We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Amazing whitewater experience”

Wet Planet Whitewater Rafting & Kayaking
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Recommended length of visit: More than 3 hours
Owner description: Wet Planet Rafting and Kayaking - is located 10 min. North of Hood River, Oregon. Get out on the river with us for river rafting in Oregon and Washington and whitewater kayak instruction. Classes and trips for all skill levels, and ages starting at 10. Daily, from April through September. Just 1 hour and 15 min. East of Portland, Oregon. Known for some of the best whitewater in the country, all summer long, get out on the river with Wet Planet right here in the Columbia River Gorge area. Enjoy our riverside facilities and outdoor Wet Planet Grill with delicious locally sourced Farm-to-Table food, cold local beer on tap and a selection of area's best wines.
Useful Information: Wheelchair access, Activities for older children, Bathroom facilities, Food available for purchase
Dayton, Ohio
Level Contributor
21 reviews
15 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Amazing whitewater experience”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 10, 2012

Wet Planet did an outstanding job on our recent whitewater trip! It was great from start to finish! Wet Planet has their own private put-in 2 miles further up river then the other companies. These first 2 miles have some of the best rapids of the trip and should not be missed! There is one place that you have to portage out because of dangerous rapids, but after passing the rapids you can jump in the river from a 20+ foot ledge to get back to your boat, if you want! That was a great thrill. The climax of the trip is going down Husum Falls, which was extremely fun! I can't wait to be in the area again to do it again. Our guide, Drew, was great and extremely friendly!

Visited September 2012
Helpful?
2 Thank Sean B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

181 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    169
    11
    1
    0
    0
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
San Diego, CA
Level Contributor
9 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Outstanding”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 4, 2012

I have never done white water rafting before, and I was kind of scared to do it. However after reading all the reviews on here about how they were so concerned about safety, I knew I wanted to have my first experience with this company.

They were very organized from start to finish. All the equipment was in great working condition. Everything about them made me feel safe. Our guide, Gianni was such a pro.

We cannot WAIT to do it again. We live in CA, but will definitely want to do our 2nd trip with them.

Thank you for a great time Wet Planet!

Visited September 2012
Helpful?
3 Thank annavviola
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Portland, Oregon
Level Contributor
67 reviews
21 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“White Salmon = Amazing Rafting!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 4, 2012

The White Salmon trip is one of the few places you can do a trip that is primarily class III and IV rapids. Wet Planet was well organized and provided all the gear. All the guides were very experienced. By far the most fun I've had on a commercial rafting trip in Oregon. This particular trip is not for the faint of heart however. At one point you have to portage around a large waterfall and get back to your raft by jumping off a 25 foot cliff or basically rapel down a cliffside. There is also an optional class V waterfall run at the end (only available starting in August) that I highly recommend. We ran into some other companies while waiting to go over the waterfall and after listening to their prep speech, I was thankful I'd gone with Wet Planet.

Visited September 2012
Helpful?
2 Thank hmgoldilocks
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newport Beach, California
Level Contributor
7 reviews
3 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Outstanding kayaking instruction”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 3, 2012

My husband and I had a great experience with Wet Planet and their kayak instruction. The facility is excellent, the equipment is in very good condition considering the hard use it gets, and the staff is wonderful and very accommodating in terms of scheduling changes. Best of all -- the instructors are outstanding: highly skilled at both kayaking and teaching, patient, clearly have a passion for their sport, and they insist that you have fun while you're learning. We could not have had a better introduction to this new-to-us sport -- so much so that we returned almost weekly over July/August for more days on the Klickitat or a pool/roll session after taking the initial 3-day beginner progression. Great job, folks -- thanks so much!!

Visited July 2012
Helpful?
5 Thank Underwood131
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fairfax, Virginia
Level Contributor
14 reviews
4 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Whohoo!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 2, 2012

This was, in one word, FANTASTIC! Our guide, Tyler, was skilled and knowledgable. He made rafting easy for first timers (to include our 12 year old) and delivered a great experience. Because of the cliff jump and the Husum falls "challenge" would HIGHLY recommend White Salmon in August to anyone looking for a really fun experience.

Visited August 2012
Helpful?
2 Thank Storm H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Wet Planet Whitewater Rafting & Kayaking also viewed

 

Been to Wet Planet Whitewater Rafting & Kayaking? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing