We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great place for the price! Pet friendly”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
The Virginian Resort
Ranked #7 of 8 Hotels in Winthrop
Issaquah, Washington
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Great place for the price! Pet friendly”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 31, 2013

We booked our trip at the last minute. We wanted to stay at the koa but they were completely booked, but they are right down the street so it was easy to just drive over and hang with our friends there. We needed a place that we could include our family member that just happens to have fur. They are one of the only places in Winthrop that takes dogs. When i called the office to book they were very nice and had a cabin available. And had the forthought to bring our aerobed, good move when you have 4 or more, the big bed is pretty little, so it was great to have another option.
We had a wonderful time. The cabins were great and had a lawn in front to throw the ball around with the kids. For $85 a night, it was clean and quiet and had breakfast. Can't go wrong. People that complain about this hotel need to just pay more and stay at the sun mountain lodge(NICE BUT EXPENSIVE) it delivered what wepaid for. I will come back. Love Winthrop.

Room Tip: Choose the cabins. They are the best option.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Liz V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

75 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    10
    31
    16
    11
    7
See reviews for
20
30
4
3
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (21)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Helix
Level Contributor
94 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 27, 2012

When we go to Winthrop, we always had issues finding a decent hotel that allowed pets. We used Central Reservations and drew The Virginian. For $69 a night, you can get a clean, no frills room that includes a continental breakfast. The staff were friendly. Be prepared though if you are in the downstairs rooms, you WILL hear creaks, cracks, and noises from upstairs. I'd advise getting a cabin if you're a light sleeper. (I'm not and slept fine!). A nice stay.

Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank Rebecca M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
White Rock, Canada
Level Contributor
32 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 15, 2012

We staying in one of the little cabins, which was cute, cozy and perfect for what we needed. The bathroom was a little small, but doable.

The staff was friendly and helpful.

Breakfast was good.

I really like the western town feel of the place and prices were reasonable. .

Oh, no pool!!

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank peggymch
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Seattle
Level Contributor
63 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 14, 2012

I stayed two nights at the Virginian hotel in August 2012. The reservation process through CentralReservations was simple and efficient. When I arrived at the hotel, the customer service person seemed annoyed and wasn't friendly but also not rude. She was just abrupt.

The room itself was a double queen room. The room was larger than I expected but the rugs, furniture, etc. all showed its age. The curtains didn't block out the sun which is very bright during this time of the year. The TV had a decent selection of channels but no guide to the channels and which ones worked (lots of channels on directtv but most channels they didn't purchase so were useless). Air conditioner was a welcome appliance.

The problem was the sound insulation. You can hear everything going on in the rooms around you. Also, the service desk. Personnel aren't available 24 hours a day. For a fly fisherman, this is a problem. They advertise a continental breakfast but they didn't advertise that no one shows up until 8am. By that time, I am out on the river. Also, to check out, there is no one there until 8. For an early riser, I had to delay plans to check out earlier.

In the end, I didn't feel it was worth the price compared to other places in town. It's up for sale though so maybe things will improve in the future.

Room Tip: Get a room on the river side.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank PeteMSeattle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Winthrop hotels

4.5 of 5 bubbles
Show Prices
4 of 5 bubbles
Show Prices
4.5 of 5 bubbles
Show Prices
4.5 of 5 bubbles
Show Prices
Talent, Oregon
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 7, 2012

we stayed here with 3 adults and 1 child. The rooms were small, but comfortable. The beds were a lil small, but comfortable and clean. But I was impressed with their continental breakfast. There was more selection than you would find at a motel. The staff was friendly, and it is located in a good area. I would recommend the Virginian if you are on a budget, you cant find any cheaper. thank you for the stay!

Room Tip: we choose the cabin and it literally was the smallest room they had. I would recommend spending a li...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Tyler F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Seattle, Washington
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 15, 2012

Stayed in cabin and found it acceptable. Floor didn't feel real clean but bedding and counters were clean. Bedding very acceptable though bed room not too large. Bathroom is a bit small as well and not advisable for anyone overweight.

Room Tip: Cabins were a good choice.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Mikey-N-Seattle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bethel, Maine
Level Contributor
12 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 25, 2012

Dog barked in adjacent room for 1 hr. Walls & ceilings allow everything to be heard..

Room Tip: Try one of their stand alone cabins it might be quieter???
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank carjar95
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Winthrop hotels
0.2 mi away
AbbyCreek Inn
AbbyCreek Inn
#6 of 8 in Winthrop
4.0 of 5 bubbles 133 reviews
0.3 mi away
Chewuch Inn & Cabins
Chewuch Inn & Cabins
#2 of 8 in Winthrop
5.0 of 5 bubbles 413 reviews
0.1 mi away
Mt Gardner Inn
Mt Gardner Inn
#1 of 8 in Winthrop
5.0 of 5 bubbles 359 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
Hotel Rio Vista
Hotel Rio Vista
#3 of 8 in Winthrop
4.5 of 5 bubbles 297 reviews
1.0 mi away
Methow River Lodge & Cabins
0.2 mi away
Winthrop Inn
Winthrop Inn
#2 of 10 in Winthrop
4.0 of 5 bubbles 124 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Virginian Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Virginian Resort

Property: The Virginian Resort
Address: 808 State Route 20, Winthrop, WA 98862-9002
Location: United States > Washington > Winthrop
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #7 of 8 Hotels in Winthrop
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — The Virginian Resort 2.5*
Number of rooms: 37
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Under new management since 2009. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotwire and Hotels.com so you can book your The Virginian Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Virginian Hotel Winthrop
Virginian Hotel Winthrop

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing