We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent option”
Review of May Kitchen

May Kitchen
Reserve with OpenTable
May Kitchen is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #1 of 34 Restaurants in Vashon
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $30 - $30
Cuisines: Asian, Thai
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Romantic, Special occasions
Dining options: Dinner, Full Bar, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Dining style: Casual Dining
Cross street: Bank Rd SW
Transit: The nearest transit stop is Vashon Hwy SW and SW Bank Rd. We are just south of the stop on the east side of the street.
Description: New superb thai restaurant on vashon island set to officially open next weekend. went to a "soft opening". this place would stand out in any major market in the u.s......check it out!
Level Contributor
56 reviews
34 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Excellent option”
Reviewed February 17, 2014 via mobile

Made reservations for Valentines Day and this was our first visit to the island. Got there a couple hours early and everyone in the town made us feel welcomed. Had a drink at the bar next door while we waited and then were seated right away at May's. Outstanding service, exceptional food. Would go back if visiting again

Visited February 2014
Helpful?
Thank Wayne G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

120 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    91
    23
    3
    2
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
61 reviews
40 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“Best Thai food in Seattle!”
Reviewed February 13, 2014

We are lucky to have one of the best Thai restaurants right here on Vashon Island. My daughter-in-law is from Thailand and says it's the best Thai food outside of Thailand. When you walk in the wood paneling is from a 100 year old Thai house and the aromas are amazing!

Visited February 2014
Helpful?
Thank Gkirkish
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Seattle
Level Contributor
112 reviews
57 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 120 helpful votes
“Absolutely outstanding every time”
Reviewed January 8, 2014

We reviewed May Kitchen previously not long after we had first been there in 2013.
As we said at the time it has a very pleasing ambience and decor, but the food is a show in itself. This isn't your average Thai experience where you get menu item number 6 served up with no fanfare... the preparation and presentation are way beyond that, and utterly original.

Here's the update: we have visited May Kitchen a lot in the past year, and it remains one of our favorite restaurants. I have never had better Thai food anywhere (including in Thailand)... some of the dishes are deliriously good. The green curry and the pumpkin curry are divine, as is the Tom Ka soup, and the Pad Thai is outstanding... the latter is prepared at the table in what amounts to a minor show.

May Kitchen is worth going out of your way for. Take the ferry, don't miss it - but book a couple of days in advance, because it is deservedly very popular.

  • Visited December 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Sweetkoshka
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Seattle
Level Contributor
4 reviews
“Consistently the best...”
Reviewed January 7, 2014

One newspaper said "The best Thai restaurant in Seattle is on Vashon Island" and they were right! We live on Vashon, and have been waiting for decades for a restaurant of this quality.

  • Visited December 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Steveydevey
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tucson, Arizona
Level Contributor
59 reviews
32 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
“Super Thai”
Reviewed September 17, 2013

Of the several good Thai restaurants in the Seattle area, this is clearly the best. Great attention to detail in both decor and food, with ingredients shipped in from Thailand. We had the pad metmamuanghimmaphan and gaeng khiao wan, both of which were outstanding. Servers very knowledgeable. Don't be put off by the bland exterior. Open the door and be amazed. It can get busy, so a reservation is strongly advised. Dinner only.

  • Visited September 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank BobbyBMiles
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed May Kitchen also viewed

 

Been to May Kitchen? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing