We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Delightful small town setting a ferry ride from Seattle and Tacoma”
4 of 5 bubbles Review of The Hardware Store

The Hardware Store
Reserve with OpenTable
The Hardware Store is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #2 of 34 Restaurants in Vashon
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $30 - $30
Cuisines: American
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Large groups, Kids, Families with children, Local cuisine
Dining options: Dinner, Brunch, Breakfast, Lunch, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Dining style: Casual Dining
Cross street: Bank Road
Transit: Local bus stops less than 100 yards from our front door
Description: Located on Vashon Island near Seattle, Wa.
Bellevue WA
Level Contributor
68 reviews
47 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Delightful small town setting a ferry ride from Seattle and Tacoma”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 28, 2013

Vashon Island is one of a few rural, small towns that remain in Western Washington. It also has a large colony of artists who do excellent work, offered in the local restaurants, galleries and stores. This restaurant was an old fashioned hardware store and the decor preserves its character. It is a delight, attractive, excellent service, very good bar. Very nice menu, ranging from soups, burgers and salads to full dinners. Desserts large, delicious and suited to adult tastes and to children, who are very welcome.
Just a lovely experience on an interesting island. Be sure to visit the local stores and drive around the island. Bring your camera.

  • Visited May 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Al S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

209 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    75
    87
    34
    10
    3
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
“Great place with lots of veggie selections!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 27, 2013 via mobile

On a small island with a somewhat limited variety of eateries, this was a welcomed find. My boyfriend thought he'd try a "all veggie weekend" and I truly believe The Old Hardware Store convinced him that vegetarian eating can be both satisfying and delicious.

  • Visited October 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank tipperson
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sylacauga, Alabama
Level Contributor
61 reviews
51 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“What A Find!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 22, 2013

What a perfect day! We caught the ferry, met up with my cousin and they treated us to a wonderful lunch in a really quaint former hardware store!!! The prices were reasonable, the choices many and the dishes DELISH! This was my favorite meal during our trip to Seattle. Probably because it didn't break the bank and there was so many reasonable priced items on the menu!!! I had the Greek Tower, what fun! They had SO many gluten free options, it made choosing a meal fun!

Visited May 2013
Helpful?
Thank Mary P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tacoma, Washington
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“pretentious and over priced”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 4, 2013

Went for the soup, salad, sandwich combo w/ gluten free bread. There is some good gluten free bread being made now a days but this wasn't it. Soggy and gummy. I think it needed baked longer. Tiny sandwich, tiny salad, and small cup of soup. Mother-in-law got the fish and chips. Chips were good but fish was over cooked. The "medium" hamburger was over cooked from a pre made frozen patties.

  • Visited May 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Liz98446
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Seattle, Washington
Level Contributor
269 reviews
93 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 82 helpful votes
“Food is OK but relatively expensive”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 4, 2013

I have eaten twice at the Hardware Store for lunch. The first time was a Thai sandwich which was quite forgettable and more recently a vegetarian portobello burger. This consisted of a marinated portobello mushroom cap with the usual hamburger accoutrements. It was reasonably good but at $10 and $4 for a lemonade seemed quite expensive.

  • Visited May 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Richard D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Hardware Store also viewed

 

Been to The Hardware Store? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing