We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Mt Gardner Inn - Very Good”
Review of Mt Gardner Inn

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Mt Gardner Inn
Ranked #1 of 8 Hotels in Winthrop
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersSilver level
West Coast USA
Level Contributor
102 reviews
68 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 214 helpful votes
“Mt Gardner Inn - Very Good”
Reviewed June 29, 2011

Stayed for two nights. Very clean, excellent bed, quite close to DT Winthrop. Room more spacious than typical hotel room. You can walk to DT, about 0.6 mile walk one way. Price imo was high for what, when you boil it down, is a basic motel room experience (with more than avg square feet). Not a bargain. Visiting Winthrop in summer is not cheap, so considered in that context, the price was OK.

Hosts were very good, that said, we did not have a lot of interaction with them. Would not book Room #1 or Room #2 if you are a light sleeper, they are directly on the road. All other rooms are situated away from the road. We were in Room #4, which was a very good room to have.

Toiletries were skimpy, Super 8-ish shampoo and soap. Plentiful towels.

Property well maintained and genuinely pretty. Very nice outdoor seating areas. No other guests had Harleys! Which was a great outcome for us "car people", since Winthrop is known as a destination for midlife crisis age bikers.

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank UrbanManUSA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
InncredibleWinthrop, Owner at Mt Gardner Inn, responded to this review, July 1, 2011
We are happy this guest enjoyed our inn. The room (s)he stayed in is one of our standard rooms which is very competitively priced for Winthrop. Our standard rooms are very clean and comfortable yet basic compared to our deluxe rooms. If you want great value in Winthrop choose a standard room. If you want a new room with a deck and views of the Cascade mountain range, choose a deluxe room. The furniture, fixtures and decor also differ between the two types of rooms. See pictures of the different rooms on our website. We look forward to your next visit!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

372 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    319
    46
    5
    1
    1
See reviews for
92
184
21
8
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (93)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Seattle, Washington
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed June 8, 2011

My family and I stayed in Winthrop over Memorial Day weekend. During a trip to downtown Winthrop I stopped in at the Flyfishers Pro Shop located in the lobby of the Mt. Gardner Inn. Even though he was clearly busy, Greg, took the time to talk to me about fishing in the Methow Valley. His knowledge of the area was impressive and it was clear that he loved the area and his chosen vocation.

I was able to make a solo trip out the Methow the next weekend and I didn't hesitate to book a room at the Mt. Gardner Inn. The room was affordable, tastefully decorated, clean and very comfortable.

But, what sets the Mt. Gardner Inn apart from other hotels in Winthrop are the Inn Keepers, Greg and Alison. They went above and beyond to make my stay memorable and relaxing. It was refreshing to see an inn run by a small family that truly loves what they do!

As a side note, I booked a fly fishing trip through Greg's fly shop and had an absolute blast with Brandon of GlobeTrouters. Brandon grew up fishing the Methow Valley and it was clear that he knows the area and how to catch fish. I saw more large Brown Trout in a few hours with Brandon than I thought possible. I even managed to land some of them. If you are fly fishing in the area I would highly reccomend talking to Greg in the fly shop and booking a guided trip through GlobeTrouters.

Room Tip: use the free room upgrade coupon on trip advisor
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2011, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank TinyBigs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ephrata, Washington
1 review
Reviewed May 22, 2011

I've been to the Methow Valley many times, staying at different types of accommodations or with friends. I always used to see the Mt. Gardiner Inn and thought I would stay there sometime. I had to attend a wedding this past weekend and did not hesitate to book a room after seeing the consistently good reviews the Inn has received. Loved our Pheasant room and the decor. Will definitely stay there again!

  • Stayed May 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank FauxFisher
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Quezon City, Philippines
Level Contributor
12 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed May 17, 2011

My family is vacationing from the Philippines. When I made the arrangements for the Winthrop leg, the choice for accommodation zeroed in on Mt. Gardner Inn because of the consistent great reviews from Trip Advisor and the reasonable price (a big consideration as this trip entailed car rentals, domestic flights, hotels, etc. !). Inquiries through email during the reservation period were answered immediately by the owners, Greg & Allison. That made things a lot easier.
During the actual day of travel, we were unfortunate that Highway 20 was closed midway so we had to turn back and drive through the much longer route (Hway 2/97). What was supposed to be a 3-4 hour drive from Seattle became a 9 hour drive. Our GPS was a contributor to the added delay so we learned not to put our full trust on it. My sister's family first arrived at Mt Gardner at 9pm. Despite the late hour, our needs were attended to promptly. We were given room upgrades and this made up for the tiring drive. The rooms were clean, with comfortable soft beds, and with enough room for a family.
Location-wise, the hotel is walking distance to the town and to the grocery. Were it not for the rain, we could have explored the area more.
Winthrop is great and our experience with it, esp. Mt Gardner Inn, made the long drive worth it.

  • Stayed May 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank daisydesan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BC, Canada
Level Contributor
28 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed March 13, 2011

This place doesn't look like much from the road, but we were very pleasantly surprised. The rooms are lovely, comfortable and a tremendous value. We had no issues with highway noise and the hotel is within easy walking distance of town, restaurants, etc.

  • Stayed January 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank sabc123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bellevue, WA
Level Contributor
41 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed October 20, 2010

We enjoyed a 3-day weekend stay at Mt Gardner Inn this last weekend.
When we arrived, we were informed we had been upgraded to the Ptarmigan Room, as it was our anniversary. A bottle of champagne and a very nice card awaited us in our room. The room was lovely, cozy, and oh so tastefully decorated. And to view the herd of deer grazing in the late afternoon was the "icing on the cake."
Greg and Alison were both so friendly, and knowledgeable about the Winthrop area. They offered wonderful suggestions as to eateries and sights to see while we were there.
We were shocked at how reasonable their rates were. We definitely will stay here next time we visit Winthrop. We can't say enough good things!

  • Stayed October 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank LauraLee54
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Texas
Level Contributor
43 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed September 18, 2010

Good view with deck, in the center of a quiet town. Very simple but yet very comfortable.
Our favorite place we stayed while in WA

  • Stayed September 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank SouthTex
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Winthrop hotels
0.2 mi away
Chewuch Inn & Cabins
Chewuch Inn & Cabins
#2 of 8 in Winthrop
421 reviews
0.5 mi away
Hotel Rio Vista
Hotel Rio Vista
#3 of 8 in Winthrop
301 reviews
0.4 mi away
AbbyCreek Inn
AbbyCreek Inn
#6 of 8 in Winthrop
138 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
Methow River Lodge & Cabins
0.2 mi away
The Virginian Resort
The Virginian Resort
#8 of 8 in Winthrop
78 reviews
3.7 mi away
Sun Mountain Lodge
Sun Mountain Lodge
#4 of 8 in Winthrop
498 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Mt Gardner Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mt Gardner Inn

Property: Mt Gardner Inn
Address: 611 State Route 20, Winthrop, WA 98862-9004
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Washington > Winthrop
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 8 Hotels in Winthrop
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Mt Gardner Inn 2.5*
Number of rooms: 11
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located a half mile from downtown Winthrop Washington. Walk to town in the summer and to the cross country skiing trailhead/ice skating rink in the winter. "Clean rooms and comfortable beds at an affordable rate" -Alaska Airlines Magazine ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Orbitz and Priceline so you can book your Mt Gardner Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing