We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Perfect Spot”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
The Virginian Resort
Ranked #7 of 8 Hotels in Winthrop
Reviewed August 14, 2010

Staff very friendly and accommodating.
Dark sky to see stars and meteor showers'
Even had a fire pit going.

  • Stayed: August 2010, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank elhide
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (94)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

76 - 82 of 94 reviews

Reviewed May 31, 2010

We were looking for a clean, casual, reasonably-priced, place to stay and the Virginian Resort did not disappoint. When we arrived with our friends and their dog, we were immediately greeted with coffee by the friendly property manager. Our log-cabin style room was basic but very clean. If we hadn't known it was a "pet-friendly" room we never would have guessed. Our room faced the river and we had a picnic table outside that provided a great place for us to grill, enjoy a glass of wine, and play cards after a day of hiking.

For anyone looking for a high-end hotel experiencee or lodging with all the modern conveniences this is probably the wrong place to stay. The atmosphere is a lot like spending the weekend at the family cabin on the lake.

The plusses of the Virginian include: Friendly and helpful staff, clean rooms, reasonable price, nice river view, convenient to downtown Winthrop, grocery store next door, continental breakfast included, family and pet friendly.

The minuses are: Somewhat thin walls (the guests staying above us were quiet so it wasn't a problem, but with the wrong neighbors I could see this being an issue).

  • Stayed: May 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank C0pita
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 1, 2009

We didn't have reservations anywhere on our North Cascades road trip, but since we were traveling with our dog, we narrowed our choices to the Virginian Inn and America's Best Value. Deciding not to go with the chain motel, we were pleased with our choice of the Virginian Inn. Deluxe? not by a long shot. Rustic? Absolutely. Could it use a bit of TLC on the landscape and grounds? Yes. But it doesn't pretend to be anything else. Our room was clean, the linens were clean, it didn't stink, and the bed was quite comfortable. The owners were quite nice as well. It did remind us of our childhood vacations, which is a good thing. Although the Inn is right on the road, the cabins and rooms are either on the river or face in to a grassy area. For $90 including taxes and a pet fee, we feel like we got our money's worth.

  • Stayed: August 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank grollett
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 6, 2009

Got a room for under $80. best deal in the valley.
Comfortable bed, everything worked, if you need matching siverware, GO TO A RESTAURANT!
If you need a bed and a bath, at a very reasonable rate, this is the place to go!

  • Stayed: June 2009, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank oldnumber9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 19, 2009

These cabins look fun and northwesty from the road, but don't get suckered. The bed is lumpy, the linens are rough and uncomfortable, the chairs are patio furniture, very uncomfortable. Our screen door wouldn't open and had fallen off the track. The sink in the bathroom was held in by screws screwed in straight through the sink. Worst of all, the shower head was mounted at 5' high. When you've been out playing in the mountains all day, what do you want? A good bed and a good shower. The Virginian has neither of these and nothing else to make up for it.

While you are in the area, though, don't miss the brewpub in Twisp.

Stayed: May 2009, traveled as a couple
Thank lostleaf
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 15, 2008

We stayed here in 2006, It was old but was clean and looked like an effort was made to be a respectable place. 2008 very different experience, pool area was filthy utensils in kitchenette rusty. The bathrooms look like an after thought addition. Thought I would just live with it and treat it as a learning experience to never go back. Turns out my credit card was charged twice when I contacted Sunspots resorts who operate this place I was told they are working on it. I was not satisfied with my stay here and this has compounded my un-happiness. Winthrop and the Methow area are great Do not stay here and ruin your experience.

  • Stayed: August 2008, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Thank greatwhitenorth27
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 15, 2008

No Sheets, No toilet paper - we had to raid the supply cupboard - left open - as there was no staff at the resort!!!

Dirty, smelled as if it had not been rented in months.

The Staircase was falling down

The smoke alarm beeped all night, as there were no batteries in it.

The air conditioner fell into the room in the night, leaving a big hole

No staff anywhere - when I phoned later, after many voicemail messages, the worker told me that he was sick and tired of being yelled at, he simply could not make all of the beds by himself! Hello - why do you even bother to rent out the rooms then?

Have been dealing with the Better Business Bureau to lodge a formal complaint

  • Stayed: August 2008, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank emily32
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Winthrop hotels
0.4 mi away
Methow River Lodge & Cabins
0.2 mi away
AbbyCreek Inn
AbbyCreek Inn
#6 of 8 in Winthrop
166 reviews
0.4 mi away
Chewuch Inn & Cabins
Chewuch Inn & Cabins
#2 of 8 in Winthrop
485 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Mt Gardner Inn
Mt Gardner Inn
#1 of 8 in Winthrop
417 reviews
0.7 mi away
Hotel Rio Vista
Hotel Rio Vista
#3 of 8 in Winthrop
331 reviews
3.8 mi away
Sun Mountain Lodge
Sun Mountain Lodge
#4 of 8 in Winthrop
551 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Virginian Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Virginian Resort

Address: 808 State Route 20, Winthrop, WA 98862-9002
Location: United States > Washington > Winthrop
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #7 of 8 Hotels in Winthrop
Price Range: $75 - $87 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — The Virginian Resort 2.5*
Number of rooms: 37
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Under new management since 2009. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Expedia, Travelocity, Hotels.com and Hotwire so you can book your The Virginian Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Virginian Hotel Winthrop
Virginian Hotel Winthrop

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing