We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Yummy!”

Rocking Horse Bakery
Ranked #1 of 1 Bakeries in Winthrop
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Cafe
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Lunch, Breakfast
Description: Delectable breads, pastries, Espresso drinks, sandwiches, salads and pizza....Featuring local ingredients, all handcrafted daily in Winthrop's favorite gathering spot!
Olympia, Washington
Level 5 Contributor
90 reviews
39 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
“Yummy!”
Reviewed January 23, 2014

The pastries, WOW! They are fresh and delicious. Cinnamon pull aparts, pecan sticky buns, quiches, sour cream coffee cake, breakfast sandwiches and even home bread for purchase. Good thing we walked down from River's Edge. Great locally roasted coffee as well

Visited January 2014
Helpful?
Thank MFP3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

228 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    119
    84
    19
    4
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
methow
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
“the baker is top-notch”
Reviewed October 17, 2013

I had a pastry that was cinnamon-roll like..... but with a sweet almond filling - it gets a 10 out of 10

Chocolate croissants are the best I've had in the valley - the rocking horse just keeps getting better.

Visited October 2013
Helpful?
Thank wendel i
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
vancouver
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Excellent bakery”
Reviewed October 16, 2013

A great bakery with good baked goods, fantastic soups and really friendly staff. We visited twice in a weekend and were impressed both times.

  • Visited October 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Richard B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Bern, North Carolina
Level 3 Contributor
17 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Yummy”
Reviewed October 10, 2013

The carrot cake and the croissants were absolutely delicious. There is limited parking behind the building if all the spaces in front are taken.

Visited September 2013
Helpful?
Thank Doggyroadtrip
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Maryland
Level 6 Contributor
107 reviews
70 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
“Did Not Offer What their Website Said”
Reviewed September 25, 2013

Pluses -- good, strong locally brewed coffee. Fantastic pastries according to comments I heard.
Minus -- their website says under Daily Specials "now featuring an assortment of gluten-free options". On two of the three occasions we were there, nothing of that sort was available -- not even yogurt in the dairy case. On the third visit, only a gluten-free brownie was to be had, not really much of a choice for breakfast, although it did taste quite good.
Overall, I suspect this a great place for breakfast for the majority of people. However, for me it was a big disappointment, based on what I was led to believe.

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
3 Thank Hikers2Maryland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Rocking Horse Bakery also viewed

 

Been to Rocking Horse Bakery? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing