We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“St. Valentine's Day Getaway”
Review of River Run Inn

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
River Run Inn
Ranked #2 of 11 Winthrop B&B and Inns
Missoula, Montana
Level Contributor
102 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 174 helpful votes
“St. Valentine's Day Getaway”
Reviewed February 26, 2007

We chose the River Run Inn because they accomodate dogs, but we ended up enjoying our stay for many reasons. There were deer galore, plenty of deep snow for snowshoeing, and the sound of the river to relax to. Our room had a refrigerator and microwave, which saved us some money as we bought some food at the local Red Apple and skipped a few restaurant meals.

The hot tub is tiny but still nice, and the pool actually has a deep end- both are indoors. The staff/proprietors were pleasant to deal with, even when we had a complaint from the finicky people staying below us (our dogs were chewing their bones too loudly- whatever).

The grounds and surrounding area are nice for walking dogs, and there is a great little winery located just down the lane. We tasted and bought some very nice wine there.

  • Liked — accept dogs
  • Stayed February 2007, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank DDawnC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

109 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    63
    35
    7
    2
    2
See reviews for
31
51
3
3
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (29)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Appleton, WI
Level Contributor
39 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
Reviewed November 23, 2006

We spent two nights at the River Run Inn this September. It exceeded my expectations for price, quiet location, scenery, amenities (including Seattle's Best coffee) and overall comfort. You are supplied with a simple well thought out kitchenette that has everything you need to cook nice meals and enjoy them overlooking the river. There is a good supermarket with deli just outside of town where you can buy whatever you need at reasonable prices. Families can save a ton that way. Our large room was super c lean, modern and tastefully decorated with rustic furniture. There is an indoor pool and hot tub. Excellent hiking is available nearby. I would definitely go back to River Run.

  • Liked — Location, amenities, scenery, price
  • Disliked — Liked everything
  • Tips/Secrets — Buy your food at the local supermarket and prepare it in your room with a beautiful view.
  • Stayed September 2006, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank ValueSeeker2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Seattle, Washington
Level Contributor
471 reviews
347 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 561 helpful votes
Reviewed July 20, 2006

We had a very large room on the 2nd floor (no elevator) with a deck and a great view of trees and the river.

The room had a reasonably comfortable king bed, a dining table, a sofa, a refrigerator, a coffee maker, a microwave oven, and a bathroom with a window.

This is a great place to which we will return, despite a few problems.

First, we couldn't use the deck because of a mosquito infestation. There may be other insects taking bites too. I was bit by something that caused by cheek to swell.

Second, there are no blackout curtains at the huge window. As a result, we were awakened at 5:00 a.m. by the sun, and we were left tired for the day.

Third, when we checked in, I asked about the location of the ice machine. I was told that they do not have one, but--not to worry--River Run is located only one-half mile from town.

Stayed June 2006
Helpful?
Thank wonderfulworld
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
Reviewed September 13, 2004

We discovered the River Run Inn by accident and are glad we did. The rooms looked very nice and inviting but we rented a cabin so the neighbors wouldn't have to listen to our littlest one scream for her bottle at 3:00 a.m. Our two year old loved that he could go out and play on the lawn or splash in the pool with Dad. We loved the quiet, the scenery, the hammock at river's edge, and the sound of the river at night.

The mini-kitchen when coupled with the outdoor barbecue was adequate for our needs for four nights.

We've stayed at several other places in Winthrop including Sun Mountain Lodge. All are very enjoyable but for our family and our budget, we'll be staying at River Run Inn in the future.

P.S.

The staff folks are as warm and genuine as you'll find anywhere.

Helpful?
6 Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
Reviewed May 20, 2004

The Winthrop area is our favorite get away destination and River Run Inn gives us the best representation of the Methow Valley. The rooms are large enough and decorated appropriately for the area. The grounds and proximity to the Methow River are very enjoyable. A short walk to town (half a mile) in the country atmosphere is a treat. We stay at the River Run when it is just the two of us or with several (up to 6) grandchildren.
Recent expansion has made the Inn even more enjoyable.

Helpful?
9 Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
redmond wa
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed June 21, 2003

It had been a long, difficult trip. We'd headed to eastern Washington to see the Grand Coulee Dam, but mostly we saw crummy cabins and awful restaurants. On the way home, we headed to Winthrop to show one of our guest a great little town in the North Cascades.
We travel with an elderly Pug dog, and his two back surgeries mean we care about him a lot. When we arrived in Winthrop, we headed to a nice looking place in town and asked for a room. "No Pets!" Things looked bleak -- but then they said the River Run Inn might be able to help us.
Tucked away down a bumply little country lane, the place is a vision in the trees. Light, airy rooms front on the rushing river, and there's a hammock for you to rest in just up the bank or tables to picnic at.
The rooms are the best treat -- large, comfortable, furnished in a definite "non-chain" manner, we loved every minute of it. Boomer (the Pug) enjoyed the grassy slope just outside the sliding glass door of our first-floor room.
We enjoyed the pool and hot tub, the quiet, and the great positive folks who handled our every need.
We're going back in July.

Helpful?
23 Thank scappoosedick
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Winthrop hotels
0.9 mi away
Chewuch Inn & Cabins
Chewuch Inn & Cabins
#1 of 7 in Winthrop
5.0 of 5 bubbles 417 reviews
0.7 mi away
Hotel Rio Vista
Hotel Rio Vista
#2 of 7 in Winthrop
4.5 of 5 bubbles 297 reviews
1.4 mi away
AbbyCreek Inn
AbbyCreek Inn
#5 of 7 in Winthrop
4.0 of 5 bubbles 133 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.5 mi away
Methow River Lodge & Cabins
1.2 mi away
The Virginian Resort
The Virginian Resort
#6 of 7 in Winthrop
3.5 of 5 bubbles 76 reviews
2.7 mi away
Sun Mountain Lodge
Sun Mountain Lodge
#3 of 7 in Winthrop
4.5 of 5 bubbles 492 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to River Run Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about River Run Inn

Property: River Run Inn
Address: 27 Rader Rd, Winthrop, WA 98862-9741
Location: United States > Washington > Winthrop
Amenities:
Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 11 B&Bs / Inns in Winthrop
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — River Run Inn 3*
Number of rooms: 15
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Agoda and Priceline so you can book your River Run Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
River Run Hotel Winthrop

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing