We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“OK for a night”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Red Lion Hotel Wenatchee
Ranked #11 of 16 Hotels in Wenatchee
seattle, wa
Level 6 Contributor
132 reviews
95 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 82 helpful votes
“OK for a night”
Reviewed May 28, 2013

When I was growing up in Wenatchee in the 70's, the Thunderbird was the nicest place in town. That was a long, long time ago. I think it was purchased by the Red Lion chain 15+ years back. The very large rooms were updated with remodeled bathrooms and new carpets and drapes fairly recently. Our bed in room 307 was VERY comfortable, but that was likely just luck. We enjoyed excellent water pressure in the shower, but were slightly concerned about the toilet flushing (it did.) The TV was not a flat screen and got terrible reception with very few channels. The wi-fi worked fine for us (we don't try and stream movies though). Fridge and microwave were fine. We always have earplugs handy and thus slept well although the train does go by directly behind the property in the middle of the night. (No whistle, just engine sounds). The location is great for dinner options with sushi, mexican, thai, pho, healthy sandwiches and an Albertsons within a quarter mile. Starbucks too!

Elevator Note: The lobby is on the second of 3 floors. The property is rectangular with the pool in the middle and the only elevator is in the rear of the facility, requiring an indoor walk around the entire property's perimeter. This is probably 300-400 steps. So if you require using a luggage cart, you may have a loooong walk depending on which room you are in. There are flights of stairs in many locations, so if you don't require an elevator you're in good shape.

Room Tip: Back of the property has river views but is right near the train tracks. 2nd floor is the entry leve...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Substrata23
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

390 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    91
    113
    98
    46
    42
See reviews for
111
93
21
95
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (92)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Pleasant Hill, California
Level 4 Contributor
41 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed May 23, 2013 via mobile

Stayed here a couple days on business. It's been 10+ years since I've stayed here. Called around last minute to find a hotel, the Springhill was 150+ and most everything else is lower standard in town. The Redlion looks worse from the outside than it actually is, it's fairly updated and very clean inside. I would stay here again.

  • Stayed May 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Dave R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tumwater, Washington
Level 6 Contributor
112 reviews
37 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 78 helpful votes
Reviewed May 19, 2013

Just returned after a two night stay at the Wenatchee Red Lion. This is an older property that is held together by a thread and a very active "deferred maintenance" program. Here are the cons: The AC unit in my room was as loud as a train engine. In fact, it was so loud that it actually drowned out the trains that traveled on the tracks 400' from the back of the room. The toilet refilled every five minutes because they are too cheap to just put a new rubber plug in the toilet. The bed was extremely uncomfortable and had such a sag in the middle, I could not sleep with a pillow. To top it off, the hotel room I had was 3 hallways away from the front desk and the key card they gave me was defective, requiring 3 trips back and forth to the front desk and a visit from maintenance to tell me they use the cards until they wear out and I needed a completely different card. Last but not least, the pool looks nice, but the heating element was broken, so it was ice cold. The sign at the front desk said they were waiting for a part to come in, but after all the other issues I encountered, who knows why. The wi-fi was horribly slow and not sustainable to watch shows. There were also acoustic and staffing issues our group encountered while utilizing the conference facilities that were problematic.

There were a few bright spots, such as the fridge and coffee maker in the room, nice shower and showerhead, maids who did a good job cleaning, grounds were well maintained, and the staff were all very friendly. The breakfast included eggs, sausages, bacon, bagels, and coffee. It was good. It is also centrally located across the street from many restaurants and shopping and an Albertsons. With all the places to stay in Wenatchee, I would stay elsewhere. This place is a few steps away from a maintenance collapse, and clearly they do not want to spend money doing any upgrades. This is unfortunate, because I got the impression from the overly-friendly staff that they take pride in this facility and would do more if corporate would put some money into it.

Room Tip: Stay on the opposite side of the railroad tracks.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Tundra74
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RL_Customer_Care, Corporate Customer Care Department at Red Lion Hotel Wenatchee, responded to this review, May 28, 2013
We appreciate you taking the time to post a review of your various experiences while visiting our property. We apologize that your guest room was uncomfortable due to the bed and the noise of the air conditioning. This is something we will be looking into and following up with our engineering staff on. We would like to apologize for your key cards not working and that you had to make multiple trips to the front desk as well. You are a valued guest and we hope to better serve you during your next stay.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Wenatchee hotels

seattle, wa
Level 4 Contributor
31 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
Reviewed May 17, 2013

Things I liked: the staff is friendly, the beds are comfy (the pillows are only okay), decent shower, good towels. CLEAN. It's convenient to the Riverfront Trail and restaurants, shopping, etc. The pool chairs are quality. Hot or cold breakfast is included. It's nice to have a fridge.

Things I didn't like: my view of a trailer park, busy train tracks, noisy conference rooms, the ancient fuzzy television. The location is not scenic. The location is nothing-special-strip mall-ish.

The Red Lion is the Red Lion and it's never going to dazzle me. The good outweighs the mediocre @ Wenatchee. I'd stay again.

  • Stayed May 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank tkl74
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wenatchee, Washington
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed May 7, 2013

We checked in on a Wednesday and stayed through Sunday. So let's start with the pros of the visit :)
First, the front desk staff was simply amazing. They were friendly, courteous, and quick to respond if we needed anything.
Breakfast: It was good. The breakfast is 6.95, that is a definite deal when you think what you have to pay when you go out to breakfast. My husband and I if we were to go to McDonald's would have to pay about $13.00 for meal and drinks.
Rooms: Were adequate, but I'm not picky. I go to my hotel room to sleep, not take in the atmosphere of the hotel. I mean we are on vacation, who spends their time in their room the whole time? It was clean and stocked.
Location: the location of this property is actually pretty central, you can get to anywhere you need to go via the main road that this is located on.
Cons: Bar not so great. On Friday they closed by 10pm and had to leave by 11pm. Really on a Friday night? Standard hours of x time to x time would be appreciated, we'd at least know what to expect. The previous year we were there until 1am playing pool, drinking and having a good time with our friends that we only get to see when we come into town. Nope, had to pack that in early... disappointed for sure.

Room Tip: Ask for a room up front and on the second floor, it makes loading and unloading easier.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Simone W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Seattle, Washington
Level 4 Contributor
39 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed April 16, 2013

This was our second stay at this hotel. The hotel itself is good. Rooms are spacious and have balconies. The bathroom is a good size, with a vanity inside and outside. Breakfast was included in our stay. It was ok; eggs, bacon, sausage, potatoes, cereal and muffins. If it wasn't included in my stay I wouldn't have eaten at the hotel. The pool area is nice. The hotel is located around tons of food places and a Safeway/Starbucks is very close.

My issues were with the staff and decisions they made with a pool closure and also a late night phone call to my room from the front desk. They were asking if we were up making noise (which we were not) and after I told them we were in bed she was still accusatory about it.

Other than that, the hotel is a good place to stay.

Room Tip: Don't get a room at the back end of the hotel because a train goes by there.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Andrew M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Seattle, WA
Level 3 Contributor
15 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed April 14, 2013

Stayed here a Friday and Saturday nights, for a large baseball tournament that filled all the rooms in the city. Nice hotel, convenient location, helpful staff, clean, huge double queen rooms, great heated outdoor pool and hot tub, lots of hot water in the shower. The only real negative was the hallway noise. Some kids running up and down the halls and shouting, but given that the hotel was completely packed with baseball kids, I expected this, and it was quiet by 11pm (stayed on the 3rd/top floor). Heat/fan worked great and I was able to leave it on all night for white noise. Had a connecting door but never heard the family on the other side. TV was old but who cares? My room rate did not include the hot buffet breakfast but could be added for $5.99 (10 & under eat free) and well worth the price. Will stay here again if we return to Wenatchee.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank aherman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Wenatchee hotels
0.4 mi away
Comfort Inn Downtown Wenatchee
1.9 mi away
Comfort Suites
Comfort Suites
#1 of 16 in Wenatchee
521 reviews
1.0 mi away
La Quinta Inn & Suites Wenatchee
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.9 mi away
Coast Wenatchee Center Hotel
0.2 mi away
Super 8 Wenatchee
Super 8 Wenatchee
#6 of 16 in Wenatchee
682 reviews
0.2 mi away
Best Western Chieftain Inn
Best Western Chieftain Inn
#4 of 16 in Wenatchee
558 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Red Lion Hotel Wenatchee? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Red Lion Hotel Wenatchee

Property: Red Lion Hotel Wenatchee
Address: 1225 N Wenatchee Ave, Wenatchee, WA 98801
Location: United States > Washington > Wenatchee
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #11 of 16 Hotels in Wenatchee
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Red Lion Hotel Wenatchee 3*
Number of rooms: 149
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located In the heart of Washington's apple country, the Red Lion Hotel Wenatchee is on the main thoroughfare through town, next to Highway 2 and just minutes from Leavenworth, Washington and Pangborn Airport. During your stay, you will want to tour the Aplets & Cotlets Candy Factory and our hydro-electric dams and enjoy recreation on the Columbia River. The Gorge Amphitheatre (40 min), Lake Chelan (35 min), the Bavarian Village of Leavenworth, Washington (20 min) and the Cascade Loop are all close by. Wenatchee Valley College is less than 1-1/2 miles from the hotel.Our 149 spacious guest rooms, including one suite, feature all of the services and amenities you would expect of a first-class hotel, including Thoughtful comforts include Red Lion's plush pillowtop beds, amenities featuring Eco Fresh Environmentally Responsible Products (ERP), free wi-fi, microwave and refrigerators, telephone and laundry valet service. Kick back and relax in our seasonal outdoor pool and whirlpool or work out in our fitness center. Packages are available for golf at Desert Canyon and Highlander Golf Courses and skiing at Mission Ridge. Also nearby you can enjoy waterskiing, beaches, river rafting and tennis. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Booking.com, Priceline, Hotels.com, Expedia, Hotwire and getaroom.com so you can book your Red Lion Hotel Wenatchee reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Red Lion Wenatchee
Wenatchee Red Lion

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing