We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great little hotel with an outdoor pool.”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Red Lion Hotel Wenatchee
Ranked #12 of 16 Hotels in Wenatchee
Level Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Great little hotel with an outdoor pool.”
Reviewed July 24, 2013 via mobile

We get a Gov rate, which was a super deal. Always ask for their best rate !
We got a 1st floor handicap room. Asked for extra pillows which were delivered promptly.
The beds were very comfy. Bath was more spacious bcuz it was a handicap room. The shower curtain reeked of mildew and there is no fart fan. Those are the only two drawbacks.
As far as I could tell, ALL the accommodations in Wenatchee are right on the train tracks. We did not hear a train. Red Lion offers a" roaring start breakfast" add-on which we declined. It is a decent buffet as we have utilized it at other properties. Eggs, bacon, sausage served buffet style over sterno heat. and the regular continental fare.
We arrived in the evening and woke to drive to Chelan. They have one of the greatest waterparks ever. Its is little know , as we live only 120 miles away and only learned of it via internet searches. Red Lion is a much cheaper alternative to paying to stay in Chelan.
There may be cheaper motels, but you get what u pay for.

  • Stayed July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank heathersflowers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

383 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    89
    112
    96
    45
    41
See reviews for
108
91
21
93
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (91)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Seattle
Level Contributor
28 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
Reviewed June 18, 2013

I travel lots for business and usually stay at the big chains due to corporate policy etc.., but when I spend my own money and travel with my family I love Red Lion. For roughly $100 you get the same things you would find at a Hilton property, and from staff that really tries hard. I'm a sucker for nostalgia, and this hotel brings back fond memories of my childhood. Look around and you will not find a hotel chain that still has outdoor pools, but Red Lion does. The pool is big with comfy chairs, a hot tub and lots of room to play. You get a real breakfast and the rooms are large. The location is central to restaurants and riverfront park. The beds are great and the air conditioner is pretty quiet. Love this hotel.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank mattkingston
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
33 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed June 1, 2013 via mobile

Very plain, no amenities. Shower pressure was low, even the hair dryer was weak. Couldn't get king due to an event, still cost $139. Pool was fine. Heavy traffic outside. Woke up with stiff back. Neat little random contribution "library" currently filled with romances.

  • Stayed May 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Deuce444
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
seattle, wa
Level Contributor
132 reviews
95 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 82 helpful votes
Reviewed May 28, 2013

When I was growing up in Wenatchee in the 70's, the Thunderbird was the nicest place in town. That was a long, long time ago. I think it was purchased by the Red Lion chain 15+ years back. The very large rooms were updated with remodeled bathrooms and new carpets and drapes fairly recently. Our bed in room 307 was VERY comfortable, but that was likely just luck. We enjoyed excellent water pressure in the shower, but were slightly concerned about the toilet flushing (it did.) The TV was not a flat screen and got terrible reception with very few channels. The wi-fi worked fine for us (we don't try and stream movies though). Fridge and microwave were fine. We always have earplugs handy and thus slept well although the train does go by directly behind the property in the middle of the night. (No whistle, just engine sounds). The location is great for dinner options with sushi, mexican, thai, pho, healthy sandwiches and an Albertsons within a quarter mile. Starbucks too!

Elevator Note: The lobby is on the second of 3 floors. The property is rectangular with the pool in the middle and the only elevator is in the rear of the facility, requiring an indoor walk around the entire property's perimeter. This is probably 300-400 steps. So if you require using a luggage cart, you may have a loooong walk depending on which room you are in. There are flights of stairs in many locations, so if you don't require an elevator you're in good shape.

Room Tip: Back of the property has river views but is right near the train tracks. 2nd floor is the entry leve...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Substrata23
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pleasant Hill, California
Level Contributor
41 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed May 23, 2013 via mobile

Stayed here a couple days on business. It's been 10+ years since I've stayed here. Called around last minute to find a hotel, the Springhill was 150+ and most everything else is lower standard in town. The Redlion looks worse from the outside than it actually is, it's fairly updated and very clean inside. I would stay here again.

  • Stayed May 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Dave R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tumwater, Washington
Level Contributor
112 reviews
37 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 78 helpful votes
Reviewed May 19, 2013

Just returned after a two night stay at the Wenatchee Red Lion. This is an older property that is held together by a thread and a very active "deferred maintenance" program. Here are the cons: The AC unit in my room was as loud as a train engine. In fact, it was so loud that it actually drowned out the trains that traveled on the tracks 400' from the back of the room. The toilet refilled every five minutes because they are too cheap to just put a new rubber plug in the toilet. The bed was extremely uncomfortable and had such a sag in the middle, I could not sleep with a pillow. To top it off, the hotel room I had was 3 hallways away from the front desk and the key card they gave me was defective, requiring 3 trips back and forth to the front desk and a visit from maintenance to tell me they use the cards until they wear out and I needed a completely different card. Last but not least, the pool looks nice, but the heating element was broken, so it was ice cold. The sign at the front desk said they were waiting for a part to come in, but after all the other issues I encountered, who knows why. The wi-fi was horribly slow and not sustainable to watch shows. There were also acoustic and staffing issues our group encountered while utilizing the conference facilities that were problematic.

There were a few bright spots, such as the fridge and coffee maker in the room, nice shower and showerhead, maids who did a good job cleaning, grounds were well maintained, and the staff were all very friendly. The breakfast included eggs, sausages, bacon, bagels, and coffee. It was good. It is also centrally located across the street from many restaurants and shopping and an Albertsons. With all the places to stay in Wenatchee, I would stay elsewhere. This place is a few steps away from a maintenance collapse, and clearly they do not want to spend money doing any upgrades. This is unfortunate, because I got the impression from the overly-friendly staff that they take pride in this facility and would do more if corporate would put some money into it.

Room Tip: Stay on the opposite side of the railroad tracks.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Tundra74
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RL_Customer_Care, Corporate Customer Care Department at Red Lion Hotel Wenatchee, responded to this review, May 28, 2013
We appreciate you taking the time to post a review of your various experiences while visiting our property. We apologize that your guest room was uncomfortable due to the bed and the noise of the air conditioning. This is something we will be looking into and following up with our engineering staff on. We would like to apologize for your key cards not working and that you had to make multiple trips to the front desk as well. You are a valued guest and we hope to better serve you during your next stay.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Wenatchee hotels

seattle, wa
Level Contributor
31 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
Reviewed May 17, 2013

Things I liked: the staff is friendly, the beds are comfy (the pillows are only okay), decent shower, good towels. CLEAN. It's convenient to the Riverfront Trail and restaurants, shopping, etc. The pool chairs are quality. Hot or cold breakfast is included. It's nice to have a fridge.

Things I didn't like: my view of a trailer park, busy train tracks, noisy conference rooms, the ancient fuzzy television. The location is not scenic. The location is nothing-special-strip mall-ish.

The Red Lion is the Red Lion and it's never going to dazzle me. The good outweighs the mediocre @ Wenatchee. I'd stay again.

  • Stayed May 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank tkl74
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Wenatchee hotels
0.4 mi away
Comfort Inn Downtown Wenatchee
0.2 mi away
Best Western Chieftain Inn
Best Western Chieftain Inn
#4 of 16 in Wenatchee
526 reviews
1.9 mi away
Comfort Suites
Comfort Suites
#1 of 16 in Wenatchee
504 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.9 mi away
Coast Wenatchee Center Hotel
1.0 mi away
La Quinta Inn & Suites Wenatchee
0.2 mi away
Super 8 Wenatchee
Super 8 Wenatchee
#6 of 16 in Wenatchee
651 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Red Lion Hotel Wenatchee? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Red Lion Hotel Wenatchee

Property: Red Lion Hotel Wenatchee
Address: 1225 N Wenatchee Ave, Wenatchee, WA 98801
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Washington > Wenatchee
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #12 of 16 Hotels in Wenatchee
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Red Lion Hotel Wenatchee 3*
Number of rooms: 149
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located In the heart of Washington's apple country, the Red Lion Hotel Wenatchee is on the main thoroughfare through town, next to Highway 2 and just minutes from Leavenworth, Washington and Pangborn Airport. During your stay, you will want to tour the Aplets & Cotlets Candy Factory and our hydro-electric dams and enjoy recreation on the Columbia River. The Gorge Amphitheatre (40 min), Lake Chelan (35 min), the Bavarian Village of Leavenworth, Washington (20 min) and the Cascade Loop are all close by. Wenatchee Valley College is less than 1-1/2 miles from the hotel.Our 149 spacious guest rooms, including one suite, feature all of the services and amenities you would expect of a first-class hotel, including Thoughtful comforts include Red Lion's plush pillowtop beds, amenities featuring Eco Fresh Environmentally Responsible Products (ERP), free wi-fi, microwave and refrigerators, telephone and laundry valet service. Kick back and relax in our seasonal outdoor pool and whirlpool or work out in our fitness center. Packages are available for golf at Desert Canyon and Highlander Golf Courses and skiing at Mission Ridge. Also nearby you can enjoy waterskiing, beaches, river rafting and tennis. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Travelocity, Hotwire, Cancelon and getaroom.com so you can book your Red Lion Hotel Wenatchee reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Red Lion Wenatchee
Wenatchee Red Lion

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing