Reviewed September 3, 2012

Good - spotless clean rooms, friendly service, nice location
Note - be aware that the town closes early even in summer. Wish they could stay open longer. Lower rooms noisier if upstairs is occupied

Mt, Gardner inn has among the cleanest rooms of any hotels I have visited - even the back patio chairs were dusted. We stayed in the Pheasant room. In addition to the usual amenities, the room had a microwave and mini refrigerator. There is a nice lawn in front with patio chairs. They have barbeque grills for the use of the guests. Though the front desk is not attended all the time, Greg and Alison respond to the bell within minutes. The service is extremely friendly making the travelers feel at home. Allison gave us great hiking trips for the day in close vicinity that made our visit to North Cascades enjoyable. She also shared places where we could get vegetarian fare in Winthrop, Twisp and Mazama - all turned out to be excellent for picky eaters like us. The businesses in the town close by 8pm, except for the Pizza place opposite the Inn and Shari's bakery. As we were late on arrival at Winthrop, Greg even offered to pick up the pizza From E20 pizza and keep it in our room. Many eat out places in Winthrop are within walking distance of Mt. Gardner inn. The town has an Old West architecture and well located between North Cascades and Chelan - check out the information office and also the ranger stations. If you want to workout, Winthrop fitness club is right behind the Inn and open to public. The Inn has truly earned its certificate of excellence. We had thought Winthrop will be just be a stop on our Cascade loop tour. But this Inn and the activities in the surrounding areas makes us want to return.

Room Tip: choose upstairs rooms to minimize noise. The lower room ceilings creak if the upstairs room is occup...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Dhan M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Burnham-On-Sea, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
22 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed August 30, 2012

We stayed at the Mt Gardner Inn for two nights as part of a trip around Washington, travelling from England. We were in the Grouse room which was perfectly clean, beautifully furnished and had a mountain view. It is conveniently located, being a 10 minute walk into town and close to a local grocery store. The town of Winthrop we found to be a pleasant surprise, not knowing what to expect before we turned up. The people were very friendly and the place had a great atmosphere.

At check-in, Alison was wonderful and suggested places to eat, drink and hike. We did the suggested hike (Maple Pass Loop) and it has been the highlight of our trip so far. We also went for a drink at the recommended brewery in town, which again was fantastic.

Overall we found Mt Gardner Inn to be welcoming, clean, comfortable, great value for money, quiet and relaxing. We would love to go back again!

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Amy T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Winthrop
0.5 mi away
Hotel Rio Vista
Hotel Rio Vista
#3 of 8 in Winthrop
317 reviews
0.4 mi away
AbbyCreek Inn
AbbyCreek Inn
#6 of 8 in Winthrop
159 reviews
0.2 mi away
The Virginian Resort
The Virginian Resort
#7 of 8 in Winthrop
82 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.7 mi away
Sun Mountain Lodge
Sun Mountain Lodge
#4 of 8 in Winthrop
521 reviews
0.4 mi away
Winthrop Inn
Winthrop Inn
#2 of 10 in Winthrop
128 reviews
14.8 mi away
Freestone Inn
Freestone Inn
#1 of 3 in Mazama
225 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Mt Gardner Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mt Gardner Inn

Property: Mt Gardner Inn
Address: 611 State Route 20, Winthrop, WA 98862-9004
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Washington > Winthrop
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 8 Hotels in Winthrop
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Mt Gardner Inn 2.5*
Number of rooms: 11
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located a half mile from downtown Winthrop Washington. Walk to town in the summer and to the cross country skiing trailhead/ice skating rink in the winter. "Clean rooms and comfortable beds at an affordable rate" -Alaska Airlines Magazine ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Expedia, Priceline, Orbitz and Agoda so you can book your Mt Gardner Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing