We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Hot clam chowder watching rain-soaked golfers”
Review of Chambers Bay Grill

Chambers Bay Grill
Reserve with OpenTable
Chambers Bay Grill is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $10 - $35
Cuisines: American
Dining options: Breakfast, Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast, Reservations
University Place, Washington
Level Contributor
20 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Hot clam chowder watching rain-soaked golfers”
Reviewed June 13, 2013

Following Memorial Day service at nearby New Tacoma Cemetery, enjoyed the consistently tasty hot soup and salad for lunch. At 1pm, had to wait at the bar for a table! Good news. Only 2 years until 2015 U S Open arrives! Can't wait!

  • Visited May 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank UPRobert
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

74 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    26
    26
    12
    8
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Seattle
Level Contributor
79 reviews
56 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“Great local restaurant”
Reviewed May 31, 2013

A hidden gem in the Northwest. Great food and great service. Really special to sit out during the summer and eat on the patio.

Visited April 2013
Helpful?
Thank FreqravelerSteve
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fox Island, Washington
Level Contributor
19 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“New, favorite view restaurant”
Reviewed March 15, 2013

My husand and I had a free gift certificate, but we are making plans to return not only because of the food, the view, but also the service. We have never encountered a more delightful and friendly waitress who made my birthday special. Apparently, they only serve breakfast and lunch, but we came after 4, and we stayed past their closing time I am sure. The "better than Anthony's" clam chowder, and grilled chicken with goat cheese, bacon, lightly sauteed onions on a healthy bun was perfect. Dessert must be on of their specialties, because the surprise cheesecake with fresh blueberry sauce was light and heavenly. We may go to their Easter Brunch which sounds amazing. Absolutely the best view of the Sound across from Fox Island. Yes, the ambiance of the grill is simple, and our suggestion is it should become a permanent building instead of the temporary structure, and do it before the US Open.

  • Visited March 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Ciao49
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tacoma, Washington
Level Contributor
130 reviews
92 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 86 helpful votes
“Good Spot for Golfers and Non-Golfers Alike!”
Reviewed December 28, 2012

This place is popular among locals as well as golfers. The menu is eclectic, but everything is well-prepared. Full bar. They open early for breakfast, and they take reservations. The ambience isn't particularly special, but the service is usually first-rate, and friendly. Although they usually close at dusk, they'll serve you past that time if you are just coming off the golf course, which is smart customer service!

Visited December 2012
Helpful?
Thank FightingLeprechaun
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tacoma, Washington
Level Contributor
157 reviews
104 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 62 helpful votes
“Once again mediocre service”
Reviewed November 18, 2012 via mobile

Eggs over medium were hard on two of the dishes. Never refilled water. Chocolate syrup on kids pancake was wierd tasting. May explain why we were the only ones here.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank tac0matraveler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Chambers Bay Grill also viewed

 

Been to Chambers Bay Grill? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing