We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great if you like historic hotels.”

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Waterville
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Waterville Historic Hotel
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Waterville
Reviewed October 28, 2012

After reading many Trip Advisor reviews we decided to stay at this hotel on our trip from B.C. Canada to South Dakota. It was our first stop and for one night only. Luckily we arrived right at the check-in time or we would have been standing around waiting for the 'hosts' to come back from doing their shopping. Some things to add that previous reviewers didn't mention is that the hotel is right on the main highway going through town (in fact, so is the whole town). Although traffic was going by, I didn't hear it at night and our room was facing the road. The hotel is right across the street from a very nice park that kids/dog could easily be amused by. Also, the hotel is just up from the museum. We arrived there on a Monday and there was only one restaurant in town to eat at - everything else was closed.The hotel does have an old barbecue and picnic table on the side that anyone can use - you just have to have your own utensils, dishes, etc. (including food). There was also one grocery store open - everything was easily within walking distance. The hotel has a fridge in their 'breakfast room' where you can help yourself to water, juice, etc. all day long. The room itself was your typical antique room with a free standing bath. There were also two bathrooms down the hall that anyone could use (one with a shower). No air conditioning was available in our room - only a fan - but Dave left the door open to an adjoining room (which wasn't being occupied for the night) so we could get some cool air from that air conditioning. For breakfast there was coffee/juice/water and some packaged pastries. The best was their one and only fresh scones from the bakery. We just had scones and coffee and had a real breakfast further up the road.

Room Tip: They're all beautiful and offer different choices - we saw one really large room, ours was a que...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank leslie026
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (66)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

43 - 49 of 66 reviews

Reviewed October 10, 2012

We stumbled upon this wonderful hotel by chance when driving from Spokane to Seattle and just popped in on the off chance to see if they had a vacancy for one night. We were shown a suite by Amy and it was just fabulous, so much so that we immediately booked another nights stay. We arrived weary and left refreshed which was due to the quality of peace and quiet we enjoyed in this small town and in particular at this hotel. Dave and Amy, the owners, were extremely helpful with tips and information to not only help us to enjoy their town but also to help us on the next leg of our trip. Dave was kind enough to talk us through some plans for our trip from San Francisco to Atlanta and even gave us some detailed maps, for which we were extremely grateful having managed so far with only a fairly basic road map. The breakfast muffins are also worthy of a mention as they were the largest I have seen so far in the US and that is saying something!

Also worth mentioning that this hotel has been lovingly restored by Dave and Amy and is a great example of the early 1900's era with some fab memorabillia on display. Go take a look for yourselves, you won't be disappointed.

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Alison K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 14, 2012

This is the most perfect place to have a Romantic getaway. It is charming, elegant and everything else that appeals to your romantic side. If you can tear your self away from this wonderful hotel for lunch, there is a beautiful park within just a couple of blocks to enjoy a romantic picnic lunch. September is a wonderful time to be here as kids are back in school and the weather is still very nice.

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank SpottsCouleeDam
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 1, 2011

Three generations of our family enjoyed the gracious hospitality and charm of the Historic Waterville Hotel on a stopover to Lake Chelan. This is no cookie-cutter hotel, and is filled with tasteful antiques, lovely furniture and all the comforts of staying with hosts who care about your comfort and relaxation. Be sure to sit awhile on the comfortable porch and watch the clouds while sipping something cool. This might be your oasis of calm in a busy vacation schedule, or a romantic weekend with few distractions. Dave took excellent care of us, even sending back a robe left behind. The large suite made for memorable family conversation and enough privacy for good story-telling. We would unanimously love to come back!

  • Stayed: July 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank pamelaknight
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 6, 2011

This is a great place to get away and drive around eastern washington. this hotel is 100 years old and Dave has rennovated it with lots of love and care. I would recommend coming here just to chill.

  • Stayed: June 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank travelsoloSeattle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 13, 2011

If you plan to visit the Waterville Historic Hotel, and we definitely recommend that you do, it is best to stay for more than a day. The peaceful ambience, the cleanliness and comfort of the fascinating decor, and the history of this beautiful stately old hotel will slowly seep into your soul until you are breathing a bit deeper. You will discover that life has slowed down enough for you to savor every precious moment.

We stayed in one of the larger rooms with a huge clawfoot bath en suite, which I found incredibly luxuriant and worth the extra money. I even got my 6'4" hubby to take a bath, as for once we had a tub big enough for his comfort. The shower down the hall worked well for our morning rinse-off and hair washing. I'm not usually much of a sleeper, but we both slept really well in the comfy queen-sized bed in the beautiful quiet room.

Waterville Historical Museum, right across the street from the hotel, is definitely worth a couple of hours or more of your time and is another good reason to stay for an extra night at the hotel since it doesn't open until 11:00 A.M. The town has lots of wonderful old buildings with an interesting history and is set on a high plateau with lovely rolling hills and wheat fields, but don't expect to find a lot of modern conveniences here.

In fact hours and days of services in Waterville are a bit unusual. Finding good places to eat was a struggle as we seemed to keep missing open days and hours of our few chosen restaurants. When we go back again, we will plan the timing of our area explorations of Orondo, Lake Chelan, and perhaps even Wenatchee, so that we can eat meals while we are out and about, if preferred restaurants in Waterville are not available. We will also take along with us a cooler of picnic goodies and wine so that we can enjoy a quiet picnic meal on the splendid front porch of the hotel, or across the street in the park, or somewhere out on the rolling hills. A bit of creativity is called for here. If the weather is bad, picnic meals can be eaten at the cozy dining table over a raucous game of Scrabble. You could also bring in a pizza as the town does have a pizza parlor, though we didn't try it.

We would agree that the owner, Dave, is a bit brusque in the people skills department, but his multiplicity of other skills are evident in the intricate remodeling and management of this graceful old hotel and the good he has done for the town of Waterville. He was also great about remembering names and details. Amy was very warm and pleasant and graciously made sure we had what we needed and even took time from her busy schedule our last morning to sit and chat with us over coffee as we ate our delicious breakfast pastries. Other than that we were left to our own devices which is just the way we like it.

  • Stayed: June 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ddlars
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 24, 2010

I stay here fairly frequently, and it is such a welcome respite to have a comfortable oasis to depend on. Dave and Amy are always pleasant and accommodating, and they really are experts in running a great business in a small town: they know the great places to eat & visit, and they are full of tips for travelers.

The hotel is a remodeled historic building in a superb setting. As you can see from the reviews, Waterville is a great stop on a long highway and just right for the weary traveler who might want something special. No, it's not the fanciest hotel you'll ever stay at, but it is extremely clean, well-appointed with historical artifacts, and with friendly service.

Highly recommended!!

  • Stayed: August 2010, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank NWRoadie60
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Waterville Historic Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Waterville Historic Hotel

Address: 102 E Park St, Waterville, WA 98858
Location: United States > Washington > Waterville
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Waterville
Number of rooms: 247

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing