We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“rock power ballads echoes up from the restaurant from 6:30AM to 11:00PM”

Duck Brand Hotel and Cantina
We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Winthrop
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Duck Brand Hotel and Cantina
Ranked #9 of 10 Winthrop B&B and Inns
Reviewed June 7, 2008

The kicking crescendo of rock power ballads echoes up from the restaurant from 6:30AM to 11:00PM now if your a big fan of Seal or other such 90's classics this is your joint. The duck brand hotel a charming inn in little winthrop wa. Although a semifriendly staff.

As you role into your room you will notice a faint cottage cheese odor and when you go to your "Private Deck" that overlooks get this restaurant tables. It like leaving home but bringing the noisy neighbors with you, but this time the hotel staff is the noise.

The food was all frozen at one time or another the quesadilla was comparable to a less tasty version of a Taco Bell.

Rock on Duck Brand Rock On!

  • Stayed: June 2008
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
2  Thank yourfriend2day
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (39)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

34 - 39 of 39 reviews

Reviewed October 1, 2007

We didn't stay here but we came here to eat. Dinner was so good we came back for breakfast and although it was busy, it was well worth the wait.
Plenty of healthy choices too. But if you believe as I do that calories don't count on vacation then eat here to make the most of those calories! Don't skip dessert either or they are happy to help you take it with you for later.
The drinks are great too.

Stayed: September 2007
Thank TheNWTammy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 20, 2007

It may appear charming ... but we have never been treated so rudely as we were at this hotel/restaurant recently.

The place was not that busy -- perhaps 6 tables and 2 wait staff. We placed a drink order and received just one of the drinks. After waiting an entire hour for our lunch, with nothing but one basket of chips, I noticed that all the tables around us (including some who had been seated afterwards) had already been served. This despite the fact that we had ordered nothing complicated (quesadilla, salad, burger, BLT).

The quesadilla eventually appeared, about an hour after we placed the order. I asked for a Diet Coke. It arrived in the same glass that had been used for my iced coffee. Finally, about 75 minutes after we arrived, the rest of our order came -- including the 2 milks we had ordered for the kids when we sat down. No apologies for the delay -- rather, abrupt service, and only after we asked about whether our food was coming soon.

When we got the check, I asked whether there had been some problem in the kitchen that caused the delay. I asked politely if the manager was available. The server asked "why?" in a challenging way. I mentioned that often when there are service issues, restaurants will comp some part of the bill. Her response? An angry "Why don't we just comp the whole thing!" accompanied by a slap of my credit card down on the table, followed by her storming off.

Obviously, I cannot complain about the cost of this meal. But the service was so unbelievably poor, were this not one of the only joints in town, it surely would have long ago gone out of business. It most certainly was not the way I wanted to spend my birthday lunch.

Go instead to the BBQ down by the riverwalk mall. The folks there are exceedingly nice. And the food is good and well-priced.

Stayed: June 2007
1  Thank WA_travel_mom
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 15, 2007

I worked at the Duck Brand when I was a teenager in 1988 but haven't lived in Winthrop since. My children and I camp in the Methow every summer and honestly, the Duck Brand is the highlight of our trip every year. Love the deck seating with the little stream running underneath. We have personable, efficient, hard working servers every time. The food is wonderful, always generous portions. They do get very very busy so a wait is to be anticipated. But that not due to negligence, just high demand! And, oh my! Its worth it. The Duck Brand isn't just a restaurant. Its a cultural experience!

Stayed: August 2005
Thank gadaboutmom
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 13, 2004

We stayed at the Duck Brand in May 2003.What a CUTE place! The rooms are unique but basic. We had a balcony so we could overlook the "strip". They allow pets, which was handy for us. The resturant is tasty and offers big-city styled food in a coffehouse atmosphere. Winthrop is a great town for a weekend get away with beautiful scenery and small town charm.

5  Thank Luvroosters2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 18, 2016 via mobile
Google Translation

Stayed: April 2016
Thank Jazmiin A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Winthrop hotels
0.1 mi away
Hotel Rio Vista
Hotel Rio Vista
#3 of 8 in Winthrop
328 reviews
0.6 mi away
Mt Gardner Inn
Mt Gardner Inn
#1 of 8 in Winthrop
407 reviews
0.4 mi away
Chewuch Inn & Cabins
Chewuch Inn & Cabins
#2 of 8 in Winthrop
480 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.0 mi away
AbbyCreek Inn
AbbyCreek Inn
#6 of 8 in Winthrop
164 reviews
0.8 mi away
The Virginian Resort
The Virginian Resort
#7 of 8 in Winthrop
92 reviews
0.4 mi away
Methow River Lodge & Cabins
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Duck Brand Hotel and Cantina? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Duck Brand Hotel and Cantina

Address: 248 Riverside Ave, Winthrop, WA 98862-9811
Location: United States > Washington > Winthrop
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #9 of 10 B&Bs / Inns in Winthrop
Price Range: $85 - $120 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 5

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing