We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Comfortable place in Winthrop”
Review of River Run Inn

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
River Run Inn
Ranked #1 of 10 Winthrop B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed December 16, 2012

We spent a weekend with friends and family in the part of the inn called the Guest House. As their website describes, this unit has 6 bedrooms and 4 and half baths. 2 of the rooms have 2 twins and the rest have queen beds. There were 8 in our party and there was plenty of space. It was a slow weekend, and we were almost the only people there. The Guest House is one doorway away from the pool, which is great if you are the only ones there. Not sure what it would be like if the rest of the resort were occupied. Kitchen was well stocked, for the number of people who could fit in there, including condiments for cooking, coffee, sugar, hot chocolate, and 2 coffee makers. We liked the gas fireplace that kept the whole place warm. Other notable amenities include a wide screen HD TV with Dish network, and adequate free wifi. Some might find the mattresses too firm, we liked them. Some of the bathrooms are the size of a telephone booth. From the living room is a great view of the river. Very peaceful. It's not the Ritz, but it's definitely a comfortable place to stay.

  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank TanMD
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (122)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

76 - 82 of 122 reviews

Reviewed November 30, 2012

My husband and I went the weekend after Thanksgiving and the town of Winthrop is awesome. The people are nice and the restaurants are awesome. The Inn Lodge rooms have kitchenettes with microwaves and a small refrigerator for some drinks. Not big enough to cook a meal or anything, but plenty big enough for snacks and easy breakfast. They have electric skillets and yummy coffee.. The beds are comfy, except the futon is not. They have nice bathrooms, and beautiful views, DVD Players and small flat screens in the rooms. Winthrop is close to the Inn so you can walk and there is a trail along the river not far from the Inn. Beautiful. We will come again and bring friends to stay in the cabins.

Room Tip: Upstairs would be better if your knees can do it. There was a little boy upstairs that liked to run...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Carolyn W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 1, 2012

Nice grounds, clean rooms and arguably the best town in Washington. For those going to the Methow Valley, I would recommend this location. The rooms are roomy and clean. They have free bicycles to use. They are on the cold swift flowing Methow River.

I recommend leaving your car at the inn and taking the short nature trail to town.

Pros: Read above and let me summarize, great choice for staying in Winthrop/Methow Valley.

Cons (not a big deal): The hot tub takes about 20 minutes to heat up and I would prefer the pool hours to be a little longer. If I remember correctly, the pool closes at 10PM. From the downstairs rooms one can hear walking above. If you want some white noise, the bathroom fans are on a timer and can't be left on all night. These are minor cons and I highly recommend this place and just wanted potential clients to be aware of these issues in case they matter to you. Enjoy your stay.

  • Stayed: May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank western u
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 24, 2012

We stayed in one of the cabins and were really impressed for the most part. Very clean, well stocked kitchen, for those who want to cook! The down side was we forgot our pillows and the ones in the cabin really, really need to be replaced. The carpet was pretty dirty and I am thankful I didn't have to sleep on the futon.Some of the furniture is looking tired as I'm sure this cabin has had many many bookings. The pool was inviting but was quite dirty from so much use. Just time to refresh.

Warm, inviting, friendly helpful staff. Lovely setting by the river and just the right distance to walk to town. This was our first visit to the Methow Valley and loved it. Lots of talented artisans and shops to poke around in. We do wish however that we were told that they were moving into winter hours as the only good place to eat didn't open until Wed the day we left - make sure you check out shop hours.

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank 894murman3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 21, 2012

We overnighted at the Inn in a ground floor suite which was large and bright with a Queen bed and a separate futon, kitchenette with microwave, crockery and utensils etc and a table and chairs. Unfortunately, there was no electric jug for tea making and no ordinary black tea bags, only infusions. The staff member at reception did find the only three black tea bags on the property!
The kitchen tap was also almost impossible to work. The walls are obviously a little thin as noises from adjacent rooms were easily heard.
The property has several sleeping options as well as recreational activities and is well situated close to the river.
Breakfast is not supplied so the rate is quite pricey by the time breakfast costs have been added on. When we rang up to see if a room was available we were quoted a rate $30 higher than the Internet rate. When we pointed this out the Internet rate was promptly accepted.
With a few little improvements this Inn could be a pretty good, if slightly expensive, option for travellers.

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank David C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 20, 2012

River Run offers a range of comfortable accommodations from clean rooms to suites, log cabins and houses. It is very pet-friendly, which is hard to find in the Methow Valloey, and relatively affordable for this prime, year-round tourist destination, particularly in the bridge seasons. Most important for us, it offers a tranquil riverside haven,within walking distance of town, but away from the hordes of tourists thronging Winthrop's main street in seach of an "authentic" Western town experience. We try to reserve one of the 4 log cabins, which are very spacious for 2 people and a dog in a one-bedroom quality construction, but can easily accommodate 4 using the living-room futon in addition. Kitchens are fully equipped, with micro, convection oven, electric frypan and roaster for holiday meals. A gas fireplace enhances an inviting ambience. The open-plan living/dining/kitchen area is light and airy with a gabled cathedral ceiling and the large covered porch extends the living area outside, offering a charcoal grill and comfy furniture for lounging by the lawn and enjoying the mountain and river views. Hammocks on the river bank look inviting, but if you want to be more active there is a nice indoor pool, plus guest bicycles and helmets in good condition. River Run's trademark is these little extra thoughtful touches that enhance your stay, such as free charcoal and chimneys for your BBQs, a canister of organic coffee, quality toiletries, a video library and full cleaning supplies for daily maintenance. The staff are helpful and friendly, without being intrusive. The only slight negative is that the refrigerators are too small for more than the most basic supplies, and that the electric appliances are too close to bottom-of-the-line for easy operation (e.g. the knobs tend to fall off). But these are minor irritants which do not really detract from a very comfortable stay in a scenic and serene location.

Room Tip: Families and couples travelling together will enjoy the cabins and houses
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank MarilynDeming
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 11, 2012

We all enjoyed our one-night stay at the River Run, which was comfortable, convenient and affordable.
Having bikes for a quick ride around town is an extra bonus, as are the hammocks along the river bank. We greatly appreciate their dog-friendliness, too. We met several other friendly guests while our dogs ran around on the lawn together.
Our room was upgraded from our original reservation, so we were lucky enough to have a suite with an extra room for our daughter. Being on the second floor gives you a nice view of the river and was quiet, except for some odd plumbing noise coming from next door. We'd gladly return to the River Run with friends and family, and think it is one of the best deals in the area.

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank LoladeTiburon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Winthrop hotels
0.9 mi away
Chewuch Inn & Cabins
Chewuch Inn & Cabins
#2 of 8 in Winthrop
481 reviews
1 mi away
Methow River Lodge & Cabins
1.1 mi away
Mt Gardner Inn
Mt Gardner Inn
#1 of 8 in Winthrop
412 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.4 mi away
AbbyCreek Inn
AbbyCreek Inn
#6 of 8 in Winthrop
165 reviews
0.7 mi away
Hotel Rio Vista
Hotel Rio Vista
#3 of 8 in Winthrop
331 reviews
1.3 mi away
The Virginian Resort
The Virginian Resort
#7 of 8 in Winthrop
92 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to River Run Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about River Run Inn

Address: 27 Rader Rd, Winthrop, WA 98862-9741
Location: United States > Washington > Winthrop
Amenities:
Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 10 B&Bs / Inns in Winthrop
Price Range: $81 - $180 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — River Run Inn 3*
Number of rooms: 15
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline and Agoda so you can book your River Run Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
River Run Hotel Winthrop

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing