We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great, but..”
Review of River Run Inn

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
River Run Inn
Ranked #1 of 10 Winthrop B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed July 26, 2008

The cabin was great, the location is fantastic, but the office staff was un-professional and it took a very long time to check in (The desk clerk was sleeping on a couch in the lobby when we arrived). We were charged more than the quoted rate (which they finally fixed). We stayed for 3 nights and did not have any housekeeping service. The recreational equipment for rent was not available yet this year (July 24). There was seldom anyone in the office to get information from or help with issues. I probably would not stay here again because of the poor customer service. Too bad, it is a great get away destination.

  • Stayed: July 2008, traveled with family
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
3  Thank Crayh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
valleygrl, General Manager at River Run Inn, responded to this reviewResponded September 12, 2010

Sleeping on the job is unprofessional indeed. How embarrassing! That was probably our beloved and now retired resort owner having a senior moment. We only provide daily housekeeping service to guests staying in our rooms. Guests staying in the cabins receive housekeeping service by request (no additional fee). Because we are a small inn, our front desk staff often helps with housekeeping, laundry and yard work but you can always reach us (24 hours a day) by using the paging phone just outside the office.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (122)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

109 - 115 of 122 reviews

Reviewed January 14, 2008

Please, please, please do not stay here. I see from the other reviews that everyone has stayed in the cabins or rooms. We stayed in the house over the Christmas 2007 holiday. The way the house is advertised and photographed is very misleading. The bedrooms do not have queen beds. They are doubles. The bathrooms are actually converted closets and are so small that only one person can fit in it at once. The only bathroom with a normal size shower was "out of order" when we arrived. We were told not to use it until they could find a plumber. The house itself is connected to the owners house (there is actually a door inside the bathroom down stairs that leads directly into her house) and it is also directly connected to the swimming pool making it very noisy. We had other guests who were using the pool try to walk into our kitchen looking for a bathroom. The hot tub that is advertised takes 20 minutes to heat up, is part of the swimming pool and can only really hold one adult at a time. The dining table that is supposed to seat 12 has only 8 chairs and enough room for 8. The table is in the living room and the living room itself is soooo small that there is only space for more than 6 people to sit. The house itself is old, dirty and has these strange, open vents that you can look through from the living room to the upstairs hall and bedrooms. If you want to stay in Winthrop, I suggest renting a cabin at Sun Mountain Lodge. Their cabins are larger, cleaner, cheaper, and come with maid service.

  • Stayed: December 2007, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank kirklander5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
valleygrl, General Manager at River Run Inn, responded to this reviewResponded September 12, 2010

We are so sorry that this family was not happy with their stay at River Run Inn. As they said, they stayed in our vacation home rental over Christmas. Unfortunately there was a plumbing problem with one of the four showers in the house. As it was Christmas and we are located in a remote rural area, we were unable to get a plumber in immediately. We understand that it can be disappointing when your vacation is not perfect and we sincerely apologize.

In response to this family's other complaints: our vacation home rental is extremely popular. Most of our customers have standing reservations and return year after year. The house has six bedrooms, all with queen or twin beds, 4.5 bathrooms, two of which are indeed small and were converted from closets, a living/dining room with a large sofa, two comfy chairs, a gas heat stove, television, DVD player and a large dining table set up to seat eight. The table can be extended with the provided leaves and folding chairs to seat 12. The living room has a wall of windows/glass doors that open to a covered porch and the Methow River. The fully equipped kitchen does indeed open directly to our indoor pool area. For many, the pool is their favorite feature! The hot tub is small but fits 4 adults comfortably and because it is attached to the pool, it must be turned on prior to use.

We want our guests to be happy, comfortable and enjoy their vacations. We would never knowingly mislead our customers and we are happy to provide accurate information, photos and references to any potential guests. Our vacation home is an older building but it is always immaculately clean and well kept and has been updated frequently to be in keeping with the quality of the rest of our resort.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 29, 2007

My wife and I took a drive over the cascade highway and stayed for two days at the River Run Inn. The staff was friendly the room was good size and very clean with a nice kithenette, but most remarkable was the wonderful location. With the door open to the balcony, you can hear the wonderful sound of the river running by. I would highly recommend this place, my only regret is that I didn't stay longer.

  • Stayed: September 2007, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Sides
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 12, 2007

My husband and I had been on a 3000 mile drive from Iowa to Washington (OK - not a direct drive) and on the road 10 days when we hit the River Run Inn. We had room 14 the first night and the second room 17, both upstairs. One had a kitchenette and queen bed, and one only a fridge and microwave and king bed and both were large with sitting space and a small table. What we loved was the balcony, where you could sit and watch the deer in the moring and evenings. The last morning we watched 10 deer ford the river with the fawns, it was beautiful. The views from the balcony are amazing, bring a bottle of wine and you won't need anything else to do. But if you want, you can float the river in an intertube for $17 from the front lawn and get returned to your room.

The room was clean, large and comfortable, and we looked at the 6 bedroom house and it would be great for a reunion. The staff was great and helped us move straight from one room to another.

This was the most relaxing place we stayed on our trip. We will be back.

    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
3  Thank JanfromIowa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 8, 2007

We stayed in one of their single cabins (one queen bed, one full size futon, one single futon). This cabin had a small furnished kitchen, a/c, propane heat, and charcoal bbq with patio furniture to dine outdoors or dining table indoors. TV in the one bedroom and TV in the living area.

There are three hammocks and a couple picnic tables to relax on along the river. Also tubing down the Methow River is available for an additional cost. We ventured down the river with our 8 and 4 year olds. Dave picked us up down the road after our adventure. This is a perfect tubing experience for a family with young children. Nothing risky, just clean fun. Takes about one hour.

The swimming pool and hot tub are small, but still very enjoyable. A foosball table is also in the pool room along with several pool toys.

The staff was very friendly and helpful. This place is only a 10 minute walk from the heart of Winthrop and right on the river. Very beautiful grounds.

  • Stayed: August 2007, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
2  Thank TonyaP
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 26, 2007

We chose the River Run Inn because they accomodate dogs, but we ended up enjoying our stay for many reasons. There were deer galore, plenty of deep snow for snowshoeing, and the sound of the river to relax to. Our room had a refrigerator and microwave, which saved us some money as we bought some food at the local Red Apple and skipped a few restaurant meals.

The hot tub is tiny but still nice, and the pool actually has a deep end- both are indoors. The staff/proprietors were pleasant to deal with, even when we had a complaint from the finicky people staying below us (our dogs were chewing their bones too loudly- whatever).

The grounds and surrounding area are nice for walking dogs, and there is a great little winery located just down the lane. We tasted and bought some very nice wine there.

  • Stayed: February 2007, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank DDawnC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 23, 2006

We spent two nights at the River Run Inn this September. It exceeded my expectations for price, quiet location, scenery, amenities (including Seattle's Best coffee) and overall comfort. You are supplied with a simple well thought out kitchenette that has everything you need to cook nice meals and enjoy them overlooking the river. There is a good supermarket with deli just outside of town where you can buy whatever you need at reasonable prices. Families can save a ton that way. Our large room was super c lean, modern and tastefully decorated with rustic furniture. There is an indoor pool and hot tub. Excellent hiking is available nearby. I would definitely go back to River Run.

  • Stayed: September 2006, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank ValueSeeker2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Winthrop hotels
0.9 mi away
Chewuch Inn & Cabins
Chewuch Inn & Cabins
#2 of 8 in Winthrop
485 reviews
1 mi away
Methow River Lodge & Cabins
1.1 mi away
Mt Gardner Inn
Mt Gardner Inn
#1 of 8 in Winthrop
416 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.4 mi away
AbbyCreek Inn
AbbyCreek Inn
#6 of 8 in Winthrop
165 reviews
0.7 mi away
Hotel Rio Vista
Hotel Rio Vista
#3 of 8 in Winthrop
331 reviews
1.3 mi away
The Virginian Resort
The Virginian Resort
#7 of 8 in Winthrop
94 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to River Run Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about River Run Inn

Address: 27 Rader Rd, Winthrop, WA 98862-9741
Location: United States > Washington > Winthrop
Amenities:
Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 10 B&Bs / Inns in Winthrop
Price Range: $104 - $170 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — River Run Inn 3*
Number of rooms: 15
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline and Agoda so you can book your River Run Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
River Run Hotel Winthrop

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing