We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“My new favorite place”
Review of Methow Valley

Ranked #1 of 20 things to do in Winthrop
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Washington's premier cross-country ski area.
Washougal, Washington
Level 5 Contributor
52 reviews
10 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“My new favorite place”
Reviewed August 25, 2013

I am a life long Washingtonian and had never been to the Methow Valley until late June / early July. We went at the perfect time, the valley was still green and late spring flowers were still in bloom. So very picturesque. There is so much to do here, and there is something for everyone. I mountain bike and the trail systems are fantastic. I hope to come back to do x-country skiing in the winter some time. Between Winthrop and Twisp there is great food, beer and coffee. You can tell it has grown and come into it's own in recent years. I also really like the mix of people that come here and live there - it adds to the experience.

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Jon H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

147 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    124
    21
    1
    1
    0
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Mount Vernon, Washington
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
“Surrounded by beauty”
Reviewed August 20, 2013

Highway 20 to Winthrop (when open) is a beautiful drive...and the Methow valley is simply gorgeous. There are so many things to do and see - especially around Winthrop.

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
Thank pkvanvoorst
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 5 Contributor
69 reviews
12 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
“Beautiful and peaceful”
Reviewed July 30, 2013

We're staying in a rented house in Mazama, along Fawn Creek. It is a beautiful and peaceful setting. I like this place because of the quiet, the pines, the birdwatching. And there are things to do in nearby Winthrop and Twisp--not to mention the views a few miles west as you get into the Cascades. Washington Pass is not to be missed...or Diablo Lake. Stunning views. Lots of places to hike--from easy to more strenuous. And then there is the lovely Methow River. Wonderful, all of it.

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
Thank Rubystar59
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Seattle, Washington
Level 6 Contributor
210 reviews
36 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 74 helpful votes
“Tourists,Ranchers, Hippies, Artists & Uber Athletes”
Reviewed June 26, 2013

What a great mix of wholesome humanity. Biker crowds (Harley, Sport touring, etc mix with Road cyclists and Mtn Bikers int eh summer. XC skiers and snowmobilers share the valley in the winter. And through it all, are the locals. Ranchers, contractors, artists, shopkeepers and those famous uber athletes.

A wonderful mix with fun shops, great restuarants and taverns and a great bakery too.

Visited June 2013
Helpful?
Thank darkswede218
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ketchikan
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Our 12th stay”
Reviewed June 18, 2013

The Methow offers great trails to hike - and beautiful wildflowers. The only thing I don't like is that I am getting older!

Visited June 2013
Helpful?
Thank SMacKenzie41
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Methow Valley also viewed

 

Been to Methow Valley? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing