We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Sun Mountain Lodge
Nearby Hotels
AbbyCreek Inn(Winthrop)(Great Value!)
$90
$87
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Mt Gardner Inn(Winthrop)(Great Value!)
$125
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Hotel Rio Vista(Winthrop)(Great Value!)
$124
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Methow River Lodge & Cabins(Winthrop)(Great Value!)
$118
Orbitz.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$69
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Chewuch Inn & Cabins(Winthrop)(Great Value!)
$105
Official Site
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$81
$75
Hotels.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
$64
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
No availability for your dates from our partners
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (567)
Filter reviews
567 results
Traveler rating
336
137
50
28
16
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
336
137
50
28
16
Show reviews that mention
All reviewspatterson lakedining roomrobinson roomshorseback ridingbar grillmain restaurantwolf creek barcombo dinnerski shophiking trailsget awaytennis courtssleigh ridegames roomjacuzzi tubeggs benedictcity life
Filter
Updating list...
352 - 357 of 567 reviews
Reviewed July 22, 2013

We decided to stay at this mountain lodge for 2 nights while traveling on the North Cascade Highway (Route 20) between the Pacific Coast all the way to the Columbia River where we went north to B.C. Canada.
We had booked a room in the Lodge but when we arrived, we decided to take a room in the Gardner building, top floor, balcony, and a small fireplace. It was well appointed (perhaps too heavy furniture for that size of room..).
On our second day, there was a power failure that lasted 10 hours! (caused by a fire on a main road.) The staff did their best under those circumstances.
It is a beautiful property and the views are breathtaking! A sunset that lasts and lasts..

Room Tip: We liked the top floor of Gardner building with great views, balcony, and fireplace.
  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank MoniqueVG
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 19, 2013

The lodge is situated on a peak that overlooks the surrounding area with amazing views. The property is top notch with wonderful swimming pools and outdoor decks. What we couldn't understand was that with this amazing property, we found subpar service from all the employees. We were greeted in the beautiful lobby not with 'hello, or welcome' but 'are you here to check in?'. There is no doorman or bellperson to assist with luggage, and we came in and out several times where it would have been nice just to have someone hold the door for us (there were three workers in the lobby who never did hold the door once). The restaurant has some of the best views we have experienced of any mountain lodge, but the food was average (and very pricey) and the service was, frankly, odd. The waiter acted like he was trying to be service focused, but it ended up being really weird service due to his behavior and he seemed out of place. The final observation was that evening when I called down to the front desk see if we were going to have automatic turn down service or if we had to request new towels as we needed some more. The reply was that is was automatic. So when we returned from dinner and no one had been there, I called again. The reply was that they didn't understand my request (or I guess what turn down service was) and they thought I meant 'would I get new towels with the morning maid service'. A short time later a very dirty looking maintenance man brought be new towels. Odd, to say the least, that this high end property has such a service disconnect. I probably wouldn't have mentioned much, but every encounter we had was like this, and it seemed to us a 'shame' since the property really is outstanding.

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank JH3970
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 15, 2013 via mobile

High up on a mountain location above Lake Patterson with lodge and cabins on the Lake. Well managed facilities with no complaints. So being close to nature with dewar roaming freely, don't expect any extra room amenities except a coffee maker. The cowboy BBQ dinner was a unique experience with a long chuck wagon ride down the mountain to the BBQ area. Breakfast in the restaurant had many healthy choices. Very relaxing atmosphere in the lodge with games room, reading room, spa, convenience shop and cocktail lounge and restaurant. It's all there to be pampered.

  • Stayed: June 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank conscom
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 8, 2013

The room with a gas fireplace, king bed, sitting area and balcony in the Gardner Building provided a beautiful view of the valley beckoning you to the North Cascade highway. Excellent food in the dining room. We just stayed overnight but the list of outdoor activities, the spa, and the funky little town of Winthrop would make this a great long weekend vacation, for couple or for a family.

Room Tip: view from balcony over valley in the Gardner addition
  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank SpokaneJan09
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 8, 2013

Booking one of the 2 bedroom cabins on the lake was the best plan for our family of 6. The cabin had 2 queen size beds and a day bed. By adding 2 additional roll away beds, we had plenty of sleeping space. The main floor bathroom was very large with a tub and shower that had amazing water pressure. The loft had a shower bathroom with the same pressure. The only problem was we ran out of hot water a couple of times when we all took a shower within a hour of each other. There is LOTS to do, but bring inner tubes for the kids to play with on the lake-even though there are canoes, sunfish sail boats and kayaks to rent. Bring your own beach towels-there is a laundry on the grounds. The lodge has a fabulous restaurant with a bar menu and a more elaborate menu. The 2 pools are beautiful and the view from the hot tub is to die for. We even went horse back riding. It is expensive to plan on having money!!

Room Tip: Ask to be one of the cabins with direct access to the lake.
  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank escargot42
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews