We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A gem, hidden in the wilds!”
Review of Hotel Rio Vista

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Hotel Rio Vista
Ranked #3 of 8 Hotels in Winthrop
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersBronze level
Reviewed June 24, 2013

Rio Vista has a beautiful view with a river right off your patio. The rooms are spacious with HD televisions, comfortable with clean beds and so far, very quiet. You can fall asleep to the sound of the river outside your door after a walk down the street to a picturesque little town with great restaurants. Should you read the one bad review from Carl Z, ignore it as it has to be sour grapes as Rio Vista is truly a gem! Remember where you are, out in the mountains in the Northwest. We look forward to returning here soon, loved it! Make reservations early as they book up fast. Thanks for the great memory Rio Vista.....we will be back!

  • Stayed: June 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jeri D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (331)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

250 - 256 of 331 reviews

Reviewed June 18, 2013

This hotel was so great, can't wait to go back. I had never been to Winthrop and stopped for lunch on my way from Spokane to Birch Bay WA. Fell in love with the town & wished we had more time to stay & shop, so we decided to extend our trip back to Spokane and stay the night on the way back. We lucked into an opening at Hotel Rio Vista & couldn't be more pleased. Wonderful staff, rooms were clean, and the best thing is that each room has a view of 2 rivers converging right outside the back sliding glass door. We kept our slider open all night just to be able to hear the rivers rushing by. Best night sleep in a long time! Right at the edge of town, so perfect location to make the little shopping loop and end up back at the cozy hotel. And...if you're a biker, they provide special towels for cleaning your bike and they even have a maintenance room for bike repairs and/or ski waxing. I was here with my Mom and can't wait to come back with my husband for a bike ride. (No Pool or Fitness Center but it wouldn't let me unselect, so I scored as excellent so as not to diffuse the excellent rating.) There is a hot tub, but we did not use this. Oh.....forgot to mention - it's so cute, right down by the river there is a flat ledge where they have chairs and little cocktail tables set up so you can go down right by the river with a book and a cocktail & enjoy the evening (Bring bug spray if you want to do that.) Oh....and the other things is that not only are the rooms non-smoking, but they ask that you not smoke on your deck so that others don't have to have their pristine river view ruined by other's smoke. They allow smoking on the front steps and request that you be sure to keep your door closed so it doesn't suck in smoke smell. Keeps the place so clean and fresh!

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank MKCrump
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
plp_squared, Owner at Hotel Rio Vista, responded to this reviewResponded June 22, 2013

Thank you for the feedback! We are glad you stopped in on your way to Birch Bay, and look forward to seeing you again.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 16, 2013

I'm writing this review from the balcony of room 27, enjoying the sound of the river and the beautiful view. Stopped here on a whim while driving the Cascade Loop, and we're so glad we did. Room is spotlessly clean, well appointed, with a firmly comfortable bed and nice linens, nice new television, and cute western touches. But the best part is the private balcony overlooking the river. Slept with the door open (thanks to a screen door!) and listened to the river all night. Friendly staff, perfect location just steps from "downtown".

We chose an upstairs room, which was very, very quiet. Not sure if there is an elevator; those with lots of luggage or mobility issues may prefer one on the main floor. There are stairs down to a private riverside area and a hot tub with a river view as well. No breakfast, but the Rocking Horse Bakery is just up the street (the breakfast sandwich on the biscuit is amazing).

We are already planning our return visit -- we can't wait to come back to Winthrop and the Rio Vista.

Stayed: June 2013, traveled as a couple
1  Thank running_otter
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
plp_squared, Owner at Hotel Rio Vista, responded to this reviewResponded June 22, 2013

Thank you for your review! We look forward to seeing you during your next visit.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 12, 2013

Hotel Rio Vista was very nice, clean, friendly/accomadating staff, right on the river. sound of the river to sleep to was very relaxing. Beautiful view and close to everything. We would definetly go back.

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank sedro62
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 10, 2013

We chose this hotel on a friends advice. This hotel as well as the city is a walk back into time. All suites have the most amazing view as the balconys look out onto the river. Very nice room. Clean and comfortable. Very close to all restaurants and iquaint stores. Will definitely go back.

Room Tip: We stayed in a king suite. Only way to go.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank mroddick55
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 8, 2013

We chose this Hotel because of its location in town and close to a lovely restaurant. We were pleasantly surprised when we opened the room door to find a clean comfortable space with a lovely view of the river which runs behind. Don't let the roadside facade detour you, we have been traveling for two weeks and this was our best pick.

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Nancy R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 30, 2013

Hotel Rio Vista is a great place to get away from it all. It's location in Winthrop is perfect, the restaurants and shops are all within walking distance, and the hotel has private balconies overlooking the river. I ventured down to the riverside picnic area and immersed myself in my favorite book as I watched the sun go down. I also relaxed in the hot tub both nights I was there. It was the most peaceful and relaxing get-away I have had in a long time.

  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank GingerP84
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Winthrop hotels
0.4 mi away
Chewuch Inn & Cabins
Chewuch Inn & Cabins
#2 of 8 in Winthrop
481 reviews
0.3 mi away
Methow River Lodge & Cabins
0.5 mi away
Mt Gardner Inn
Mt Gardner Inn
#1 of 8 in Winthrop
412 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.9 mi away
AbbyCreek Inn
AbbyCreek Inn
#6 of 8 in Winthrop
165 reviews
0.7 mi away
The Virginian Resort
The Virginian Resort
#7 of 8 in Winthrop
92 reviews
3.4 mi away
Sun Mountain Lodge
Sun Mountain Lodge
#4 of 8 in Winthrop
549 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Rio Vista? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Rio Vista

Address: 285 Riverside Ave, PO Box 815, Winthrop, WA 98862-9811
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Washington > Winthrop
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 8 Hotels in Winthrop
Price Range: $109 - $202 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Hotel Rio Vista 2*
Number of rooms: 29
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Just steps away from the western saloons and aromatic bakeries of downtown Winthrop, the Hotel Rio Vista's rustic facade blends seamlessly with the town's old-time western atmosphere. Overlooking the confluence of the Chewuch and Methow rivers, the hotel features guest rooms that offer private balconies, hand-crafted wood furniture, and works by local artists. A flat-screen HD television and free wireless internet access keep guests connected, while an outdoor picnic area and riverside hot tub offer the chance to unplug within earshot of the mellifluous sounds of nature and the soaring wings of Eagles and Osprey. For winter adventurers, the hotel is just across the pedestrian bridge from the ice rink and start of the Methow Valley's immaculately groomed ski and fat biking trails. The hotel features a Bike and Ski Wax room just for such outdoor activities. All of the Hotel Rio Vista's rooms include free high speed WIFI, DirecTV HD, private riverside decks, coffee bar with Seattle's Best coffee, mini-fridge, hair dryer, A/C, and microwaves. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline, Booking.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, Expedia, Hotels.com, Hotwire and Cheap Tickets so you can book your Hotel Rio Vista reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Rio Vista Hotel
Rio Vista Winthrop

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing