We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Best Thai Food!” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of May Kitchen

May Kitchen
Reserve with OpenTable
May Kitchen is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #1 of 32 Restaurants in Vashon
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $30 - $30
Cuisines: Asian, Thai
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romantic, Special occasions, Families with children
Dining options: Dinner, Full Bar, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Dining style: Casual Dining
Cross street: Bank Rd SW
Transit: The nearest transit stop is Vashon Hwy SW and SW Bank Rd. We are just south of the stop on the east side of the street.
Description: New superb thai restaurant on vashon island set to officially open next weekend. went to a "soft opening". this place would stand out in any major market in the u.s......check it out!
Seattle
Level Contributor
60 reviews
26 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
“Best Thai Food!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 6, 2014

I was so pleasantly surprised by May Kitchen on Vashon Island. From the outside it was hard to tell if the restaurant was even open. To be honest I was hesitant to go in. Once inside...it was like entering another world. According to the employees the interior, which is wood, was imported from Thailand. We ate at the bar, so pleasant. The food was the best ever! I've traveled in Thailand and the food at May Kitchen was just as good. I highly recommend!

  • Visited May 2014
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Kidlet
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

116 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    88
    22
    3
    2
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Vashon, Washington, United States
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Best Thai, the atmosphere transports you away!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 2, 2014

Always wonderful food, the drinks so fresh, atmosphere is cozy & authentic. It is nice to be greeted by the same employees. We are always full when we leave and usually have a take home box! Our favorite is the fresh Thai spring rolls made with mango! 3 people, 3 drinks, 2 appetizers, 3 entrees for under $100. I appreciate the tofu offerings for a vegetarian meal. We are so lucky on Vashon Island to have May Kitchen!!! We go back regularly. Make a reservation if you want a table or there are more than 2 of you...usually the two of us take seat at the bar which is just as fun! Not really a place for kids...your young adult kids will like it though. A real fun evening is to order only the appetizers, which saves room for the dessert of deep fried coconut bananas!

  • Visited May 2014
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Gina J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SLC
Level Contributor
61 reviews
43 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
“Wow”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 19, 2014

We have eaten at May Kitchen 5 or 6 times and absolutely love this place. There red curry sauce must be tried - it's the best on earth. Flash fried watercress for an appetizer gets you ready for foodie heaven,
Reservations are a must unless you don't mind eating at the full bar. The staff is there to please. Once when booking by IPhone on the ferry we mistakenly booked at the identically named (but no relation) restaurant in Seattle. When we arrived they searched in vain for our reservation. We were stunned and disappointed but they apologized profusely (for my error) and immediately sat us to eat at the bar on a very busy night. On another very busy night, May, who cooks in the kitchen, felt we had waited too long for our meals and surprised us with a free dessert.
Go there.

  • Visited April 2014
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank HPSeeker
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boulder, Colorado
Level Contributor
19 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Best Thai Ever!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 12, 2014

Surprisingly enough, the best Thai food I have ever had was recently at May Kitchen and Bar on Vashon Island, WA. Wonderful ambience, excellent service and amazing food! I would go again in a heartbeat!

  • Visited May 2014
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank sydsnoise
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
seattle
Level Contributor
16 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Wow on Vashon”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 28, 2014

May could be the best place to eat on Vashon. Since there were two of us, we had to limit how much we ordered and it was all wonderful - fried watercress, pork skewers, green curry and the longest item on the menu. We watched the server prepare the pad Thai and wished we'd ordered that. As it was, we had a few leftovers to take home.

Visited April 2014
Helpful?
Thank notdot
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed May Kitchen also viewed

 

Been to May Kitchen? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing