We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good steaks”
Review of Windmill

Windmill
Ranked #9 of 134 Restaurants in Wenatchee
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $10 - $40
Cuisines: Steakhouse
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Dinner, Reservations
Description: First opened in 1931, The Windmill has earned an international reputation for excellent Western American food and devoted staff. The rustic and cozy interior invites the visitor to a unique social and dining experience, attended by a highly professional service staff. Slow roasted prime rib, highest quality hand cut grain fed steaks and fresh seafood are the mainstay of this landmark restaurant. Old fashioned, home made apple pie, marionberry and cream pies are made daily at the restaurant. An excellent selection of regional wines and beers are available.
Olympia, Washington
Level Contributor
66 reviews
37 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
“Good steaks”
Reviewed February 8, 2013 via mobile

As some have stated, the place is dated, and quaint. However, the service is spot on, the food is good, and it is comfortable. Others think it is pricey, but I paid about thirty bucks for a good steak, salad, potato, and trimmings. No ala carte add ons. I did not think it was over priced at all. If you are looking for a steak in Wenatchee, this is a good choice.

Helpful?
1 Thank olytraveler_10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

175 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    94
    35
    23
    13
    10
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Wenatchee, Washington
Level Contributor
41 reviews
32 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“It's Back”
Reviewed February 6, 2013

New ownership brings back the Windmill or old. For the best steak in Wenatchee this is it. Not the cheapest steak but definately the best.

  • Visited January 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank HKN222
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kihei, Hawaii
Level Contributor
29 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Excellent steak dinners!”
Reviewed January 3, 2013

Good service and great food. I love the steaks and enjoy the pies. The wait staff is friendly and efficient. My favorite place for a birthday treat.

Visited December 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank Charles M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Seattle, Washington
Level Contributor
16 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“A family favorite.”
Reviewed November 25, 2012

The Windmill has been our family celebration spot for 40 years. Through 3 sets of management, and a gazillion steaks, they're still our favorite. Definitely the best steaks and marionberry pie east of the Cascades.

Visited December 2011
Helpful?
Thank Topazcat8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wenatchee, Washington
Level Contributor
33 reviews
18 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
“OK”
Reviewed November 13, 2012

Went to the Windmill for the first time in several years. I can remember this being quite the restaurant to go to. Somewhere for a special occasion being that it is expensive. I spent quite a few anniversaries and the such at the Windmill growing up here in the valley.
The prices are still expensive and the menu items are about the same. I grew up eating the marinated beef chunks and I tried them again this last time. They were ok. I noticed alot of gristle and overly chewy pieces. I asked for medium rare to medium. I got one chunk bloody and another well done. Everyone else at the table seemed happy with their meals. Service was excellent but we were also her only table. While seated in the dining area for about an hour and half we saw only two other couples come in. It was absolutely dead in there!

  • Visited October 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank KJBCHB
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Windmill also viewed

 

Been to Windmill? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing