We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Relax by the River”
Review of Hotel Rio Vista

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Hotel Rio Vista
Ranked #3 of 8 Hotels in Winthrop
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersBronze level
Reviewed August 2, 2014

We stayed here for one night and loved the place. Walking distance to the entire town and right next to a wonderful bakery. The room was clean, comfortable and nicely decorated with modern country decor. Listening to the river at night was a great bonus.

  • Stayed: July 2014, traveled with family
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Christi A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (321)
There are newer reviews for Hotel Rio Vista
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

179 - 185 of 321 reviews

Reviewed July 30, 2014 via mobile

I stayed at this river front hotel for 1 night while passing through Winthrop. Location is just steps to the funky cowboy town. Hotel is spotless & the views over the river were so perfect. They ha ve a lovely sitting area right on the river bank. Beautiful & serene.

  • Stayed: July 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Andrew H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 27, 2014

The hotel doesn't look too inviting as you ride up, just a windowless wood building with some "old West", but don't be fooled. All the action is outback, where every room (I think) has a balcony overlooking a really nice river. Rooms are large, clean, well equipped. The hotel is well located a block or so from downtown Winthrop, which has restaurants, coffee shops, some stores.

Room Tip: Just ask for a river view.
  • Stayed: June 2014, traveled with friends
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Rwbloch
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 25, 2014

We stayed here on a Friday night.

We had to wait for the clerk to finish a phone call before checking in. We were early and they quickly checked us into a clean room. We had a nice view of the river. There was a doe with her newborn fawn on a small island in the river outside our balcony.

Room was clean and this is a nice place to stay in the hear of downtown Winthrop.

  • Stayed: June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank western u
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 24, 2014

We were staying one night on a very hot day and the AC worked in the early evening but stopped around 9 pm. Finally opened up the sliding door and the sound of the river put us to sleep. Very clean and beautiful view.

  • Stayed: July 2014, traveled solo
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank WaynesonWheels
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 23, 2014

First time staying in Winthrop. It was a hastily planned business trip and did not have a lot of options but very happy we ended up at the Rio. Arrived late in the evening and the front desk was very helpful and accommodating. The room was very clean and comfortable. Only regret is not being able to stay longer. Will definitely be at the top of our list of places to stay next time we are in town.

Easy access to town and the bakery next door is great.

Room Tip: Bottom floor rooms are quiet and cool.
  • Stayed: July 2014, traveled on business
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Dawg_501
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 18, 2014

Hotel Rio Vista is a well-run, attractive hotel at the confluence of the Methow and Chewuch Rivers. Every room has a nice patio and a view of the river. None face the street. We completely enjoyed our stay and hope to return.

We arrived in Winthrop shortly after the power went out due to a large wildfire to the southeast. The entire town was out, with potentially several days without power ahead. The staff performed wonderfully. The hotel was booked up, but prepared with flashlights for everyone. They went door-to-door and distributed free ice cream to all the guests before it melted. By the time we left, we'd already decided to come back and hope the power was off again. Ok, the power situation wasn't totally perfect. We couldn't make coffee in the morning, and the shower was cold without electricity. But we wouldn't trade the quiet and the time sitting on our patio just enjoying the river for anything.

Despite the power outage, we could see a lot of great things about the hotel. It's spotless! The rooms are attractive and have a local feel to them. Not cookie cutter and really comfortable. Even though it's right on Winthrop's main drag, we didn't notice any traffic noise coming from our patio. They also have chairs down closer to the river, and they have a hot tub. It's a family-run hotel, and we could tell they take great pride in their business.

Each of the four people in our group said we'd like to return, maybe when Winthrop is open for business. Nice hotel. Fantastic setting. A Memorable Stay.

Room Tip: I was told that rooms on the ground floor are about 5 degrees cooler in summer. Good idea, because i...
  • Stayed: July 2014, traveled with family
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank GoingEverywhere
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Winthrop hotels
0.5 mi away
Mt Gardner Inn
Mt Gardner Inn
#1 of 8 in Winthrop
396 reviews
0.4 mi away
Chewuch Inn & Cabins
Chewuch Inn & Cabins
#2 of 8 in Winthrop
473 reviews
0.9 mi away
AbbyCreek Inn
AbbyCreek Inn
#6 of 8 in Winthrop
161 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Methow River Lodge & Cabins
0.7 mi away
The Virginian Resort
The Virginian Resort
#7 of 8 in Winthrop
90 reviews
3.4 mi away
Sun Mountain Lodge
Sun Mountain Lodge
#4 of 8 in Winthrop
528 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Rio Vista? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Rio Vista

Address: 285 Riverside Ave, PO Box 815, Winthrop, WA 98862-9811
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Washington > Winthrop
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 8 Hotels in Winthrop
Price Range: $122 - $176 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Hotel Rio Vista 2*
Number of rooms: 29
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Just steps away from the western saloons and aromatic bakeries of downtown Winthrop, the Hotel Rio Vista's rustic facade blends seamlessly with the town's old-time western atmosphere. Overlooking the confluence of the Chewuch and Methow rivers, the hotel features guest rooms that offer private balconies, hand-crafted wood furniture, and works by local artists. A flat-screen HD television and free wireless internet access keep guests connected, while an outdoor picnic area and riverside hot tub offer the chance to unplug within earshot of the mellifluous sounds of nature and the soaring wings of Eagles and Osprey. For winter adventurers, the hotel is just across the pedestrian bridge from the ice rink and start of the Methow Valley's immaculately groomed ski and fat biking trails. The hotel features a Bike and Ski Wax room just for such outdoor activities. All of the Hotel Rio Vista's rooms include free high speed WIFI, DirecTV HD, private riverside decks, coffee bar with Seattle's Best coffee, mini-fridge, hair dryer, A/C, and microwaves. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Priceline, Agoda, Hotwire and Cheap Tickets so you can book your Hotel Rio Vista reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Rio Vista Hotel
Rio Vista Winthrop

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing