We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Sounds of the river”
Review of Hotel Rio Vista

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Hotel Rio Vista
Ranked #3 of 8 Hotels in Winthrop
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersBronze level
Medicine Hat, Canada
Level 2 Contributor
9 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
“Sounds of the river”
Reviewed July 2, 2014

Got into town at the end of an 800 km+ day on the motorcycle and was lucky enough to snag the last room. All the rooms look out on the river. Very comfortable bed, nice set up, private balcony, great shower. Front desk person (sorry, I'm terrible with names) got me a bucket of water (to go with the already supplied rags) to wash a days accumulation of bugs off my windshield. She also gave excellent recommendations for supper that night (Old Red Schoolhouse) and breakfast the next morning (Three Fingered Jack's). Very motorcycle friendly. I opened the window and had the best sleep of my trip to the sounds of the river. Will return with my wife for a couple of days next year

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank LOFTer1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

314 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    185
    104
    21
    2
    2
See reviews for
56
156
22
8
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (95)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
New York City, New York
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed July 1, 2014

As pretty much everyone else has written, the Hotel Rio Vista is very clean and comfortable, has wonderful views literally right on the river, and is very convenient to all the restaurants/shops in the small town of Winthrop. What I really appreciate is the reasonable price and the owners' efforts to make their hotel as nice as can be. My usual experience with hotels that are, well, in the middle of nowhere is that the owners charge way too much and don't try very hard because they know you don't have much choice and you probably won't be back. Instead, the Hotel Rio Vista has terrific focus on the details, like having good quality, soft sheets and furniture that is handmade by local artisans. My family highly recommends this as the place to stop when you're driving the Cascade Mountain Highway.

Stayed June 2014, traveled with family
Helpful?
1 Thank NY100
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Harlingen, Texas
Level 5 Contributor
52 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed July 1, 2014

In town for a family wedding and chose this hotel for it's closeness to the events. I was concerned about noise being so close to the road. This was a very quiet hotel, great beds and listening to the river while sleeping and relaxing was wonderful. Parking lot is small but we were always able to find a place to park. We stayed on the second floor but if you have trouble with stairs I would request a road level room. We look forward to staying here on our next visit to the Winthrop area.

Room Tip: If you have trouble with stairs, do not chose river level or the second level. You want to be at th...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank cathychev
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Victoria, Canada
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed June 30, 2014

We had the pleasure, yet again, of staying at this comfy hotel but this time we introduced family as well. We were given adjoining lower floor rooms with the balconies practically over the river, which is quietly bubbling in the back. It's such a treat watching the river flow by! The location is very close to all the action in town (love the Old Schoolhouse Brewery!).

The owners have put out cleaning rags and solution that is especially welcomed by us motorcyclists. The hot tub was a welcome relief for tired muscles as well. It has to be one of the best places in town - certainly my first choice.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank kchummel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Doncaster, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
85 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 55 helpful votes
Reviewed June 28, 2014

Winthrop was a small cowboy town around a cross road (fourway) with covered wooden boardwalks and wooden shops etc. The Rio Vista was no exception. The front, onto the roadside, was all wood with car parking in front. The rooms were on 3 levels in a line along the bank of the Methow River.
You access the en-suite rooms from an outdoor stair and landing. All the rooms have views and balconies over the river. Our room was on the top floor and the balcony had a couple of chairs and a small table. It was nice to be able to sit out and watch the birds and widlife around the river. There were always ducks on the river and small birds everywhere. We saw a deer on the far bank one night and watched a bald eagle being mobbed by crows for 10 mins before it got fed up and flew away. There were comfy seats provided on the riverbank to be able to be sit even closer to the river.
The room was spotless and had all the usual facilities, tea/coffee making, air con, plus a microwave & fridge. It was also really nice to be able to leave a window open (with a mesh screen closed against any bugs) and to fall asleep to the sound of the river rushing by.
The only minor downside was the lack of restaurant facilities at the hotel but there were plenty of other establishments close by where all types of breakfast lunch and dinner could be had.

Room Tip: All rooms had balconies and river views, middle and top floor balconies were a little more private.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Sedgtrav1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tucson, Arizona
Level 5 Contributor
63 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
Reviewed June 27, 2014

I've been visiting Winthrop for years and have stayed in several different places and for my money the Hotel Rio Vista is the best bet for a 1 or 2 night stay. You're right on the river (confluence of Chewuch & Methow) and also in the heart of town. Stroll down to 3 Fingered Jacks for a good meal, have an ice cream cone at Sherri's and window shop along the board sidewalks. The hotel is quiet, very clean and nicely furnished. You have satellite tv on a hd flat screen and a clean, good functioning public jacuzzi. There's also a sitting area at the river bank. My guest host was Trudy who is professionally efficient and skilled in customer service. The rates are very reasonable for the locale. You'd be hard pressed to find anything to be disappointed about if you stayed at the Hotel Rio Vista. Across the street is the walk up to the pioneer museum: a must see when visiting Winthop.

Room Tip: I prefer the top floor
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Robert U
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Blenheim, New Zealand
Level 5 Contributor
64 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
Reviewed June 6, 2014 via mobile

The is little in the world more uplifting than a motorcycle run over the North Cascades in warm spring weather and brilliant sunshine. When the trip ends are the Rio Vista Hotel in Winthrop the experience is even better. Arriving at the hotel we found that the new owners had added some excellent upgrades. New beds with premium bedding and new flat screen TV's were a nice addition to the rooms while the prices appeared unchanged at $134 for a main floor room, twin sharing. Every room overlooks the Methow river. We like to arrive a bit early in the day, pick up some local beer down the street at the gas station/convenience store, and spend a couple of hours sitting on our rooms balcony watching the river, enjoying the birds and generally enjoying the experience. The Rio Vista is well located on the edge of the central of town and another couple of hours can be spent poking into the shops and enjoying the ambience of an authentic western town complete with board sidewalks. There are numerous places to eat from down home to upscale within walking distance. We particularly enjoy the Mexican style restaurant down the street. When all is done for the day it's great going to sleep listening to the sounds of the Methow river while you drift off. Parking is ample, excellent and close to the rooms. The internet is excellent wit a 1.89 Mbps download speed on my speed test. Another five star experience on a historic highway.

Stayed June 2014, traveled with friends
Helpful?
Thank maac05
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
plp_squared, Owner at Hotel Rio Vista, responded to this review, June 6, 2014
Thank you for your review! We are glad that you enjoyed your stay and appreciate your thoughtfulness and hope to see you again soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Winthrop hotels
0.4 mi away
Chewuch Inn & Cabins
Chewuch Inn & Cabins
#2 of 8 in Winthrop
444 reviews
0.5 mi away
Mt Gardner Inn
Mt Gardner Inn
#1 of 8 in Winthrop
381 reviews
0.9 mi away
AbbyCreek Inn
AbbyCreek Inn
#6 of 8 in Winthrop
147 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
The Virginian Resort
The Virginian Resort
#7 of 8 in Winthrop
81 reviews
3.4 mi away
Sun Mountain Lodge
Sun Mountain Lodge
#4 of 8 in Winthrop
512 reviews
0.9 mi away
Winthrop Inn
Winthrop Inn
#2 of 10 in Winthrop
126 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Rio Vista? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Rio Vista

Property: Hotel Rio Vista
Address: 285 Riverside Ave, PO Box 815, Winthrop, WA 98862-9811
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Washington > Winthrop
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 8 Hotels in Winthrop
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2 star — Hotel Rio Vista 2*
Number of rooms: 29
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Just steps away from the western saloons and aromatic bakeries of downtown Winthrop, the Hotel Rio Vista's rustic facade blends seamlessly with the town's old-time western atmosphere. Overlooking the confluence of the Chewuch and Methow rivers, the hotel features guest rooms that offer private balconies, hand-crafted wood furniture, and works by local artists. A flat-screen HD television and free wireless internet access keep guests connected, while an outdoor picnic area and riverside hot tub offer the chance to unplug within earshot of the mellifluous sounds of nature and the soaring wings of Eagles and Osprey. For winter adventurers, the hotel is just across the pedestrian bridge from the ice rink and start of the Methow Valley's immaculately groomed ski and fat biking trails. The hotel features a Bike and Ski Wax room just for such outdoor activities. All of the Hotel Rio Vista's rooms include free high speed WIFI, DirecTV HD, private riverside decks, coffee bar with Seattle's Best coffee, mini-fridge, hair dryer, A/C, and microwaves. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Priceline, Hotwire and getaroom.com so you can book your Hotel Rio Vista reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Rio Vista Hotel
Rio Vista Winthrop

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing