We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The best tamales in the Northwest!”
Review of Los Hernandez

Los Hernandez
Ranked #1 of 25 Restaurants in Union Gap
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Mexican
Restaurant details
Mishawaka, Indiana
Level 6 Contributor
260 reviews
148 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 73 helpful votes
“The best tamales in the Northwest!”
Reviewed September 2, 2012

Superb tamales here, both pork and chicken. Great service in a very small shop. These folks know what they are doing. Great stuff, highly recommended.

  • Visited September 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank thevinoman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

51 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    44
    6
    1
    0
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Seattle, Washington
Level 6 Contributor
197 reviews
140 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 64 helpful votes
“I stop here EVERY TIME I am thru Union Gap for the best Tamales”
Reviewed June 4, 2012

I have been stopping here for years. I live in Western Washington, but every time I go to the wine country in Eastern Washington I make a quick stop for Tamales. You can preorder, as 99% of the orders are to go. There is a limited number of tables inside to sit and eat, and believe me, after you walk in to get your order, the temptation to eat one there is overwhelming. It is an easy on and off the freeway, so next time you go thru Union Gap. stop by and order a dozen.

  • Visited June 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank cuervojose
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Yakima, Washington
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Pork Tamales”
Reviewed May 18, 2012

Their tamales are better than average. Wish they would expand their menu with some other authentic mexican food say, menudo & tacos.

Visited October 2011
Helpful?
Thank KathyManka
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Yakima, Washington
Level 3 Contributor
15 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Best Tamales In The Pacific Northwest”
Reviewed May 18, 2012

First of all, where is the other reviews for the best tamales this side of the Pecos. This is a must stop in Yakima, especially during Asparagas season (April-June). Don't let the building apperance fool you, the quality is in the inside. They pretty much just sell tamales and sauce, but this well kept secret with the locals is a gold mine. Two yr-round tamales (pork and chicken), but my favorite is the asparagas and pepper cheese, this is a take out joint and call ahead (509) 457-6003 for faster service and guaranteed inventory, just ordered two dozen and can't wait for dinner.....Adios

  • Visited April 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank Suncove98843
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Yakima, Washington
Level 5 Contributor
76 reviews
61 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 54 helpful votes
“Great(!) tamales but not home style”
Reviewed February 20, 2012

I work with many Hispanics and have often had home made tamales. These are not that style. Instead, they're very narrow and the maze is somewhat moister than normal. That aside, they are delicious and I highly recommend them to anyone. They do ship nationwide also. Very small hole-in-the-wall and easy to drive right by so look closely. As of this writing, small white building with red trim on west side of south first street.

Helpful?
Thank yakima_foodie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Los Hernandez? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing