We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The big house is great for a group outing”
Review of River Run Inn

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
River Run Inn
Ranked #1 of 10 Winthrop B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed September 23, 2011

We rent the big house every year for a group outing. We love it! Everyone has their favorite rooms and the kitchen is big enough for everyone to pitch in and cook together. The river, deck and yard are fantastic. We spend most of our time on the deck, eating, laughing and watching the river.
Will continue to come back year after year.

  • Stayed: July 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank LLM9032
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (122)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

93 - 99 of 122 reviews

Reviewed September 18, 2011

We had high hopes for this hotel based on prior reviews and hotel's website. The hotel is a little ways off the main road - just past a junkyard. The back of the hotel faces the river and there are lovely views of the river.

After we checked in, we determined that the TV didn't work. When we reported this to the clerk at the front desk, she said there was nothing she could do, no one she could call to fix the problem, and that they could not refund our money. Her attitude was extremely poor. Later, after we returned from dinner, we noticed that the TV in our room had been switched to a new flat screen TV that worked. All good - except that we almost didn't notice that the TV had been switched (we had decided to try to make the best of the situation & were ignoring what we thought was a non-functioning TV). You would have thought they would leave a note on the door indicating that they had been there. When we checked out in the morning, there was no one at the front desk and there was no answer at the phone number that the instructions said to call.

Bed spread was old, stained, dirty. Carpet also stained & dirty. Bed pillows were very old & extremely thin. Room does have coffee maker, fridge, and microwave (with a dinner plate in the microwave that must be meant to be a stand-in for a missing/broken glass plate). Room lighting is inadequate for reading. Rooms on 2nd floor can only be reached by open, wooden stairs.

Bathroom has tub & toilet in one cramped room and sink separate in an alcove. Only toiletries provided were a single bar of soap & a giant bottle of Tresomme shampoo.

The town of Winthrop is about 2 blocks long; quite a few shops but all close at 5:00.

Room Tip: Stay at different hotel.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
3  Thank ClevelandJP
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 21, 2011

This motel is a great place to stay. It's amazing for the price all that is offered. Our room, although not the most expensive, had a small refrigerator, microwave, and coffee maker with even ceramic mugs and fresh ground coffee! The queen beds were wonderful, too, as was the well appointed bathroom. Not only the room is amazing but also the property which runs along the river where you can rent kayaks and canoes is. There are hammocks strung in many shady places to use and each room also has a barbecue grill at their disposal. You couldn't ask for more!

  • Stayed: August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank RedRider1912
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 12, 2011

My husband and I traveled to Winthrop as a spur of the moment long weekend, for much-needed rest and relaxation. We had never been to Winthrop specifically, but had driven in the area and wanted to get back. The town is adorable and the inn is in walking distance of a wine tasting room and the downtown area. We stayed in a 1-bedroom cabin and could not have been happier! All of the other good reviews accurately describe the wonderful setting and decorations. We brought our dog and were happy to see that the pet fee was not overly pricey. The staff was wonderful and helped with suggestions on restaurants and things to do. The only reason I'm giving it four stars instead of five is because there were a few deferred maintenance issues (nothing major) and I thought the cabins were a bit close together (we heard some conversations from next door). We will definitely return, though... maybe just not on a holiday weekend!

Room Tip: 1 Bedroom Cabins
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank N8trGrl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 29, 2011

Beautiful spot, lovely grass area, gorgeous cabin. We will come back for sure!

  • Stayed: July 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Chissywats
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 28, 2011

The River Run Inn is a lovely place. Our room was comfortable, decorated in a cabin/country style. It had a kitchen and a great view of the river, with deer grazing near the water early in the morning. I with I had a chance to stay longer and would definitely choose to return.

Stayed: June 2011, traveled as a couple
Thank NC_Rambler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 18, 2011

We just needed a place to stay for one night on our way through Winthrop, and we found the River Run Inn on Google Maps.
We would have liked a 2-queen room, but only a 1-queen plus double pull-out was available. I was very surprised at how roomy it was, and we had plenty of room for 2 adults and 2 kids under 11.
The room was very clean and nicely finished. I loved the quilt on the bed!
The bathroom fixtures looked recently updated. Very nice. Lots of hot water.
The kitchenette was well stocked: mini-fridge, micro, toaster, coffee-maker, plug-in skillet, cutlery, dishes, glasses and dishcloths.
The kids enjoyed the pool. The hot tub was tiny - room for one person, or two if you knew them well!
Behind the rooms, there is a beautiful grassy area that overlooks the river with chairs, hammocks, and a large swing-set .
My only complaint is that the air conditioner was super loud.

Room Tip: There are regular motel-style rooms as well as some cabins.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Bumblepug
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Winthrop hotels
1 mi away
Methow River Lodge & Cabins
0.9 mi away
Chewuch Inn & Cabins
Chewuch Inn & Cabins
#2 of 8 in Winthrop
490 reviews
1.1 mi away
Mt Gardner Inn
Mt Gardner Inn
#1 of 8 in Winthrop
418 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
Hotel Rio Vista
Hotel Rio Vista
#3 of 8 in Winthrop
332 reviews
1.4 mi away
AbbyCreek Inn
AbbyCreek Inn
#6 of 8 in Winthrop
170 reviews
2.6 mi away
Sun Mountain Lodge
Sun Mountain Lodge
#4 of 8 in Winthrop
555 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to River Run Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about River Run Inn

Address: 27 Rader Rd, Winthrop, WA 98862-9741
Location: United States > Washington > Winthrop
Amenities:
Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 10 B&Bs / Inns in Winthrop
Price Range: $103 - $214 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — River Run Inn 3*
Number of rooms: 15
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline and Agoda so you can book your River Run Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
River Run Hotel Winthrop

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing