We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A Working Vineyard”

Whidbey Island Vineyards and Winery
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Whidbey Island Vineyards and Winery offers a quaint tasting room, and a selection of wines made from estate and Eastern Washington grapes.
Everett, Washington
Level Contributor
22 reviews
3 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“A Working Vineyard”
Reviewed January 5, 2014

We met Sean, our host, during the Friday Art Walk the night before our visit. He was serving Whidbey Island Vineyards' Franc and Island White to guests visiting an Art Show at one of Langley's art studios. We were very pleased to see that he was our host when we stopped by the winery the next day for tastings of their wines.

Upon arrival, we were greeted (stared at, actually) by the owner's cat, who was glad to give up guard duty as soon as Sean arrived to serve us. Having met and visited with Sean the night before, we immediately felt comfortable and welcome. While tasting the wines, we noticed the owner out in the vineyard working on some of the vines. Sean was eager to explain what the owner was doing, and what type of vines he was working with (only white grapes can be grown locally; the reds come from Eastern Washington).

We found two wines (the Franc and Island White) that we took home for Christmas dinner and one (Sangiovese) for a hostess gift. Somehow, we ended up with only one bottle (Rosette) for ourselves, so we're excited to know that WIV&W distributes to a couple of our local wineshops and grocery stores.

ANY of the family-owned Whidbey Island wineries is a great visit. The host is always happy to tell you about their wines, vineyard, and stories about how some of their blends came about. They'll even break out an extra something special for you to try. We find our visits to be a lot more friendly and informative than the large Wine Tasting Rooms.

Visited December 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank gbartl8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

32 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    23
    8
    0
    0
    1
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Seattle, Washington
Level Contributor
18 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“Fabulous spot”
Reviewed August 20, 2013

Great wine. Great outdoor seating. What else do you need? The only bummer part is they don't have a real bathroom, if you need to use the restroom you have to use an outhouse. Granted, it is very well kept, but still.

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
Thank Jen Z
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
138 reviews
44 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 58 helpful votes
“Always a fave.”
Reviewed May 19, 2013

This was my 2nd visit and I can't wait to return. The wines are great and reasonably priced, the gentleman working was knowledgeable and fun to talk too. But best of all was his sweet dog,who played with my son and made his winery visit memorable as well. I'm looking forward to coming back this summer.

Visited May 2013
Helpful?
Thank prestoninaj
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Francisco, California
Level Contributor
143 reviews
63 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
“Pleasant Surprise on this idyllic island paradise”
Reviewed February 23, 2013

Stop in for a special tasting experience. Friendly, smart, charm exude from this must-see winery. Fell in love with the island, particularly the southern half and looked to purchase a home in nearby Langley, Coupeville after buying a Queen Anne Victorian on Queen Anne Hill in Seattle, but alas returned to San Francisco home for new opportunity. Well worth the enjoyable trip, the car ferry and drive are magical.

Visited August 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank Healthy94920
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York
Level Contributor
7 reviews
6 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
“Simply Beautiful!”
Reviewed January 23, 2013

Amazing island in the beautiful Puget Sound area. If I could I would move there in a heartbeat! A must see of all the wonderful places on this planet!

Visited February 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank Bine S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Whidbey Island Vineyards and Winery also viewed

Langley, Whidbey Island
Greenbank, Whidbey Island
 
Langley, Whidbey Island
 

Been to Whidbey Island Vineyards and Winery? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing