We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Typical Spanish menu” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of El Porton

El Porton
Ranked #3 of 25 Restaurants in Union Gap
Cuisines: Mexican
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Kids, Dining on a budget
Dining options: Breakfast, Dinner, Lunch, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Description: WONDERFUL PLACE TO EAT!
Yakima, WA
Level Contributor
120 reviews
75 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
“Typical Spanish menu”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 4, 2012

Reasonably priced. Great fajitas. Rated one star less due to less privacy and noise level. Generous chips and salsa.

Visited August 2012
Helpful?
Thank Angela and Ron G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

43 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    26
    13
    3
    1
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
36 reviews
30 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Very good Mexican”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 25, 2012 via mobile

So it wasn't my favorite of all time, but it was very, very good. The chips and salsa were addicting and our food was very tasty. The staff was friendly and the restaurant was pretty typical inside.

    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank AmersOly
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Issaquah, Washington
Level Contributor
49 reviews
33 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Delicioso!”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 9, 2012

We stopped by for lunch on a Sunday. It was busy, but service was quick and attentive. I had Pollo al Cilantro (Chicken with Cilantro), which I highly recommend. It is a chicken breast, pounded flat, and lightly battered/fried with a cilantro and red chile pepper sauce. Served with avocado slices and tortillas, it is excellent! My husband had a combo plate, which was more typical of most Americanized Mexican restaurants. (An enchilada and chalupa.) The portions are large. I had enough to take home for another meal.

  • Visited September 2012
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank IssMDMom
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mishawaka, Indiana
Level Contributor
255 reviews
147 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 73 helpful votes
“Superb food, excellent service”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 2, 2012

Absolutely great food, huge menu and very quick and friendly service. The salsa is very fresh and tasty. The chile relleno was interesting, a cheese stuffed chile wrapped in a tortilla, covered with melted cheese and an excellent roasted tomato sauce that was smoky and dense. Superb. A must stop.

Visited September 2012
Helpful?
Thank thevinoman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kennewick, Washington
Level Contributor
15 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Best Mexican Food in the Yakima Area!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 24, 2012

If you are looking for amazing Mexican food in and/or around Yakima this is the place to go! I'm not sure how many locations there are in Washington State but I've been to this one and the one in East Wenatchee. Can't go wrong!

  • Visited September 2011
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank jenno_2010
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed El Porton also viewed

 

Been to El Porton? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing