We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“What a joke!”
Review of Westport Inn

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Westport Inn
Ranked #4 of 14 Hotels in Westport
Seattle, Washington
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“What a joke!”
Reviewed August 1, 2012

I bought a two night stay in a 'luxurious king suite' from Urban Dealight last year. It was not a deal at all. We thought it was be a nice weekend getaway, but it was a horrible weekend getaway. Everything was closed, so there was nothing to do. But, that was the least of our problem with our weekend getaway. The King Suite was a total joke! There was nothing luxurious about it. It had a really loud wall heater and an old, outdated bathroom. It had an LCD tv, but it was in an armoire style cabinet that had doors that wouldn't open all the way, and the couch was to the right of it, so you couldn't see the TV when you were on the couch. So, we asked for a different room. They gave us a King Deluxe room, which wasn't deluxe at all. It had a small 19" CRT tv and there was duct tape all over the armoire it was in. The King bed was so small, it had to be a Queen. The bathroom was so incredibly outdated, and had patches all over the walls. The bathroom sink and cabinet was awful. The shower head was so low, we had to crouch down to get underneath it, and I am only 5'6". The toilet wouldn't flush unless you held the handle down the whole time. There was no telephone to call the front desk. I really wish there'd been a telephone in the room, because there was no cellphone service! Both nights, the people above us were so loud it sounded like horses were doing laps around their room, late into the night! Turns out, the people had dogs!!! If there was a phone, I would've called the front desk to complain. The dogs doing laps around the room started back up around 7am. The sheets were scratchy and had pills all over them. To say we did not get a good night's sleep, is putting it mildly. Oh yeah! There was no closet in either the King Suite or King Deluxe room. There is literally nowhere to even hang a frickin' coat!!! We almost left the place after the first night, but we didn't. I don't know why we stayed. Maybe because the room was already paid for. When we got home I contacted customer service at Urban Dealight to let them know how dissatisfied I was, and they would not help me at all. The Westport Inn really overcharges for what it is. It is more like a $50/night motel. I am still so mad about this, months later. Take my advice, and find somewhere else to stay!

  • Stayed December 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
Helpful?
14 Thank dalipardon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

171 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    71
    53
    27
    12
    8
See reviews for
44
78
3
10
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (66)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Riverton, Wyoming
Level 5 Contributor
56 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
Reviewed July 10, 2012

Stayed at the Westport Inn, June 18-22. Definitely an older property but well maintained with improvements being made. Our party had 3 couples and 2 dogs, so we booked the 3 bedroom suite that turned out to be a large apt! In fact, it is the windows you see above the pictures of the office. Great views, great location; full kitchen two full bathrooms, nice dining room table and good size living room. We were all comfortable, beds a bit soft for some of us, but better than my expectations. We stayed during the week so it was quiet, I'd be concerned about noise from the deck above on the weekend, but during the week it wasn't a problem. My only complaint, the man who was at the front desk during the day was brisk to the point of rude, all the other staff was quite friendly.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
7 Thank Cpyles
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
West Seattle, Washington, United States
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed June 23, 2012

I'm not sure where to start. No phones in the room so impossible to contact front desk for anything. Bottle of wine but no wine opener. Coupon fro free espresso at a place that is never open. Dank awful bathroom — hot water took twenty minutes to happen. Maid didn't change or make bad when she came. Walls so thin I could hear everything all around me. No ventilation, at all had to prop open the front door to get air and we were staying with a small child so that wasn't optimal. I've stayed in hojo's that were nicer we almost left after the first night but persevered since we were seeing family.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
11 Thank Kiki H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toledo, Ohio
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed June 23, 2012

We drove to westport to see the ocean. We drove into the Westport Inn because they had an ocean view. The outside looked like a cheaper motel but they had fixed the rooms up and everything was great! We had an ocean view room that was as nice as the bigger chain hotels that are very pricey. The furniture was new and the rooms looked like they had been freshly painted and remodeled. The carpet and floors were clean. The mattress on the bed was not too hard and not too soft with good quality sheets. We slept great. They gave us a free bottle of excellent wine that had been bottled in the Westport area. We did not hear any noise from other rooms but we were on the third floor. There are 28 steps to travel up to get to the 3rd floor. We stayed two nights and the hotel staff could not have been any friendlier. They knew the area and could advise us where to find the places we were looking for. Overall this was a great place to stay for the price. It was just as it appears. An older coastal motel at a fishing town that caters to the sport fisherman and nature lovers. We loved Westport as it was not "touristy" like some ocean resorts. The beach, marina, food everything was within walking distance. The only bad thing we found in Westport was sometimes if the wind was just right the smell was bad from the crab factory that was a few blocks away. For the price, this was a great find on our trip. We will stay again if we are ever fortunate to get in that area again. Thank you Westport staff for making our stay a pleasant experience.

Room Tip: Choose a third floor room for the ocean view. But remember...there are 28 stairs to go up to get th...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Barbara W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Maple Ridge, Canada
Level 3 Contributor
17 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed June 4, 2012

We bought a Groupon for this place - great deal but wouldn't go again. Westport is a nice little place but this Inn needs alot of work. Walls are very thin, we could hear the conversation going on in the next room. I could feel the wind coming in through the door - we had to stuff a towel in it to keep the breeze out.

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank avkayaker
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Portland, Oregon
Level 5 Contributor
64 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed May 14, 2012 via mobile

Hotel is clean, service fine and care is clearly taken in the property overall. Location is central and views from the shared deck are wonderful!
However, our stay was a disapointment. We had a groupon and upgraded to a king suite for $20/night. If we had been paying full price for the room we would have left.
There was severe wear and tear throughout the room and mold in the shower. Efforts at painting touch-ups were performed with a different color paint leaving an under construction feel to the place. The layout of the sitting room was awkward at best and not pleasant to hang out in. The couch and chair were stained and worn out. The advertised fire place was a portable electric heater with faux flames behind a plastic front - this I consider seriously faulty advertising and would strongly suggest a revision on the website.
There was a helpful binder in the room with good local information and the wine glasses and bottle opener were a nice touch.
Overall we'd stay again at groupon prices (because we have family in town) and would just know what to expect next time. From the reviews on here and their website and the prices we expected something much more up-to-date.

  • Stayed May 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank nutmeg8629
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ROSEBURG, OREGON
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed May 1, 2012

Westport is a wonderful, little fishing village on the Washington coast. Westport Inn is an older hotel right in the middle of town. Restaurants, the harbor, beach trails, and the observation tower are all within walking distance, easy walking. The Inn itself is older but very well maintained and clean. The owners and the staff were all outstanding. Despite the wind and the rain, we enjoyed it very much. We just put on our raincoats, pulled up the hoods and went walking anyway. It was very refreshing. We would like to go again when it is warmer. The town is very quiet and uncrowded in April when we were there but I can imagine it being very busy in summer. There are several large paking lots for tourists.

Room Tip: There is no elevator but upstairs rooms have the views of the channel that you won't see at grou...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank LYNETTE N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Westport
0.2 mi away
Westport Marina Cottages Motel
2.0 mi away
Chateau Westport
Chateau Westport
#3 of 14 in Westport
219 reviews
1.1 mi away
Breakers Boutique Inn
Breakers Boutique Inn
#8 of 14 in Westport
27 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.7 mi away
Ocean Avenue Inn
Ocean Avenue Inn
#6 of 14 in Westport
50 reviews
6.9 mi away
Canterbury Inn
Canterbury Inn
#1 of 14 in Ocean Shores
341 reviews
7.9 mi away
Best Western Lighthouse Suites Inn
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Westport Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Westport Inn

Property: Westport Inn
Address: 2501 North Nyhus, Westport, WA 98595
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Washington > Westport
Amenities:
Beach Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 14 Hotels in Westport
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Westport Inn 2.5*
Number of rooms: 41
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Great view from 2nd and 3rd floor rooms. 3 minute walk to beach or docks in historic downtown Westport. Room types include the following: 12 new cabins including jacuzzi cabins, 8-person cabins with 4 bunkbeds, and a 12 person cabin with 10 bunkbeds and a queen bed. Cabins equipped with kitchens, flatscreen tvs with cable and dvd players, picnic tables. 3rd floor King Suites with great views of harbor and/or ocean. King and Double Queen rooms with ocean views or ground floor. 2nd floor 3 Bedroom apartment suite sleeps up to 10 with views of harbor and ocean. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Travelocity, Hotwire, Priceline and Cheap Tickets so you can book your Westport Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Westport Hotel Westport

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing