We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Cold breakfast after a 45 minute wait!”
Review of Sun Mountain Lodge

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Sun Mountain Lodge
Ranked #4 of 8 Hotels in Winthrop
Certificate of Excellence
Bellevue, Washington
Level Contributor
23 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“Cold breakfast after a 45 minute wait!”
Reviewed July 6, 2014

After reading about the place in Lonely Planet and other travel sites, we decided to stop there to take in the views while having breakfast. The views, no doubt, are amazing but here are my issues with the place.

1. We waited 20 minutes to place our order (had finished 2 cups of coffee by then)
2. Waited close to another 40 minutes to get our order (had finished another 2 cups of coffee by then)
3. And when the breakfast did arrive, it was COLD - felt like the food sat there at the window all along while we waited and the food is not cheap either.

If you are looking to get here for breakfast, do yourself a favor - get something in one of downtown Winthrop's inviting eateries. And then drive here, find a trail and enjoy the views.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank gurupp
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BrianCharlton, General Manager at Sun Mountain Lodge, responded to this review, July 8, 2014
I am so very sorry - there is no excuse for that. I greatly appreciate writing and letting me know. I owe you breakfast! Please contact before you come back and I will gladly make this right for you.

Kind regards,

Brian Charlton
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

501 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    291
    122
    49
    25
    14
See reviews for
114
258
7
33
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (156)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Vancouver
Level Contributor
11 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed July 3, 2014

I had a great time at this hotel and there was nothing negative about it. My comment is the high price. Sun Mtn's prices are that of a 5 star property such as a Four Season or Ritz but the hotel itself is not at that level. Nothing wrong with it but in my opinion simply not worth the lofty prices.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank FromVancouverBC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BrianCharlton, General Manager at Sun Mountain Lodge, responded to this review, July 4, 2014
Hello, and thank you for writing! You pose a very good question worth an answer. One simple answer is that we go the extra mile when creating furniture and bedding, beyond chain hotels. We hire craftsmen to build to our specifics (all hard wood furniture in the rooms) and even hired blacksmiths to do all of the metal work, including bedside lights in the lodge which we then in turn had to take one by one to Olympia for federal approval. The lodge does have the magnificent views you mention, and to make this all possible we were required to build the county road up to us; we own, operate and manage our water filtration plant; we own the electrical lines running to the lodge from Patterson Lake; we upgraded the entire Winthrop sewage treatment plant then run our sewage all the way to it! You may have noticed our gas prices are higher which for us means that when we order goods and food we pay an upcharge for deliveries. There are other examples but these are some of the larger parts of the equation and I thank you for asking for the question and allowing me the opportunity to answer!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lahaina, Hawaii
Level Contributor
383 reviews
45 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 100 helpful votes
Reviewed July 2, 2014

Sun Mountain Lodge is located in a beautiful setting overlooking the Methow Valley with great views of the North Cascades. The rooms are very comfortable and quiet. The beds are so nice that early risers like ourselves were sleeping in. They have a very well developed trail system that is well mapped and marked. The staff are very friendly and knowledgeable about the area. Patterson Lake is also part of the property where paddle boards, kayaks, and sunfish boats may be rented. The property is located 10 miles out of Winthrop, so one is captive to their dining facilities if one does not want to drive. Breakfast and bar food is quite reasonable. Dinner in the dining room is pricey.

Room Tip: Room 418 is quiet and away from the main building.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank MOG808
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Winthrop, Washington
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed July 1, 2014 via mobile

I went on the horse ride for first time this evening and it was something I'd do again. The wranglers were very attentive to everyone, kept the fun going and the food was awesome! For those who are locals, like I am, and are looking for somewhere to go for dinner different, it was the best money deal! Horse ride, dinner by our man 'Pike', live entertainment by local musicians, desert(cowboy coffee was great) and meeting people from all over the world! I hear the cowboy breakfast is to die for also...can't wait to get the gang together and try it next! And for those who don't want to ride a horse, ride on up in the wagon...same relaxing experience in the beautiful outdoors.

Stayed July 2014, traveled with friends
Helpful?
2 Thank lynette a
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Seattle, Washington
Level Contributor
139 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
Reviewed July 1, 2014

We spent 4 nights at Sun Mountain Lodge and had a very restful, tv free time. Surrounding Mountains and Valleys lovely, hotel staff helpful and happy, food good, pool and surrounds ery satisfying. Highly recommend the hotel and the little town of Winthrop where all the merchants are very pleasant.

Room Tip: I prefer the rooms overlooking the pool area but to the left of the pool if in the hotel 2nd or 3rd...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank grazia2626
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Arlington, Washington
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed June 28, 2014

Thanks to all the people who made our last night in the Methow Valley so memorable with the Cowboy Dinners at Sun Mountain Lodge. My friend and I chose the wagon ride to the old homestead but guests can also choose the 40 minute ride on horseback as well. Dinner included the gorgeous ride with stunning views of the Cascade Mountains plus a meal far beyond our expectations including BBQ chicken, steak, beans, potatoes, cornbread and apple pie both cooked over the open fire in a caste iron skillet, many beverage choices, chocolate cake, ..... Oh and salad and fruit too!
The two of us greatly enjoyed the company of the larger group of 30, mostly due to the friendliness of our hosts, including the wagon driver, horseback riders, our cook and all those who worked so hard for our enjoyment. Thanks again, it was the best!

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Richelle T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
seattle
Level Contributor
14 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed June 28, 2014

Ask for a room in the Gardner building and you won't be sorry! The deck offers stunning panoramic views of the Methow and several deer sitings! The horseback ride and cowboy dinner is a highlight, too. Great food and service. No TV's in the rooms, but didn't mind that. It's so peaceful and tranquil here...a TV might spoil that!

Stayed June 2014, traveled on business
Helpful?
1 Thank mscoug
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Winthrop hotels
3.4 mi away
Chewuch Inn & Cabins
Chewuch Inn & Cabins
#2 of 8 in Winthrop
422 reviews
3.7 mi away
Mt Gardner Inn
Mt Gardner Inn
#1 of 8 in Winthrop
372 reviews
3.4 mi away
Hotel Rio Vista
Hotel Rio Vista
#3 of 8 in Winthrop
302 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
Methow River Lodge & Cabins
3.9 mi away
AbbyCreek Inn
AbbyCreek Inn
#6 of 8 in Winthrop
138 reviews
3.8 mi away
The Virginian Resort
The Virginian Resort
#8 of 8 in Winthrop
79 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sun Mountain Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sun Mountain Lodge

Property: Sun Mountain Lodge
Address: 604 Patterson Lake Rd, Winthrop, WA 98862
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Washington > Winthrop
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Ski-In / Ski-Out Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 8 Hotels in Winthrop
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Sun Mountain Lodge 3.5*
Number of rooms: 112
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Priceline, Hotwire and getaroom.com so you can book your Sun Mountain Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sun Mountain Hotel Winthrop
Sun Mountain Resort
Sun Mountain Winthrop

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing