We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Over the top cocktails and food”
Review of jimgermanbar - CLOSED

jimgermanbar
Cuisines: American
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Large groups, Bar scene, Business meetings, Local cuisine, Special occasions
Dining options: Dinner, Late Night, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol
Vancouver, Washington
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Over the top cocktails and food”
Reviewed December 19, 2013

We have now visited jimgermanbar three times. It seems that it just keeps getting better. The food is delicious and made daily. The cocktails are unique and yummy. Jim and his wife are awesome folks!

  • Visited December 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank SharStuart
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

46 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    36
    4
    2
    1
    3
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Seattle Washington
Level Contributor
47 reviews
31 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“just ask Jim”
Reviewed October 15, 2013

Across from the Whoopemup - this is a small, intimate place. Sit at the bar if you want the best experience. Jim makes all the drinks and if you tell him what you generally like, he'll make something new that you'll like. (it isn't a cheap place, but it's worth it). The food is also really good - and the portions are bigger than you think (eg, sharing is easy and works really well).

Visited October 2013
Helpful?
Thank English_Setter
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pullman, Washington
Level Contributor
119 reviews
63 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 105 helpful votes
“Surprising find in small town.”
Reviewed September 3, 2013 via mobile

This bar has a small food menu but it is excellent - interesting and very fresh. We tried the crostini and all three were wonderful. Black cod and schnitzel were the entrees we chose and they were also delicious.

The highlight of this place, however, is Jim's amazing cocktails. He asks a couple of questions and produces a drink you never thought of, but love. Only problem is it's hard to stop!

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Locheriboll
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manhattan, New York, United States
Level Contributor
32 reviews
17 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Great cocktails”
Reviewed August 5, 2013

We were returning to Walla Walla after a cheese tasting in Dayton at Monteillet Fromagerie and stopped by for a drink. What a great place! The light inside the bar was amazing, the customers were super cool with a Brooklyn kind of vibe. I started chatting with the bartender who ended up being Jim German. He was telling us how to prepare Pegus and then Jim started telling us about all the drinks the British soldiers used to drink in old British colonies, the perceived antimalaralial properties of the drinks, etc. Then he made us try the ham he had cured and some cheese, showing us his wife's sculptures, etc. The food looked delicious ut the appetizer scallops were gone when we started becoming hungry. What a cool place!

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Hernan V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ilwaco, Washington
Level Contributor
42 reviews
27 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“Funky Place that is worth the trip”
Reviewed July 24, 2013

First of all Jim German is a great guy and a great drink maker. The food is really good and seems to change. The decor is, well...odd....but somehow it works. Get reservations and ask to sit at the bar. His drinks are made with fresh agreements and the food is served hot. The waiters were amazingly friendly. It was a great experience. I read some of the reviews where people have rated this place low and I do get it. Many of them wrote bad reviews because they showed up with a large group without reservations and Jim didn't appreciate that. I can see that...I heard the complaint that he must not need their money....they are right he doesn't. He makes it a great experience for those that are there. It was absolutely a fun place to hang out in Waitsburg.

  • Visited July 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank ilwacohawk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed jimgermanbar also viewed

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing