We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely room and great service.”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Mt Gardner Inn

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Mt Gardner Inn
Ranked #1 of 8 Hotels in Winthrop
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersSilver level
seattle
Level Contributor
77 reviews
51 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 74 helpful votes
“Lovely room and great service.”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 23, 2011

Alison was so nice and knowledgeable. Asked her where the ice machine was and she brought my a whole bag of ice to put in the fridge. She also picked up my bag by my car and carried it to my door on the way. The room had lots of nice little touches without being too froo-frooey.The AC was running on high when I got to my room (another nice service from Alison) which was very much appreciated as it was over 90 degrees outside. Winthrop is a 15 minute walk, partly along the river. Too hot that afternoon but made a nice walk the next morning in search of breakfast.

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank travelmarcia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

359 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    307
    45
    5
    1
    1
See reviews for
89
177
21
7
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (90)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Vancouver, Canada
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 5, 2011

This is a great little place to stay for a trip to Winthrop. Clean, quiet, and extremely friendly service. We wish we could have stayed an extra night but they were all booked up. Wewill definitely be back!

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank vchl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kennewick, Washington
Level Contributor
583 reviews
79 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 194 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 26, 2011

We were 4 sisters traveling together. This was a pleasant place, sunny and bright, just outside of town and quiet. The Sunflower Cafe is just next door a bit down the road for breakfast or lunch. Comfortable with pleasant decor. I haven't found Winthrop the world's best place for flashy hotels so this is a good option. There is a nice area you can picnic or barbecue.

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank OutdoorBoomer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
los angeles
Level Contributor
66 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 13, 2011

Absolutely Great Inn! We stayed here on our way from Anacortes and through the North Cascades. Can't beat a place for the location, the price, and the great owners! Plus, there's a fly shop as the lobby . . . Would love to spend some time on the water with these guys.

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank hksjza70
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 12, 2011

We decided to take a spur of the moment trip over the North Cascades Highway with a two night stay in Winthrop. The night before we left, we searched for a hotel that would accommodate our large dog - and while the options in Winthrop were limited, we were pleased to find the Mt. Gardner Inn. From the moment we called to check availability, we knew we found a great place.

Alison, the owner, is very friendly and incredibly knowledgeable on the area. She gave us great tips on where to take our dog swimming (Patterson Lake) and where to go hiking that would be shady (given the 90 degree heat). She made an excellent dinner suggestion (Hwy 20 Pizza) and even let our dog chew on her arm for a bit!

The property, while on a main road, is very peaceful. Each unit (I think there are probably only 12 or so) has it's own tables and chairs to sit at and there's a great big grassy lawn for pets.

Our room was spotlessly clean and surprisingly spacious - and had a decent size fridge and microwave. The only downside was the room was dark with one small window but we were hardly in our room so it didn't matter much to us.

We would highly recommend the Mt. Gardner Inn to our friends and family - both those with pets and those without. It's rare to find an independently owned property with such a friendly and knowledgeable owner. Definitely will be back.

  • Stayed July 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank LisaReeder
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
California
Level Contributor
69 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 12, 2011

Great "b and b" feel at a great price. Staff (owners) were very friendly and try everything they can to please. The beds were amazing! A great place at a very fair price.

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ed2tahoe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Courtenay
Level Contributor
11 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 10, 2011

This Inn was a delight to find in Winthrop. Clean rooms, new comfortable beds and linens, such welcoming hosts and big deck with lovely mountain views. It is just a short walk to town, across the river, and we even had hot air balloons drift by when we awoke (6:30am)

  • Stayed May 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank lynn_ljis
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Winthrop hotels
0.2 mi away
Chewuch Inn & Cabins
Chewuch Inn & Cabins
#2 of 8 in Winthrop
5.0 of 5 bubbles 415 reviews
0.5 mi away
Hotel Rio Vista
Hotel Rio Vista
#3 of 8 in Winthrop
4.5 of 5 bubbles 297 reviews
0.4 mi away
AbbyCreek Inn
AbbyCreek Inn
#6 of 8 in Winthrop
4.0 of 5 bubbles 133 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.1 mi away
Methow River Lodge & Cabins
0.1 mi away
The Virginian Resort
The Virginian Resort
#7 of 8 in Winthrop
3.5 of 5 bubbles 75 reviews
3.7 mi away
Sun Mountain Lodge
Sun Mountain Lodge
#4 of 8 in Winthrop
4.5 of 5 bubbles 487 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Mt Gardner Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mt Gardner Inn

Property: Mt Gardner Inn
Address: 611 Hwy 20, Winthrop, WA 98862
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Washington > Winthrop
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 8 Hotels in Winthrop
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Mt Gardner Inn 2.5*
Number of rooms: 11
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located a half mile from downtown Winthrop Washington. Walk to town in the summer and to the cross country skiing trailhead/ice skating rink in the winter. "Clean rooms and comfortable beds at an affordable rate" -Alaska Airlines Magazine ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, Orbitz and Travelocity so you can book your Mt Gardner Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing