We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Not what we expected!”
Review of Sun Mountain Lodge

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Sun Mountain Lodge
Ranked #4 of 8 Hotels in Winthrop
Certificate of Excellence
Bellingham, Washington
Level 6 Contributor
173 reviews
47 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 64 helpful votes
“Not what we expected!”
Reviewed September 22, 2010

We reserved two nights at the lodge as our 'first visit' after hearing all the raving reviews from others. We found the lodge quite attractive, great location and nice rooms but for us this 'Hyatt in the back country' was not what we wanted. We found the rooms without televisions which does not give the guest a choice. The lodge location at the end of a 10 mile road off the main highway, 5 miles outside of Winthrop felt quite isolated. Our only choice for meals was the lodge dining room or bar. Great place for sitting around and reading a book or as a destination resort from which to snow shoe in winter.
The fly fishing shop staff were very helpfull! We will stay at the River's Edge Resort when we return to the Methow Valley.

  • Stayed September 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank DDutch01
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

520 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    304
    127
    49
    25
    15
See reviews for
120
269
7
33
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (162)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Cypress, Texas
Level 3 Contributor
18 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed August 14, 2010

This is by far the most relaxing place I have ever stayed at! My family stayed on one of the cabins on Patterson lake. No tv, no phone, no internet. Just peace and quiet. My boys loved taking out the paddle boats, fishing and swimming. We never heard one complaint! The service was outstanding. We ate at the bar and grill one night. The food was good, but the menu was a little more limited than I would have liked, especially since you're not too close to any other places to eat. We also ate in the dining room another night. Very good food and service, but do expect to pay more. I have never felt so relaxed after a vacation than I have after leaving Sun Mountain Lodge!

  • Stayed August 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank hagateen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Odessa WA
Level 4 Contributor
25 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed August 13, 2010

First trip there and we LOVED IT! THe views are amazing- the staff was very accommodating. The kids loved the pool and game room, with no TV in the rooms and VERY LIMITED cell service we spent some great time just reconnecting with the kids! SIgn up early for horseback riding- it fills up quick! The food is amazing! Large portions!

Stayed July 2010, traveled with family
Helpful?
2 Thank BarglofWedding
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Portland, Oregon
Level 6 Contributor
118 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
Reviewed July 28, 2010

If you are looking for mountain scenery, great views from your room and gourmet dining, this is the place. We had heard about the lodge from friends, and it was everything we had hoped for. Hiking can be done right from your room and sitting by the pool overlooking the North Cascades National Park mountains is truly amazing. The food and wine selection was terrific, with imaginative ingredients and presentation. We will be going back to this special place.

  • Stayed July 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank PapaOregon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Seattle, WA
Level 5 Contributor
37 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 53 helpful votes
Reviewed July 22, 2010

Just got back from three nights (July 18-20) at Patterson Lake cabins at Sun Mountain Lodge (cabin 614). Great setup they have down there, right on the lake in a cottonwood grove full of deer, rabbits, birds of all kinds (saw hawks and a bald eagle), chipmunks and of course kids having a great time. We spent very little time up at the main lodge, but we did our initial check-in up there, and the folks seemed very nice. We also used the activities desk up at the lodge. Kudos to Kevin there, who tried to teach me to fish with patience and good humor. We caught no fish, just a little lake weed, but it was fun anyway. We swam in the lake, and after the initial shock, it felt great! Spent a lot of time just sitting on the front porch, enjoying the scenery. Take some mosquito repellent along with you, as those little critters do come out when the wind is calm.

Our housekeeping staff for our cabin did an excellent job. Our one-bedroom cabin was very neat and clean, and well set-up for us to prepare our own meals. Housekeeping were very helpful and attentive. The gentleman who staffs the office at Patterson Lake and maintains the grounds there likewise was very helpful. Everything was well-maintained, from the dock to the barbecue area to the landscaping. There are all kinds of boats you can rent, from paddle boats to sunfish to rowboats, just nothing with a motor (not allowed on this pristine lake).

Patterson Lake is is definitely the place for families, and there were lots of kids having a great time without phones, tv, or internet connectivity (the main lodge is a little more plush and upscale, and does have wi fi). We enjoyed our stay.

  • Stayed July 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank northwestnerd
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Arlington, VA
Level 4 Contributor
17 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed July 11, 2010

We recently spent the night at the Sun Mountain Lodge for our 3rd anniversary. We splurged on a room in the Mt. Robinson building and did not regret it. The balcony was peaceful and we had a great view of the mountain from the bathtub too! The bed was comfy and the lighting in the room (including the gas fireplace) is very romantic. (Plus there are no TVs! Yeah! No ESPN to distract my hubby!) We arrived early and took a 90 minute horseback ride which I highly recommend. It is a great way to see the Sun Mountain property-- they will take you through the woods, along a creek, and all the way to the top of the hill. We also ate dinner in the Lodge. The reviews of the restaurant on Trip Adviser are very mixed, so I didn't know what to expect, but we found dinner to be fabulous. (Go for the homemade ice cream for dessert!) Breakfast the next morning was equally delicious. There are also a few cute little restaurants in Winthrop and a super yummy candy shop with caramel covered marshmellows that are just sinful. Overall, this is a great little getaway spot. Unless you are a hardcore hiker, you might get bored if you stayed an entire week, but this was the perfect spot for a long weekend with your honey.

  • Stayed July 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ArlingtonCCC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wisconsin
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed June 30, 2010

This resort is DEFINITELY worth the cost. Views are truly spectacular, and the room design is comfortable and takes advantage of the setting. I travel frequently, and this is the best room design I've seen. The jetted hot tub while looking out the windows was great. The design allowed for uncovered windows throughout with no issue of anyone seeing in. The bathroom even opened up to allow the views to be reflected in the mirror. We opted for the upper end room to get the king bed and balcony, and loved every minute of it. Room 420 was awesome - with a great deck overlooking snow capped peaks and green valleys, and fawns playing right under our deck. I'd recommend a room on the upper level - which is where we were - as views were definitely best there. The king/balcony rooms are also at the end, keeping it quiet and likely allowing for more wildlife, and a separate pool and hot tub services those rooms. We were there mid-week, so it's likely busier on weekends, but we frequently had that hot tub/pool to ourselves.

The plan which included breakfast daily was a nice option. Breakfasts were great, served in the upscale dining room with great views. The hot tub and pool also made use of the views, and felt good after active days enjoying the setting. The resort offers a broad assortment of activities -- hiking, horseback riding, mountain bike riding, spa, etc., which offered both of us plenty to do, together and separately. Walking around with the camera, including taking photos of the landscaping, was enjoyable. Kit at the stables made sure horses and saddles were very comfortable, and was incredibly entertaining and interesting. I did a 1 1/2 hour ride and the dinner ride, and enjoyed both. Hanks guitar and cowboy music gave us the true western feel on the dinner ride. When I return, I'd do a breakfast or dinner ride as well as a longer ride because of the comfort and great scenery.

The only activity that disappointed us was kayak rental at Patterson Lake (a sister resort to Sun Mountain). The lake is much prettier when looking at it, rather than being 'on' it, and the kayaks were plastic floats that you sit on top of - which were real back killers. That's truly my only criticism of the entire 3 day experience.

Food was good, and various choices were offered from upscale to burgers or salad on the deck.

Staff was exceptional. We tested this when our car wouldn't start and had to be towed. We needed a ride into town to pick it up, and the manager's wife graciously drove us several miles into Twisp at no cost.

A trip into Winthrop is worthwhile. It's touristy, but no neon and a fun place to wander for an afternoon with lots of fun shops and restaurants.

We will definitely return, and would highly recommend Sun Mountain.

  • Stayed June 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank SadieWisconsin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Winthrop
3.7 mi away
Mt Gardner Inn
Mt Gardner Inn
#1 of 8 in Winthrop
387 reviews
3.4 mi away
Hotel Rio Vista
Hotel Rio Vista
#3 of 8 in Winthrop
317 reviews
3.9 mi away
AbbyCreek Inn
AbbyCreek Inn
#6 of 8 in Winthrop
158 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.8 mi away
The Virginian Resort
The Virginian Resort
#7 of 8 in Winthrop
82 reviews
11.7 mi away
Freestone Inn
Freestone Inn
#1 of 3 in Mazama
225 reviews
9.8 mi away
Twisp River Suites
Twisp River Suites
#1 of 5 in Twisp
521 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sun Mountain Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sun Mountain Lodge

Property: Sun Mountain Lodge
Address: 604 Patterson Lake Rd, Winthrop, WA 98862
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Washington > Winthrop
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Ski-In / Ski-Out Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 8 Hotels in Winthrop
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Sun Mountain Lodge 3.5*
Number of rooms: 112
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Groupon, Travelocity, Booking.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Hotwire, getaroom.com, Priceline and Agoda so you can book your Sun Mountain Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sun Mountain Hotel Winthrop
Sun Mountain Resort
Sun Mountain Winthrop

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing