We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wonderful Experience”
Review of Wolf Ridge Resort

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Winthrop
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Wolf Ridge Resort
Ranked #7 of 8 Hotels in Winthrop
berkeley ca
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Wonderful Experience”
Reviewed July 17, 2008

We booked a night's lodging at WRR on spec, based on this site's reviews. One second after entering our lodging, we were trying to think of ways we could stay longer (alas, we couldn't so so.) We were upgraded several levels, but that alone isn't why we were so pleased with our stay there. It's close enough to Winthrop for meals and such but is by the river (very short walk) and deeply enough embedded in nature to be a lovely retreat setting. We didn't use the pool or hot tub as we ended up in a cabin with a jacuzzi. The cabin's kitchen surpassed sufficiency for cooking dinner. We sat on the upper story deck and listened to the river and rustling leaves. We were graced with a calico cat who thinks that cabin is her home. Both one of the owners and her daughter were gracious and hospitable. After one night we felt like we'd had several days' break. My husband hasn't slept that many consecutive hours in a very long time! We'll be back.
BTW - the gravel road portion off the secondary road isn't that long, and wasn't any problem for our rental car. It's a driveway!

  • Stayed July 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
Helpful?
5 Thank vanberk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

27 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    11
    10
    0
    1
    5
See reviews for
10
8
Solo
0
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (8)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Seattle, Washington
Level Contributor
471 reviews
347 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 561 helpful votes
Reviewed June 16, 2008

This is a casual you-do-the-housekeeping resort with log-cabin buildings and furniture.

We booked a deluxe studio and were upgraded to a delightful one-bedroom unit which had a complete kitchen, a large living area, a bedroom, and a big front porch with a tranquil view of a birch wood forest.

We didn't use the facilities, but they include a swimming pool and a soaking tub, and spacious grounds.

We have stayed at most of the places in Winthrop, and, for the money, this place, located about five miles from downtown Winthrop, is the hands-down winner.

Stayed June 2008
Helpful?
3 Thank wonderfulworld
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vancouver, WA
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed November 26, 2007

Wolf Ridge Resort is a very special place, and the perfect getaway. The website photos of the property are all lovely, and I found that the property is much bigger and the accommodations much more spacious than I had even imagined from the photos. The property is unique in that it offers both tranquility, yet a perfect setup for large groups or events. There are many areas for easy walks and incredible opportunities for observing wildlife. I don't want to ruin any surprises by listing the various wildlife I spotted, but one of my favorite things was to just sit on the porch and watch all these wonderful creatures. The hosts are very friendly and warm, and they have a wealth of information for anyone new to the area or in need of ideas. In today's world, there aren't many places left like Wolf Ridge Resort. The unspoiled beauty will tempt you back time and time again. I can't wait for my next visit.

  • Liked — Very comfortable lodging, pristine natural beauty
  • Stayed August 2007, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank Ladyrodger
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fontana, California
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed November 18, 2007

I visisted Wolf Ridge resort just this year...and let me tell you it was awesome. The views were magnificent! Wolfridge is surrounded by beauty. The cabins were and are breathtaking. All the furniture is handmade and beautiful. The owners of the property are wonderful and they take pride in their property....we arrived at night and were taken to our cabin. We stayed in the Howlin Wolf cabin. This is a beautiful Cabin and great for big families or a couple of families. It has a full kitchen and a loft and a bedroom.
The views are great and the river is just behind the cabin. The town of Winthrop is great but for a short drive Twisp is just around the corner.
I went with some friends and we were able to utilize the firepit that is available. There is a rec room with a pool table...but why would you want to play pool when you have all these other outdoor things to do??
I took a couple of short walks and loved every minute of it. If you love nature and the mountains and relaxing and a one of a kind experience then I highly recommend this place. If your looking to just be holed up in your room and just play pool then go somewhere else.

Great Place.

  • Liked — The rooms and the amount of open space available to go hiking or even play a pickup game of football or volleyball.
  • Disliked — Nothing really
  • Stayed August 2007, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank renb23
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
The NW
Level Contributor
97 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 79 helpful votes
Reviewed October 1, 2007

For the same price I could've gotten a very nice hotel in town with full channel cable TV, a hot tub that actually worked, a shower head that wasn't so clogged it could barely spit out water at me, the ability to get to my room without needing a 4 wheel drive with good suspension, and service.

We got lost trying to find our cabin because they couldn't give us a map. We were treated the same as the next fellah on this review. We were given keys and that's about it. They didn't bother to explain to us that the hot tub doesn't get hot and you don't want to feel how cold the pool was. It really wasn't that close to town either.

Sun Mtn. Lodge wasn't too far further up the mountain and doesn't cost much more than this WolfeRidge so I say, spend a few extra bucks and go to the Sun Mtn. Lodge to see how a 'Resort' really works, or go to the Best Western or the Winthrop Inn to get real service and your money's worth.

  • Liked — Pine furnishings
  • Disliked — No TV or decent shower
  • Stayed September 2007, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
3 Thank TheNWTammy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
Reviewed June 22, 2004

We have stayed at WolfRidge a multitude of times, and each time we are awe-struck at the natural beauty of the setting and the cabins. The outdoor covered hot tub and nearby swimming pool is worth the stay alone, along with the views of the Cascade high country. Add to that, you're right along the scenic Methow River with trails leading into forests teeming with wildlife. Deer, grouse, wild turkeys, beaver and Canadian geese seem to pop up everywhere.
It's also nice to escape the rat race and noise of the Seattle area, and experience real peace and quiet. It's always a profound healing experience.
We feel our time and money were well spent by staying at this fine resort.
Other places in the valley advertise natural beauty, WolfRidge Resort delivers!

  • Stayed June 2004
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
14 Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
Reviewed April 26, 2004

We have stayed at Wolf Ridge over the past
5 years. The location is convient. The accommodations are above average. We rent one of the large lodge type units. The square footage
is hugh comparied to other motels/hotels in the area. Our unit had one seperate bedroom with
king size bed and large bathroom adjacent.
A full kitchen and dining/living room space.
A bar-b-q is provided on the front pourch/deck.
The grounds are covered with flower and tree
plantings and beautiful green turf. There is
a great swiming pool and hot tub. There is a game room also, billards, etc. There are
swings for kids and adults who are kids at heart.
It's a quiet location away from the crowds of Winthrop. We have never been disappointed.

Helpful?
16 Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Winthrop hotels
4.5 mi away
Chewuch Inn & Cabins
Chewuch Inn & Cabins
#2 of 8 in Winthrop
421 reviews
5.0 mi away
AbbyCreek Inn
AbbyCreek Inn
#6 of 8 in Winthrop
138 reviews
0.0 mi away
Methow River Lodge & Cabins
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.8 mi away
The Virginian Resort
The Virginian Resort
#8 of 8 in Winthrop
78 reviews
4.7 mi away
Mt Gardner Inn
Mt Gardner Inn
#1 of 8 in Winthrop
372 reviews
4.3 mi away
Hotel Rio Vista
Hotel Rio Vista
#3 of 8 in Winthrop
301 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Wolf Ridge Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Wolf Ridge Resort

Property: Wolf Ridge Resort
Address: 412B Wolf Creek Rd, Winthrop, WA 98862-9711
Location: United States > Washington > Winthrop
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #7 of 8 Hotels in Winthrop
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Our serene riverside setting on 60 beautiful acres offers a peaceful natural environment for complete relaxation, inspiration, and headquarters for exciting recreation. Hiking, mountain biking, cross country skiing, river rafting, fishing and artistic pursuits can also be enjoyed right out your door amidst awe inspiring scenery. In winter, the Methow Valley is well known for its sunshine and powder snow, providing the best cross country skiing, alpine skiing and winter sports to be found anywhere. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Wolf Ridge Hotel Winthrop

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing